Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2011
Initially disappointing (what, yet another attractive woman joins the squad?) Series 6 soon settles down into a satisfying rhythm, with many top-notch episodes. Regulars Tim Bayliss, John Munch and Meldrick Lewis are still present, and Lewis in particular gets more airtime than in any previous series (no bad thing). New detectives Rene Shepperd and Mike Giardello are rather awkward at first, but by the final curtain call we are as sad to say goodbye to them as the rest of the cast. Yes, there are a few duff episodes - some of the early ones (featuring identical twins, a missing best-selling thriller writer) are more like the sort of crimes that would given to Lt Columbo rather than our cynical Homicide Dept. But by episode 8, and with the reappearance of Mike Kellermen, the plots have taken a turn for the better, and some of the later episodes are as gritty as any in previous years. All in all, a fitting final season to a superb TV series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
I have now watched every episode of Homicide Life on the Street and it certainly is a great and satisfying show. Series six is the weakest of the seasons with the newer characters not as good as the classic characters. It is however still worth watching if you've enjoyed the other seasons as it still has some good episodes and the newer cast are still good enough, just not as memorable as the classic cast. Highlights include a two parter where Kellerman returns and the final episode is strong and worth seeing. Munch is still excellent and given alot more screen time than he ever seems to get on Law and Order:SVU. Bayliss has an interesting arc throughout this season with his ideas, feelings and world view changing throughout. Meldrick has some tensions with a new partner and Giadello has his FBI son joining the Homicide squad. It's probabaly good the show finished at this point, but I'll miss this show and the characters and will almost certainly watch alot of it again some day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
I first watched Homicide Life On The Streets when Channel 4 broadcast it in the UK in the 1990s. It disappeared without warning and without trace, but I became aware of it again while watching The Wire. Without Homicide The Wire would not have come into being. So I bought the entire boxed set (six series in the UK, seven in the US). My wife and I watched it earlier this year, from start to finish. It is simply, for the most part, superb, and it is interesting to see how some scenes were re-used in The Wire. I recommend this series unreservedly to anyone who enjoys a good cop show. This, like The Wire, stands out a mile from the crowd. My only problem now is how to access Homicide The Movie, which never seems to have been released in the UK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2010
And a zillion times better than the "Hill Street Blues" that came before it. Now almost twenty years old, this was groundbreaking TV drama with great scripts and accomplished actors. Hang on in there for five episodes and you'll end up watching every season.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Homicide is the take-off to a new level for police series. Yes, NYPDblue and Hill Street Blues are ok. But with Homicide and later The Wire we have a new starting point. It's like The Band's music. There's everything before and everything after.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
I really enjoyed series one to five of Homicide but series 6 seems to have lost the plot.Frank is no longer there and is really missed.Too many women 'tecs in it now -completely spoils this series - a real shame.Original characters especially Meldrich et al still very watchable but the rest really awful.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
At the end of Season 5 it all went a bit gung ho and Hollywood and I feared the worst for season 6. I was right to be worried, everything becomes very thin with weaker characters and plots that are simply going through the motions. Pembleton was right to get out while the going was good. I never caught this on TV and got turned on to it by The Wire (GTVPE). It held up pretty well until now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
If you liked the wire youll love this and maybe more so as you will warm to all the characters quicker
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
I ask for seson 6 and got seson 7 not at all happy.. When I order something I expect to get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
Rather boring. Watched 2 episodes cant watch any more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)