Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2008
5 star once again! Yes, it's not the same sound as appeared on Tommy, Bizarro or George Best, but the Wedding Present have always evolved and subsequent albums such as Seamonsters, Take Fountain, Saturnalia etc have all had their own unique sound. El Rey is no different in that respect. The one thing that links every album is Gedge's voice and as ever, those classic opening lines are all there. Personal favourite so far, 'Don't Take Me Home Until I'm Drunk'. For any Wedding Present fan, buy it and you won't be disappointed. 'Oh why do you... catch my eye then.. turn away...'!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2008
On first listening to this album, you can see where gedge has responded to regualr calls of reverting back to the old 'jingley-jangley' style that first propelled the wedding repsent onto the music scene. This new album is a fine blend of george best style guitars, the darkness of seamonster and the fun vocals of the newer albums. Definetly recommend this to all new and old wedding present fans but i think this is probably the swan-song album from gedge, who will no doubt turn his hand to music producing and defining new music style for up and coming bands.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2008
I just dont know how The Wedding Present never really hit the big time. This album proves that Gedges songs are better than anything knocking about the charts today. Have you heard Scouting for Girls?? RRRRRRUBISH!!!
The only bad point is the daft start to 'girlfriend'. Dont see the point to it. Its a bit like some of the endings on Take Fountain. They go on a bit but the songs themselves are magic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2008
Previous reviewers seem to have given this 5 stars simply because it is a Wedding Present album - a sentiment I whole heartedly concur with as everything Gedge does is in my opinion fantastic. However this album can not be compared to George Best - they have not used "jingly jangly" guitar sound since ... well George Best - nor can it be compared to Seamonsters - their classic/greatest album. At best it is on a par with Saturnalia & Cinerama's Torino. Not as good as Take Fountain but it will still be one of my favourite albums of the year. Boo Boo is the standout track - the Click Click / Don't Touch That Dial of the album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
I bought the album "Seamonsters" when it was originally released and thought it was and still is one of the best albums I have heard. For some reason I lost contact with the Wedding Present after this and was re-united back in 2012 when my missus found TWP touring playing Seamonsters live. Since then I have seen them live a few times (last month in Cardiff being most recent). I have gone about replacing tapes/vinyl looking at Cinerama etc and so it seemed about time I tried the Steve Albini produced El Rey.
Fans of TWP will not be disappointed, there is plenty of heavy choppy riffs by Gedge, driving bass, drums, percussion. The familiar vocal sounds are there along with some harmonising and sampling. The general theme seems to be a WP classics, attraction, lust, love, rejection, guilt, awkwardness all delivered in Mr Gedges languid, angry at times almost comic style. I guess the best known track on the album is "the thing I like best about him is his girlfriend" and this is one of the stand out tracks for me and illustrates these points.
Don't expect Seamonsters (or Kennedy or Brassneck for that matter) but nevertheless an album worth listening to in its own right if you are a returning Weddoe like me or if you enjoy guitar based musics that tell a story/set a mood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2008
Like most of the Wedding Present's album's, it takes several listens for it to take hold. There are several songs which would have been hits if they had been released at the band's peak. "Spider-Man On Hollywood", "Palisades", "Model, Actress, Whatever", "Don't Take Me Home Until I'm Drunk", and the single "The Thing I Like Best About Him Is His Girlfriend" are all typical lyrical genius offerings from David Gedge. While it isnt the best album from the band I would say it's better than the previous release, Take Fountain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
A great turn out from the Weddos. Despite a magnificent back catalogue, they're still making cracking new music.
Amongst a very good track list, 'Don't Take Me Home Until I'm Drunk' and 'The Trouble With Men' are personal stand outs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2008
How can anyone doubt the song writing ability of David Gedge? Love is what makes the world go round and touches us all. Yes he is still writing about failed relationships after all these years but he is also doing it better than anyone currently in "the charts". What David does is to tell it in plain English in a manner that is accessible on every level. If you love the music of the wedding present then you are in for a treat. If you have never heard anything by the wedding present then you are also in for a treat. Buy this then buy the back catalogue and don't judge a review by someone who can't be bothered to or has not the ability to spell correctly and does not understand proper grammar. This record gets 10/10, five stars and 100% from me.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.98
£6.79
£10.73
£8.21

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)