Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
35
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2011
I repair and build PCs for a living and am always on the lookout for cheap but reliable PSUs. Most people don't want to pay the price for the high quality PSUs like OCZ and Corsair etc. But you do get what you pay for. Those expensive brands last for years, can deliver smooth power at the levels they are rated for. Cheaper units don't.

These CIT units are cheap. The large fans are quiet which is a step up from the super-cheap units but they are built in relatively low quality components. Personally if I use them then I over rate them. I.e. if I think I need 400W then I buy 600W because they don't operate well on the edge of their range.

I've had a few units fail in customer machines so I don't believe them to be particularly reliable. Compare this with a Corsair PSU where you get a 5 year warranty. They don't give those away if they think they're going to need to replace your unit any time soon.

So overall these are OK. They are worth the money you spend on them but certainly no more. You might be lucky and they last 5 years. You might not and they might blow in a few months taking your mobo with them. You make your choice and pay accordingly.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
Power supply OK but the cables were too short to reach the motherboard and devices in my full size tower. In a smaller chassis it works fine.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2009
I bought this to replace my standard unit as I was going to upgrade my video card and needed more power. I read the reviews and basically because of the reviews and the good price I bought this unit. It was installed with the minimum of fuss and so far has run with no problems whatsoever. Very pleased with my purchase. I will up to 5 stars after a longer running time if all goes well that is.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2010
I bought this PSU as I was building my first computer (for gaming) and I looked at the other brands of PSU's at the same watt's, however they were all over 50-60 pounds. Then I found this one I was concerned il admit, however after buying this really cheap PSU its BRILLIANT. It has tones of connectors more than I need and it is really quite not silent as nothing is truely silent, but my only gripe about it is that the case I use means the fan you see blows warm air onto my cpu however this problem is easily solved with a small peice of metal or plastic baffle plate which diverts the warm air to my 120mm exhaust fan which works a charm a must buy.
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
I previously gave this power supply, and other CIT psu a good review. Since then I have unfortunately learnt that these supplies are absolutely 100% USELESS for using in a computer that will be used for gaming. You will find yourself replacing it every 6months-1yr and it will undoubtedly occur at a really really awful time.

Save yourself a lot of grief and splash out on a OCZ supply, or similar, instead. It is WELL worth it. The detachable cables on these are also a nice touch in saving space and improving air flow in your case.

If, however, you are just planning on using your computer for general light use (or anything other than gaming) just buy this. It functions perfectly well in the average computer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Hit or miss PSU?

I've had a fair bit of experience with these PSUs and although I echo what a lot of reviewers say that "a quality PSU is always better", not everyone has the cash for these `Super Brand' names. So here's my review from my experience.
The 1st PSU I bought from CiT was a 500w, that was 4 years ago and it is still working in my brother's PC powering 1 x HDD, 1 x DVDRAM, a Radeon 5830 plus all the usuals.
The 2nd PSU was a 550w bought 3 years ago. This worked well, until yesterday - explanation coming, when it powered a basic motherboard, 2 x HDD, 1 x DVDRAM and a Radeon 6770. My 6770 died a couple of weeks ago so I built a newish system with a AM3+ motherboard, 4 sticks of DDR3 (opposed to 2 sticks previously) and a nVidia 550ti. Everything worked fine until I started a new game of Skyrim. Five minutes into the game and a `pop, crackle' sound happened and PC died. Quickly turning off mains power I put my hand inside the case, my side panel is always open - ultimate ventilation, and the PSU was red hot. I opened the PSU and the coils were `blacked'. Ok not bad for 3 years I guess the additional load of a new motherboard and a more powerful graphic card just pushed it over the edge even though it was 50w more than the graphic card and motherboard required.
The 3rd I bought was a 750w for a major gaming PC. I bought it one and a half years ago. The setup was a AMD Phenom II x 4 965 BE, 8gbs of 1600mhz, 2 x HDD, 1 x DVDRAM and 2 x Radeon 5870s XXX edition in Crossfire. Now bear in mind modern graphic cards have power saving features, meaning when you are just surfing, writing a document, basically nothing strenuous the graphic card(s) use a low power state, less than 100w each for the Radeons 5870s so all is fine. Start up a game and the power consumption of the graphic cards literally triples as does the CPU. This is where PSUs are crucial. The 750w CiT lasted 1 week and died. I replaced it with a lower wattage PSU, yes I said "lower". A 650w XFX XXX edition PSU. I went for an expensive brand name with a good warranty and here I am over a year later still using the XFX PSU and I've upgraded my system to a 6 core FX6100 CPU, 2 x 4gbs of DDR3 1866mhz and a top of the range motherboard.
So yes big brand names will always be more stable, better quality and a better warranty. I can't always afford a brand name PSU and if I am strapped for cash I will plump for a PSU like this one. The risks are it won't last as long but if/when it dies I can afford a new one cheaply. The ball is in your court. From my experience they can last from 1 week or for years depending on what stress you put on them.
A couple of tips I have are that for big brand name PSUs you can get away with slightly having less wattage than recommended or exactly the wattage recommended for cheaper brands always buy more wattage than you'll need. Secondly the CiT PSUs only have a 4 pin P4/EPS connecter, this connecter connects to your motherboard to supply extra power to your CPU. If your motherboard only has a 4 pin connecter then that's fine. If it has an 8 pin connecter and you're using a powerful CPU like an AMD Phenom II x 4 965 BE which when operating under full load consumes 145w, then get a 4 pin to 8 pin P4/EPS converter to make sure you supply enough power. These adapters are available from Amazon and other online vendors.

NOTICE! There is no warranty mentioned in item description/details nor in the packaging that comes with the PSU.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
2 Months after having installed this in my computer, my computer began freezing 10 seconds after turning it on and I thought it was a motherboard issue. Turns out it was this power supply. I changed it for an old one and the freezing never occurred again.

This power supply does NOT supply 650w of power. It is something much lower but I am unable to determine what the power output is. It is cheap and that explains the quality of this product. I would spend more money on a quality power supply with popular brand name.

Stay away from this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
at first i was a little hesitant because of the price of this unit , i had no need to fear . very simple to fit & as stated low noise in opperation . computer powers up faster than ever . plenty of cable / connections .at this price if it lasts the years manafacturer warranty it is worth the outlay .
if purchasing it is worth paying delivery costs as the home network was in my case long winded & pretty much a farce . but we got there in the end .
you cant go far wrong with this unit
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
I bought it with expansion of my PC in mind, and right now my PC is very basic, so I can't tell exactly how it works with full load. So far it works without any problems. Fan is very quiet. As some people mention before cables are little short, and with bigger case it might be a problem, but with my Elite 330 Mid Tower Chassis(bought from Amazon as well) there's no problem reaching every device in any place.
My only concern was that the box was opened before and there was finger prints visible on shiny surfaces. I was afraid a little when I smelled something coming out of my PC, but it could be smell of dust from my cpu heatsink, because now I can't smell anything, and it works fine. The open box, and finger prints aren't flaw from PSU itself or its manufacturer but Amazon's, that's why I leave 5 stars for PSU and 3 stars for Amazon. It's the firs time I got something like that from Amazon, and since it's working I don't really mind that, but they should send it as used or give any discount for something like that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
Only been in 2 days so not a long term review. I needed the molex connectors rather than sata this has 4 and a 4 pin to m/b as well as 2 sata for future expansion.

Went straight in [only 3 mounting holes but stuck an extra pound or two on to keep tight].
It has its own on off switch which is great.

Turned on and its whisper quiet, fantastic really, I've never had a Psu so quiet, EVER, hope it stays that way.

Overall very happy so far for a 600w+ psu for this money running so quietly. I did try a cheaper model off amazon but it didn't have enough molexs, so i returned it for this one I'm so glad I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)