Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
13
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2017
Have no idea what this sounded like as neither of the cd's will play, more than disappointed as I wanted this to play at my fathers wake on 31/05/17. Have only given this a star as otherwise my comments will not be posted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
The audio quality of this edition of the Ella and Lous albums sufferer of a bad job restoring the masters. You can hear some annoying hiss on the high frequency mainly on Louis voice. Not the original noises of the tapes, but a new one caused probably by the digital restoring. Old Verve edition have better quality. The music is great as you already know.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At the risk of looking a gift horse in the mouth, I have to take issue with the title of this compilation. Seven of the 19 tracks which comprise "Ella and Louis Again" have been omitted, and only four tracks from the "Porgy And Bess" album are included, as against a total of 16. I cannot understand why someone has felt it necessary to hype a perfectly good product. For what is here is a delight, and purchasers will not be disappointed provided they accept that the contents are less than is claimed. But for that canard I would have awarded five stars.
1010 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Most of the recordings are widely known from LP's and CD's "Ella & Louis", "Ella & Louis Again" and "Porgy & Bess" but among them there are also some rarities, hard to find elsewhere. That's why I decided to buy this set of 2 CD's and I' m happy to have it! Excellent, immortal stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2010
Had a lot of these originally on LP. Enjoyed hearing them again, earlier recordings included were just of historical interest. Pity this was not the complete recordings made in the later period
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Absolutely delightful, sheer magic. Individually they are each superb and then together, wow. The arrangements are brilliant. For lovers of smooth, sophisticated jazz, just unsurpassable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
These two giants of the jazz era and beyound put subsequent generations to shame. What a joy to listen to their pure musicality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
I am happy opportunities to listen to these musicians. It is the purchase as a gift to my friends which gave them big joy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
For this amazing price you get some of the best music from the great American Songbook.
Ella and Louis are just great fun and compliment each other.Allthe tracks are good. The outstanding track is
'Savoy ' where on the final chorus Louis just laughts as he cannot keep up with Ella's virtuosity.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
To have Ella Fitzgerald is privilege. But to have her with the gravelly voiced genius, Papa Armstrong himself, is to be in heaven. Her exquisitely nuanced voice and his trumpet which speaks in an angelic tongue, that is my idea of heaven. Get this if it's the last thing you do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.82
£5.99
£14.09

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)