Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
490
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2009
This is a really fantastic little gadget. I wanted to examine something close up, and after reading the reviews of this, thought I couldn't go wrong for the price. And sure enough, it is even better than I expected. The LED light makes the object being examined really clear. It comes with slides and a fixed camp, or can be used free form resting on any object. It is really easy to use, the quality of the optics is excellent. The kids love it. I love it.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an ideal first microscope and absolutely fantastic to take out and about with you. Suitable for 3 years + this is much better than most toy microscopes on the market. It magnifies to X40 and you can either use slides or just place the microscope against an object and then adjust the focus. This is really good value and would be a perfect stocking filler.

Great for nature walks, this can be slipped into a pocket and is ideal for examining objects up close. In some ways, it is better than more expensive microscopes for children, as most lose interest after an initial fascination. However, being able to take this with you means that there are always new things to look at and, although a little fiddly for very little ones to adjust, it is great for slightly older children to use alone (probably about 6+). Great value for money and educational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Although promoted as a toy, the Natural History Museum Pocket Microscope is ideal for use as a cheap field microscope. The plastic construction is reasonably robust and images are sharp and clear, especially using the LED lamp. The battery compartment is slightly awkward to open as a safety locking button needs to be pressed while simultaneously pulling the cover open. An important safety feature if this microscope is to be used by children as it uses small button cells that could be easily swallowed by a child. The LR44 button cells are expensive if bought from general retailers but they can be purchased from Poundland or similar discount shops very cheaply. Three button cells are needed to provide 4.5 volts for the LED to work. If three AAA batteries were used, the product would have been much larger and heavier, so a reasonable compromise has been made between battery life and portability.
The supplied stand and plastic slides are adequate for their intended purpose, but glass microscope slides will also fit and can be used.
The image quality is superb for the price. Higher magnification would have led to optical abberation effects and disappointing results. This instrument covers the tricky area between what can be imaged with a decent loupe and what needs a proper bench microscope to be seen. This product cannot be beaten for the price in terms of image quality and general usefulness. A useful and entertaining purchase for all ages which won't break the bank.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Excellent optics and lighting and eyepiece cap is perfect for resting my Canon A1400 camera to obtain quite good photos easily. Amazing value for money but I wonder if the Natural History Museum shop has spare slides. Demonstrates how much one can see without falling into the trap of high magnification and all the attendant difficulties. Splendid for children but the 'zoom' might be stiff for young fingers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
This was bought for a daughter's friend (10 yr old) and they have played together with it. My daughter says the magnification isn't great,though much better than the magnifying glasses they use at school. BUT they did have great fun finding things to look at and it's very sturdy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
When first looking at this product on line, I ASSUMED it was larger than the actual 1 1/2" it turned out to be.
It would be helpful if in a case like this, if TWO pictures were shown, one as it appears now, in it's closed position, and ANOTHER one, when it is unfolded.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
A good buy at the price. While obviously not as good as the 30 times more expensive Nikon field microscope I also own, the quality of the optics is completely acceptable for kids and the integrated led light somewhat useful (better lighting is always a plus). Insects, leaves, pollen, fossils etc... reveal a lot of stuff. Don't forget that supposedly "better" stuff such as cheap conventional microscopes boasting 300x 600x 1200x magniifcations are essentially unusable without professionally made slides, or in many cases, totally unusable regardless of the slide's quality because the focusing mechanism isn't accurate enough, they lack a proper condenser or suffer from dramatic aberrations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Bought for my 4 year old great grandson who is keen on looking closely at natural things. Provides a lot of interest, supervision by his dad necessary as the slides plus the object are a little fiddly. Maybe a bit advanced for this age but a six year old would cope alone. However Jacob loves it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
I was prepared to spend quite a bit more than this when I was looking for a pocket microscope but I didn't need to. This one is ideal! Good power, well made and accurate lenses - not the plastic blobs which won't focus that you get in some cheap microscopes!
Perfect for pond-dipping!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Bought as a gift. This is a nicely boxed little pocket microscope, which looks well made. Have gone on the reviews and also the fact that I have bought gifts from the Natural History Museum before and they seem to last and be of quality. Hopefully the recipient will love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 16 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)