Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
99
4.1 out of 5 stars
Saints Row 2 (Xbox 360)
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 October 2008
This game is heavily inspired by GTA and with SR3 announced to be in development, it looks like these two series will be rivals for the long-term. After completing the campaign in co-op, Saints Row 2 in my opinion must be considered the market leader in this genre.

Advantages:

Co-op: its a seamless well designed experience. you can play by yourself, invite a friend to your world, and carry on whilst they join. nearly all of the missions and activities are structured so you both can contribute, with one driving and other other shooting, or doing different tasks..playing with a friend is an absolute blast and really takes this game to a new level.

Story: i played saints row 1 recently and the story carries on from it well, and has the excitement that GTAIV so lacked - each section feels much more like a proper campaign than a series of disjointed missions. The frequent videos are often laugh out loud funny.

Fun/Ease of Play: the whole game is designed for fun, rather than realism. not everyone will like that, but for me a major factor. when fail a mission, you start from a checkpoint or the beginning of the mission, so no more having to restock ammo and drive to the mission. it reduces realism but makes it so much better to play.

Breadth of the Game: campaign mode is long and doesnt get boring, with a excellent range of different missions to do, and with excellent side activities. youve actually got something to do with your money in this game - buy jewelry, clothes, tattoos, cribs, boats, shops - and is well connected so as you increase your style get more respect points to unlock missions. your character can be anything you want he or she to be, with the best customization model ive seen in a game.

Driving: i cannot understand the review which criticises the driving in this game. its fantastic. theres a wide range of cars and bikes, good handling, points for near-misses crashes etc which provides another element to simply driving around.

Disadvantages:

Lack of originality: although SR2 does it extraordinarily well, there isnt a great deal in this game which hasnt been done before. many of the cars have simply been copied from SR1.

Graphics: they arent as good as GTAIV, but then they arent the same repetetive grainy realistic surroundings than that game. i found the environment a much more pleasant experience to be in than Liberty City.

Conclusion: most fans of the genre will probably accept, once they have played the co-op with a friend, that this is the new leader of the genre. i highly recommend it.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
Saints row 2 is amazing - as stated in the title it is the best game I own at the moment - even comparing it to GTA, Call of duty world at war and other top games.

The first time I played the game I was like WTF and thought I had somehow accidently put in Saints row 1 - the part of the map I was in was exactly the same. But then I roamed around a bit and realised the map is a much bigger and better version of Saints row 1 and it was good for me because I was familiar with it so go used 2 playing Saints row 2 very quickly.

The graphics are very good - and I dont know why people keep saying the driving and handling is bad?? I found it amazing and even when driving down a long boring road very fun - you can put the car into cruise control and shoot things with your pistol/SMG. Also take your car down to the mechanic and you can get yourself some nitrous, hydrolics etc. and the car is automatically saved into your garage, and will always be there no matter where you leave it.

The cribs are really good on Saints row 2. Instead of unlocking them, they are there for you to buy, at around $50,000 each whenever you want to buy them. This is great because you get to choose which ones you want for instance a student apartment or a penthouse with a helipad.

After about 10 minutes of playing Saints row 2, I took a little trip down to the airport. Here I came accross a helicopter, and some planes. I went for a spin in the helicopter and it's great fun! You can be mid-air and jump out - then open your parachute whenever you feel like it and even start base jumping (where you must land in a certain area for extra respect).

Guns are really great on Saints row 2. At the moment I have a pimp cane which is also a shotgun =] and also you can unlock unlimited ammo by completing certain activites - and also earn yourself many many achievements. You also unlock special guns. These vary from a mini-gun, anhilator RPG (like a homing missile) and a flamethrower!

Finally co-op on Saints row 2 is amazing! You can be playing your game by yourself, and need some help in a mission or activity and invite your friend where they can help you and even get the achievements and guns etc. themselves. I went round the mall with my friend on 2 quad bikes - he was wearing a hot-dog suit and me in a pirate costume - very very fun as I'm sure you can imagine!

Overall Saints row 2 for me is a massive success. I love the game and everything about it. The great thing is that if you get stuck or get bored (which is a VERY rare occasion on Saints row 2) you can invite a friend to come join you and help you out. I definatly reccomend Saints row 2 to anyone out there wanting a fun and exciting game that you won't get bored of!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Saints Row 2 is probably them most, stupid, gliched, But funnest game, I've ever played, Now I'm a gamer but never in all my years of playing some of the best and most Atmospheric games ever such as, Bioshock, Fallout 3, Grand theft Auto 4, All the Call of Duty Games and most of the Medal of honour Games, Have I came across something which blew me away with such a variety of Stupidly fun missions and activities, and Such an epic Character customisation suite Much better than in any of the Sims Games. There is Many Activites to do once or even before you complete the story missions. My Personal Favorite being 'FUZZ' The No.1 Hit TV show in Stilwater. When you dress up like one of stilwaters finest officers and try to keep peace on the streets. . . through any means necesarry, Chainsaws - included.

The Character customisation is Vrilliant, Being able to Recreate yourself possibly, also the ability to create a ladyman, haha

8/10

Possibly becuase of the many glitches, such as getting pulled across a whole highway by a boat? and By getting into a car only to find it crashes into. . .nothing

most of these glitches are very funny though
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
As a GTA fan since the first ever GTA game on PS1, I approached this game thinking it would be an inferior copy. Plus I hated and slated the first Saints Row which I couldn't wait to trade in. Well I was pleasantly surprised. For me, like many other reviewers, GTA 4 just got too serious and lost some of the fun in the earlier GTA's like Vice City. Well Saints Row 2 is fun aplenty. However the game has now frozen 3 times on me and i've had to turn my 360 off and start the missions again. It seems this has happened quite a bit with other people. Nevertheless bugs aside this beats GTA 4 hands down. Only room for improvement would be fix the bugs and maybe rethink the 'respect' business. Before you're given missions you have to earn enough 'respect,' you get this from diversion tasks. I find this a bit of a nuisance, for example you just spring your gang boss from court facing death row and fight your way past police and deliver him to safety and you have to mess about picking hookers up before your given a proper mission?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2009
Yes, this game rips off the GTA games. But why not? They're the best games ever! And if you're bored of waiting for a new GTA, this is a nice gap-filler. There's some great fun, especially the Trail Blazer missions where you blow up/kill everything up you touch, it's carnage! If you like GTA, this is well worth £18 of anybody's money. Why anybody rates this as one star is beyond me. Maybe they're just not very good at gaming? ;)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2008
saints row 2 is a good game but the creators have not got the concept ov a good ending and to change the location ov the game.they hav not changed alot but the cinimatics is brill graphics and on this saints row you get more addicted to the game i started to play this game and i didnt get off it for 4 howers ever mission has a thrilling storry which macks it the best game ov 08 and probbly 09
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2009
So Saints Row I came out and everyone said "Oh another GTA rip off" and yes it seemed that way, drive cars shoot cops and bad guys, all very GTA.
There were differences You we're part of a gang, The Third Street Saints, and you wanted to take over the city but in essence it was GTA3 1/2. Still it was enormous fun to play and it had so many options (clothing car customization etc) that there was so much replay value I still play it now.

So Saints Row 2 arrives and everyone said "Oh their ripping off GTA again!" but NO I SAY, this game make GTA4 look like a bunch of students made it, ok GTA4 may look pretty (though the brown/grey tones of Liberty City give me a headache) but where in GTA4 can you do any of the following:
Spray people with septic waste?
Jump in front of cars for insurance money?
Drive hookers around whilst they entertain?
Protect drug dealers whilst they do their thing?
and these are just the side missions!!!

The character customisation has improved 100% you can spend hours in a plastic surgeons changing everything about your character, their looks, body size, hair, walk, voice. Shop at dozens of shops for that perfect outfit, then jump in your pimped out car and take on the other gangs of Stilwater. There is so much to do in this game that I've been playing for over 160 hours now and I'm still loving every minute!

Verdict?
If you want a shoot em' up with enough tongue in cheek to rival Benny Hill this is the game for you!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
I finally completed this game after a playing it for a total of 55-hours (not all at once though!) I'd done quite a few side quests and diversions (optional activities) but certainly not all of them. That shows how much gameplay there is in this deranged sandbox-gangster game.

It's totally unrealistic - you can shoot about a hundred people in some missions, one diversionary activity involves throwing yourself repeatedly in front of speeding trucks for injury compensation, and another has you driving around on a quadbike and burning stuff. However, Saints Row 2 makes no pretensions about being a realistic game, it's just totally off the wall.

The storyline is adequate - you're a violent killer just out of prison with hopes to rebuild his gang, The Saints, into a city dominating mob, killing other gangsters, corporate fiends and anyone who gets in the way in the process.

I love customizing characters in games - it took me a while to start Oblivion and Fallout 3 because I spent ages fiddling with my character's appearance. Saints Row 2 offers even more customising. Even more so that Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (Xbox) and certainly FAR more than Grand Theft Auto IV (Xbox 360), Saints Row 2 lets you flesh out and kit out your fiendish character to an infinitely varied degree. You can be male or female, pick your hairstyle and facial hair, and whether you're a bit fat porker or a steroid-enhanced muscle freak. There are clothes shops whereby you can not just buy a whole range of gear - from sunglasses to pinstripe suits - but where you can customise the colour and style of everything too. Want a white suit, pastel shirt and white shoes for that Miami Vice look? Or a fedora hat and a tuxedo complete with bow-tie? Go for it.

The gender of your character doesn't restrict what clothes you can wear, so you can still pick women's clothes for a male character and vice versa. There's something insanely amusing about having a hulking, bearded male character running around blowing stuff up whilst dressed in a bright pink floral dress (and a huge black top-hat, just for laughs.) You can get your character tattooed, select how he/she insults people, and even pick their walk and their voice. Similarly, cars can be customised and repainted too, and I found myself getting attached to certain vehicles I'd customised, rather than treating them as disposable. Even your safehouses can be customised, such as by adding a big pimp bed surrounded by pole-dancers, or by adding a grand piano in the dining rooom to add a touch of class.

In addition to the lengthy main mission there are the various diversions and, of course, the ability to just choose to speed around Stillwater City exploring and/or shooting and blowing stuff up at random.

The only real draw back is that some of the missions can be a bit repetitive, and though the graphics are fine they are nothing mind-blowing. Buildings and vehicles never feel as solid as they do in GTA4 and other games. The sound, whilst largely decent, is a bit lame in some instances, such as a Lamborghini-type car that, whilst immensely fast, sounds like it has a lawn-mower engine. The soundtrack is good though, and I liked the addition of a classical music channel. Listening to Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata whilst pulling drive-bys makes you feel like a cultured mobster.

I really enjoyed this game, and though I've completed it I'll be happy to keep playing the remainder of the side missions or perhaps start all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
Woah, what an amazing game!! After about an hour of gameplay, I really started to feel like this is better than GTA. The storyline is excellent, and the voice acting is hilarious (especially the English dude!). This game is a must buy for anyone who enjoys GTA, Just Cause or the original Saints Row. Granted, there are sometimes very small glitches that are hardly noticeable, but what do you expect, people aren't perfect ;)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2009
This game is just too much fun. It has colossal graphics and you can even create your own charicter. You can choose from male or female charictars, choose their hair, personality and body shape plus way more. I like to create lovely ladies and buy them expensive cars. I enjoy creating grannies because their so funny. You get to create your own appartments to. Just buy this game and see for yourself just how great it is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)