Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2009
The movie may be great, and I bought this because I think it is - but this version seems to have someone's dodgy idea of what silent movie music is all about. A generic honky tonk tune plays over the film with absolutely no reference to what is happening on screen, and randomly stops and starts a different tune without relevance or atmosphere. War is declared? A happy tune is playing. They are sitting calmly in a parlour? A fast tune is playing. I had to turn it off after 5 minutes and am planning to dispose of it in some way. I only wish I could find the version I saw growing up which we had taped from the TV. If you love Buster Keaton, then this should hurt you deeply as it manages to pull all the life out of the film.
55 comments| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
A brilliant classic such as this deserves far better than the shoddy presentation afforded "The General" by Elstree Hill Entertainment, a fly-by-night rip-off outfit who should be ashamed of themselves. The print is horrible, the honky-tonk musak even worse. Avoid this version like the plague!
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
The film was completely spoiled as C D Lunsford and Andrew Birkin said by totally unsuitable and incessantly repeated "Scott Joplin" type soundtrack of apparently only about four tunes. My only recourse is to watch the film with the sound turned off!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
This is so obviously a fraud that I will write my first ever review because of that.

Key points:

* The picture is obviously cropped from 4:3 to 16:9. That means that you don't see all of the picture.
* The cropping of the picture results in the worst resolution I have EVER seen on a DVD I bought. The picture is clustered into 2-3 cm pixel. If you watch the TV from 20 meters away it might work. It basically looks if you had downloaded a 200MB movie feature from Pirate Bay in 2002 and watch it now.
* The sound is not original but rather just... something they wouldn't get sued for most likely.

They should be ashamed and you should spare yourself the stress of buying and returning it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Arrived in good time, well packaged a good DVD but not the films I was expecting, had recently watched clips from his films which made me keen to purchase a DVD as I laughed so much. Still have it in my archives
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Please avoid this collection. None of the movies are remastered and are of very bad quality. I could not watch the collection on my PC-monitor. You should buy the movies inside this collection separately, and I know there are decent remastered high quality versions of these on Amazon (look for Blu-ray). Bottom line: Amateurish made product, avoid at all costs!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This boxed set is excellent: contains Buster Keaton's greatest films and therefore is recommended as a very long festivity of fun ! "The most deeply silent of silent comedians" and his face (like Lincoln's) became an American Archetype, almost beautiful and irreducibly funny. Also he looks like a sad personality which could cause unhappy feelings but here lies the big difference: he makes you laugh- almost to tears-and at the same time makes you happy since sadness and loneliness are defeated by an acute sense of humor , an enormous amount of tenderness and good -heart actions. Keaton becomes the striking example of these qualities and their power to destroy negative feelings : he never wanted to be a clown, no smiles, no words, no fiction but a perfection of style and quality and a show of his own personality in a lively unforgettable way.

His feature films, are not only exceptionally funny but are also artistic achievements: "The General" and "Our hospitality" etc. -all included in this edition- where he acts with his 1st wife, Natalie Talmadge and their eldest son ; he was allowed to create and control entirely his own films until 1920 when MGM broke his contract. He was living a very dramatic period and begun drinking heavily but after a third successful marriage could start producing again . He died in 1966-
Great and delicate humor together with compassion and sweetness, full of grace and big fun: you really deserve to own this copy of probably the greatest hilarious artist of several generations !
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
This for any Buster Keaton fan is a must, it includes all the best of his films, including the classic American Civil War film 'The General' not as some would think about a soldier but about a train! and two other terrific films. Keaton was a master of his craft and these films are an importasnt legacy left by one of the most underrated Silent Movie Heroes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Pretty good reproduction of classic footage. Probably benefited from a reading of his biography beforehand, to provide the background to the shenanigans on film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
ITS SO NICE TO SEE THE OLD FILMS THEY WERE RECOMMENDED TO ME TOP QUALITY RECORDINGS I WILL RECOMMEND TO OTHERS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)