Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
79
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2016
One of the greatest children's TV programmes ever - and adults will also enjoy it for all kinds of reasons the kids don't understand. If you remember and love The Herbs, this is an essential addition to your DVD collection. The picture quality has faded a bit but the quality of the entertainment and dialogue certainly hasn't
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
Typical of the short children's programmes of the late 60's and 70's. AKA: The Magic Roundabout, The Wombles, Ivor The Engine, Bagpuss, The Clangers et al. They are written in a gentle charming manner, often at two levels; one for the children and one for the adults. No high velocity image flicking, no characters shouting all the time and not much dumbing down of the language used either. No ratings chasing here. They assume that children can relax and enjoy interesting stories and that not all children suffer from Attention Deficit Syndrome. Most modern children's programming could learn a thing or two from these amongst others.

Thank you for reissuing guys.

(Although redone digitally the image quality is still of its time, a little shaky).
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
How wonderful!
No c.g. so I thought that the grand-children might have found it a bit boring, but no - they loved it, and insisted on seeing all the stories before they went to bed. Their Mum is entranced,too.
She says that it would not be made today because Lord Basil shoots and fishes. But then, lots of people do.
Just goes to show that children are far more sensible than the PC brigade give them credit for.
One drawback, however - you have to be word and tune perfect on all the signature tunes!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Excellent. I remember it from when my son was small and we both enjoyed it. Now my grandson has it and loves it. After a couple of viewings he was singing the songs and acting out his versions of the stories with lego and model animals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Bought this for my daughter as I used to annoy her with the songs, She loves it. Used to watch this when I was a kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Just as funny as it was when I first saw it. I love it as it is funny for children without being nasty or patronising, just sweet, gentle humour. A sneaky way of getting kids to learn herb names too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Excellent DVDs. Sent quickly. Plays well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
So after reading a few reviews about that one episode " Mrs Jessop Tidies Up" i was slightly concerned about buying this product as it is a present for my mum. I have just received it today and have had no issues as of yet. I have watched this episode via play all and episode selection and have not seen any skipping or stopping of the DVD. This leads me to believe that maybe its a fault with a batch of the DVDs, a select few.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
Brought back some wonderful childhood memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
my gran kids love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse