Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2008
For fans of classical progressive music, symphonic rock, and contemporary alternative rock music this album is a must. An absolute masterpiece. For those not familiar with Magenta, the band's influences are quite apparent, maybe a little too much so on previous albums, but not so on this one; they have evolved into their own sound. Metamorphosis will remind you of Pink Floyd, Yes, Genesis, Mike Oldfield, Muse, and even Porcupine Tree. This album combines the best of those influences and their own sound into an epic, sprawling, musical journey. The title track, Metamorphosis, is an example of how to write a 23 minute epic without one unnecessary embelishment, each melodic turn leaving the listener wanting more of the previous one. There is an edge to their music now very much like Porcupine Tree in terms of attitude, none so more apparent than on the title track. The album includes another epic, The Ballad of Samuel Layne, of almost equal quality. As a whole Metamorphosis flows wonderfully from one track to the next.

The recording quality is outstanding, the muscianship is brilliant, and Magenta are blessed with one of the best female vocalists in the business.

Album of the year already? I think so.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 March 2008
With this, Magenta's fourth studio album, band leader Rob Reed has taken the band to new heights of musical sophistication. Whereas the last couple of albums have seen Rob tackle relatively shorter songs, this album is a sort of return to the long form epics of the first album "Revolutions". The difference this time is that gone are the too obvious Yes sounding sections which interwove throughout the material on "Revolutions". On "Metamorphosis", the songwriting is complex, thoroughly melodic and thoughtfully arranged and very much the sound of Magenta now.

Like the album artwork, the music is darker and more powerful than previous releases. The recent "Singles" compilation may have given the impression that things were getting lighter and more commercial. Well "Metamorphosis" is full blown symphonic prog of the highest caliber. The two lengthy tracks "The Ballad of Samuel Layne" and the title track, each running for more than 20 minutes, are amongst the best things the band has done. Dynamic, edgy and completely satisfying. Christina Booth's voice has never sounded better. There has always been a dark edge to her voice, which suits the material here very well. Guitarist Chris Fry shines throughout this album. Just listen to his spine-tingling Steve Howe-like slide guitar solo in the middle of the title track. I was also impressed with Tim Robinsons precise and varied drumming.

Magenta have been evolving at quite a pace over the last few years and truly deserve the accolades bestowed upon them at this years Classic Rock Society awards. This album should propel them not only to the forefront of the current progressive rock scene, but make others sit up and listen to one of the very best contemporary British rock bands around. A complete triumph!!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2008
Magenta were voted "Best Band" by the UK Classic Rock Society in 2007, with Metamorphosis they are likely to be very strong contenders for best album in 2008. Only four tracks, two epic pieces (clocking in a over 20 minutes each) full of complex but cohesive vocal and instrumental passages, complimented by two shorter tracks. There are the obvious nods to their influences (Yes, Floyd etc) but there is still lots of originality here and the whole album links together very well. This album will appeal to any fans of classic seventies progressive music and more recent female-fronted bands such as Mostly Autumn, The Reasoning and Karnataka. A word of warning, this album takes some listening and its quality is only fully appreciated after a few plays, but stick with it - this is a classic !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2008
This is not 'Home' mark 2. Neither is it an extension of 'Seven'. Also and thankfully, this is not reminiscent of the Singles collection. Phew!

No - this is quite simply the best Magenta album to date. Lyrically darker, musically edgier but retaining a real symphonic prog rock feel, taking the best bits of previous albums to date and creating a masterpiece.

There are a couple of really meaty 20 minute + tracks to get your teeth into with the awesome 'The Ballad of Samuel Layne' and the complex but rewarding eponymous track. Christina's vocals have never sounded better - she sounds as though she's really relaxed and laid back and her voice benefits as a result. Also, the guitar work is awesome - again, the best yet for a Magenta album. Rob Reed has struck gold with this one! 5 Stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
As a Magenta fan I am biased. Every Magenta album is a masterpiece. This album is heavier on the Prog with long tracks lasting over 20 minutes, but don't let that put you off. The music weaves and dances effortlessly on a journey through each piece. If you haven't heard Magenta before, this may not be your best entry ticket, but once hooked, you are bound to acquire this marvelous album as you take in the back catalogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
So far, my least favourite of the 5 Magenta albums I've bought. Maybe it's the subject matter, but I've found it a bit less accessible. Judging by the other reviews here, it might well be me that's the problem and that I just have to listen to it more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2009
This was their last album and is probably their greatest and best produced. It has all the prog-tastic rhythms and elements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
I have only recently started to listen to Magenta, and bought "seven" on recommendation. I liked that,it showed promise but a bit too Yes-like in too many places. Not that I have anything against Yes, but if you take a band like IQ their influences are there for all to hear without being out and out copyists. This album, those influences are more subtle and I prefer the album to Seven. Great songs, melodies, musicianship-a great effort. I can even forgive the Gilmour style slide guitar as it fits in so well with the music.
But I do have a problem with her voice.I beg to differ with the majority of the reviews, but I consider this a weak link. I love great female singers like Amy Lee of Evanescence and Annie Haslam, but even though one reviewer here likens her to AH to me they are worlds apart. Don`t get me wrong, not an awful voice, just not one of the best.
All things considered, though, one of the best albums I have bought so far this year. In a year of many disappointments,( VDGG to name but one) how pleased I am to have bought a good one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2008
I 1st saw Magenta supporting those behemoths of rock that are IQ at the CRS BOTY awards night in Rotherham and then again supporting you know who at Summers End at Lydney this year. Ok there were tech problems but set was on the whole excellent.

Now to the album review - the star rating is accurate - the musicianship is top notch, lyrics are typical prog nonsense served in to a soup of wonderful soring escapism. The best part about the group for me, seems to be the vocals (shut your eyes so as not to be distracted by her obvious beauty) There in lies the problem for me; it's too formulaic, - let's have some keys, oohh twiddle a few nobs here and strategically place a few proggy soundsacpes there. Now we need some wee wee notes, oohh lets use the thingy that messers Hackett, Howe and Fripp use to distort the strings and twang the strings way beyond the fret board. Now lets add a bass player but with 5 strings instead of 4. But then we need a good steadying ship in the form of a rhythm guitar (tech better in my opinion than the lead). Drums are, as my daughter says (her favourite albums in her toddler days were Tales... and Relayer), predictably proggy (booming side and toppy snare). Finally lets have a celtic lead singer to give the air of mystery.

It's all delivered professionally and fantastic; turn up the volume in the car and prog out those youngsters who thrive on Beatles tribute bands, with very upcoming albums, or worse, (c)rap / drum and base. It's been done before and better. Listen to "The Least We Can Do Is Wave.." or afore mentioned Yes albums, or the Gabriel era Genesis fare, or more modern neo prog such as IQ or Jadis.

Buy the album and you'll not be disppointed, its brill but does not light my fire if you understand. Now IQ, there's a prog band , awaiting the Orford solo and new IQ group album eagerly.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse