Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 February 2016
There are reviews on here of pervious releases of this album. This however is a definitive version of the album. The original mix, bucket load of outtakes ( there are more to be found on the 'Private parts and piece's' album also available on Amazon) A new stereo mix and the final disc is a 5.1 mix which Simon Heyward has excelled himself on its not just Steven Wilson who can do a good prog 5.1 mix.
The album itself is an acoustic song fest, with some of the flourishes that you would expect from a guitarist known for being an ex member of Genesis. For a person who is was not confident in his singing voice this is very good and very strong.
Esoteric have put together a very nice clamshell package holding the four discs, a poster A4 sized, and a 20 page booklet packed with well written notes.
Anyone on the fence on this should not be disappointed with the release if they purchase it. Good sound good mix and neat package.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Having recently got into Anthony Philips on the back of being a Genesis fan for decades, this was my second purchase of his stuff. The first being The Geese and the Ghost. The G & G is absolutely brilliant and I can't think why I never bought his stuff earlier as I have been aware of him for years. Wise after the Event never lived up to the expectations I had after G & G. There is too much self indulgence (yes I know all his music is a bit like that) which I don't usually mind but it lacked the consistency I had experienced from G & G. Overall a good album and 3.5 would probably have been a fairer mark but there aren't enought really good tracks for a 4. One other thing, he does all the vocals on this double album and I think it's fair to say, his music is better than his singing. It was so bad on a few tracks my wife was laughing although I thought it was a bit quaint
If you're a fan, then still worth buying as I did enjoy it. Just not as much as I had hoped I would.
p.s. I recently bought Field Day by AP, excellent as there is no
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Whilst not quite as good as "The Geese and the Ghost", "Wise After the Event" is a very good album that finds A P in reflective mood. The lyrics are thoughtful, whilst the musical arrangements reflect his growing interest in complex arrangements.Some reviewers have been less than complimentary of his vocals, yet they perfectly capture the mood of the album. For an album that was first released in 1978, it has certainly stood the test of time and is well worth the effort of listening, either for the first time , or simply re- visiting as a really good album that keeps on giving!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
I do agree with the first review about the album as a whole but please, the second CD which is mostly outtakes and demos is an absolute must, it is brilliant.
No disrespect but if you are a fan then the double disc is well spent money.
Some of the tracks are just instrumental versions of the original album and boy they are well good. Love this version, you get double value.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
To begin with, I think that "the Geese and the Ghost" is a very good solo debut, but it lacks a little bit of structure and the pieces are slightly too long sometimes. On "Wise After the Event", Ant has grown as a songwriter and to my suprise he is also a capable singer! The production by Rupert Hine is terrific, letting all the instruments flow gently to create a web of stunning beauty. The songs are much shorter than on the previous album and the long instrumental passages are replaced by well arranged quirky (but beutiful) tunes. As a guitarist Ant has no need for showing his capabilities and with back up from Michael Giles and John G Perry etc, he is at the top of his game. The sound quality of this remastred edition i crisp and clear, but the bonus disc is an overkill. A single CD would be perfectly fine, for me anyway. A truly lost classic and a must for Genesis fans and beyond!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Reviewers of this album often refer to it as the follow up to the Geese and the Ghost. Yes, it was. And it wasn't. G&G had been written years before the powers that be allowed its release. At the same time, it dawned on them that an ex-Genesis musician might be a commercial proposition - so Ant was pushed in the direction of 'popsongs', things that might get airplay on popular radio stations. And good lord, he tried. And never succeeded, as he never had a 'hit'. Meanwhile, he managed to create albums filled with wonderous musical adventures, almost like Disney movies. This (Wise after the event) is probably the most outstanding effort. Okay, it is self-indulgent at times (can you play Regrets to a friend as an introduction to Ant??) but ... listen carefully while holding the cover in your hands. This is a summer nights dream, as soft as a nursery cryme, a journey through fields of wonder, accompanied by little animal friends ... sorry, I get carried away.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
As much as I liked Genesis in the Peter Gabriel period in particular and selectively thereafter, I was unaware of the solo work of the various musicians who played within Genesis; until now. I like their work, They are talented and I some of the music is not dated by the prog rock years but stands the test of time,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
Excellent music and beautifully packaged - worth the outlay as is Sides just released
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
The two or three good tracks are: Wise after the event, We are all as we lie, Regrets, and possibly that the one where he is singing about what they are doing to his little friends. Like so much of Anthony Phillips' work this album has some really good stuff on it, but you have to search a bit amongst some discordant nonsense. As ever though, the spirit of the album carries it through: I put this down to the fact that there is a squirrel on the cover, chewing a golf ball, on the moon, and that it was made ( I think) in Surrey.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)