Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 July 2008
What big boots to fill ! After several years of bumming around with his band, The Wallflowers' who did not exactly become a household name, Bob Dylan's scion Jakob has cast himself adrift from the anonymity of band membership and launched himself upon the world as a singer/songwriter.
No pressure there then ! Surprisingly, Jakob somehow manages to pull it off by sounding not one jot like his father but a whole lot like that other American songwriting icon, Bruce Springsteen.
This could be a Springsteen Alt-Country album full of melancholic songs about loss and death and delivered with real depth and clarity by Dylan the younger.
Without any 100% classics jumping out and grabbing you, Seeing Things still has enough quality with regards to song craftsmanship,sharp production and assured delivery to edge it into 4 star territory.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2009
I've played this CD regularly since it was first released - it is definately a grower. The songs are all well crafted and have some beautiful, thoughtful lyrics - and Jacob is his own man here, not hiding behind his famous father! The production is acoustic, sparse and all the better for it. For me this CD was one of the forgotten highlights of 2008 - give it a listen and let it grow - you won't be disappointed.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
First saw Jakob Dylan on a Jools Holland some while back. He was singing 'something good this way comes'. I liked his sound and thought 'it certainly does'. After buying this CD I am a definite fan. Accoustic, gentle, atmospheric and thought provoking lyrics. He is an articulate vocalist and I find myself thinking on the words after the song.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
He never was going to "fill Dylan's boots but who has" as one reviewer has put it. That is the exact reason wants to become a songwriter in his own right, and here he has done it. No bad songs here at all and I found myself listening to this heavily for a few months, with "Will It Grow" definitely being one of my favourite songs ever. Buy this!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
I purchased this for my wife who had it in the car for several weeks. She loved the easy listening style which is certainly above the average. But whilst clever Jocob will forever be under the shadow of his father. Nevertheless, give it a try.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
What a superb musician whose name raises one's expectations - and meets them! Good lyrics and catchy tunes make the songs on this cd something worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
oh boy. Lovely stuff, Can;t describe it so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
AWESOME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.79
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)