Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2005
Bertrand Tavernier's film is a classic study of the life of a jazz musician and the constant struggle for their art.Dexter Gordon gives a remarkable performance as the world weary Dale Turner who's fictional character is based around the life of Bud Powell but there are many similarities to his own life on display here.The struggle with alcohol,money problems,his battle with ill health and his much heralded return to America after living in Europe for many years.
Where the director earns great credit is the way he doesn't attempt to make a film showing the jazz life as a glamorous one but merely an everyday existence giving an insight into the life of a musican away from the performance arena.
As well as Gordon's great performance there are a host of other jazz names appearing including Herbie Hancock,Wayne Shorter and Tony williams.There is also a cameo from Martin Scorsese as the promoter who takes Turner back to America.
All in all a great study of the jazz life for all serious followers of the greatest music in the world.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Round Midnight. The best film featuring jazz to be made appart from Clint Eastwoods exhilarating "BIRD" life story of Charlie Parker. In Round Midnight Dexter Gordon is cast to perfection as the laconic but talented jazzman Dale Turner. The story is basically set in Paris. Where Dale is trying to recover his stuttering career, and at the same time shake the "monkey" of alcohol addiction off his back. Fortunatly for Dale he is befriended by Francis, a Parisian Jazz nut who helps him through this dark period to a succesful return to New York. This a well made and thought provoking film, which deals with the subject matter in a non sensational grown up manner. If, as i do, you love your jazz, you will not be disappointed. There is plenty of music to appreciate with the brilliant Mr Gordon leading the way, and supported by many jazz greats! Best wishes and Enjoy.
The West Countrys best, and only Jazz Fan.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
This film beautifully evokes the feel of the artist trapped in his art moving towards destruction by his means of relief from intense absorption, dope. Exhaustion seeps from Dexter Gordon dispersed temporarily by his relationship with the French fan and his daughter who adopt him for a while in Paris. When finally Gordon's character returns to New York and dies as he takes up his old habits again, we are confronted by tragedy as shocking and inevitable as anything the Elizabethans showed us. Strongly recommended to film buffs and jazz fans alike. This from one who never really liked cool jazz anyway.
Brain Pickering
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2010
Mercifully, most jazz people don't live this way anymore but if you'd like to get inside the original wave I recommend the wonderful Ken Burns: Jazz [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] documentary and this beautifully played out movie. Warm and sad in equal measures, the whole thing's excellently put together but Oscar-nominated Dexter Gordon probably should have won the award for best actor.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2015
I unknowingly purchased the French copy, `autour de minuet.' There is quite a lot of French dialogue used in the film - perhaps I should have used sub titles? It didn't seem to detract from the film too much, though I think I missed out on Francis's family situation a bit?
The intimate clubs and the music are lovely. Dexter Gordon was nominated for an Academy Award for his performance of Dale Turner ... and I'm not surprised.
This is a nice film to sit and appreciate - alcoholic & drug dependant musicians are nothing new of course, Charlie Parker, Etta James, Chet Baker, Billy Holiday to name but a few, but this is very well done, but importantly not over done!
It's always been an oddity to me that so many jazz players play in front of such small crowds in the main, and the rank and file players earn a moderate living from what are highly technical skills? Yes, real jazz is a niche market, perhaps, apart from the few elite, it's the singers that earn all the money, especially those associated to the old swing bands & orchestras? - Fitzgerald, Armstrong, Charles, Sinatra, Bennett and more recently Winehouse, Buble and Gregory Porter, who appeal to a much wider audience. Some I'm sure would argue if some of these are really jazz musicians, as jazz now has so many genres and is hard to define from 'popular music or crooners? I digress - a nice film and definitely worth a watch - it's beautifully put together and filmed with lovely views of Paris initially and latterly New York too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
I had searched for years to find this movie in Region 2 format and eventually found it on Amazon. This movie and Bird ( Clint Eastwood directed ) are probably the best Jazz movies ever and Dexter Gordon is outstanding as the lead character. The scenes in the jazz club are very moody and the soundtrack by Herbie Hancock ( also in the movie ) is brilliant.
Top movie for jazz fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Clearly one of the best jazz movie ever made, as it features a real jazz heroe in the lead role, and some of the finest jazz musicians as side men.
Cluzet's performance is also brilliant... Paris in the 50's is revived, and Dexter is at his best....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
I bought my copy on region Two via Amazon.De for ten Euros {German packaging{Um Mitternacht} but does have English track and subtitles} and never looked back.
I love this film, the score, the actors, its the second best jazz film ever made {Eastwoods "Bird" is number one}.
If you have never seen this film the check it out after buy the wonderful sound track....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
Despite its obvious weaknesses - some fairly wooden acting, clichéd script and characterisation - this film does at least capture the spirit of jazz and the depths to which so many of its greatest innovators have fallen in their lifelong quest to embrace the muse. Completely eclipsed by Eastwood's 'Bird' I'd say; but a well intended homage nonetheless, and a fitting tribute to the FrancoAmerican connection that played so great a part in liberating jazz from its racial confines. Three and half stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Belated knowledge of the film. Appreciated other films by Tavernier so wanted to give this a watch.
Very atmospheric and well acted by Dexter Gordon. Excellent music by Herbie Hancock.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)