Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
I rather recently discovered this fantastic gem that pre-dates Star Trek by a few little years, i immediatly fell in love with the show.
There is a whole slew of great characters to meet, like Husky the ever hungry martian, Marla the venusian secretary, who is as smart as she is sassy, Captain Dart, Gabbler, just to name a very few.
Adventures spanning the solar system and beyond, wild adventures, monsters, strange new friends and familiar villians.
A daring and truly boldly show packed with wonderful extras.
Just don't let dishonest sellers rip you off!
I'm most glad i found a honest seller who asked for a more than reasonable price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Space Patrol was definitely a favourite during my early childhood and this presentation on dvd only helps to confirm that .Of course it suffers from a poor budget and a need to keep the scripts short and relatively simple but that is balanced by a degree of realism in the details and a less mannered approach than is seen in the contemporary Gerry Anderson productions. The use of electronic music was sheer genius giving a futuristic feel which is quite outstanding, and the introductory scenes of the city have never been beaten in any show or film. Couldn't be bettered!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Fantastic. Finally out in a decent boxed set. All the episodes and extras too. Better than I remembered as a kid with a quirky humour that was probably lost on me then. Done on a shoe string budget but rivals Fireball XL5 with its inventiveness and story lines. Bought one for a friend too, I know he's gonna love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
if you love the Gerry Anderson shows. you got to buy this dvd 10/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
An excellent item to have acquired and for a fantastic price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
delivered earlier than expected & all O.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2008
This is a fascinating series in many ways. I was too young to remember Space Patrol (Planet Patrol in the US) when it first appeared in 1963 but it gained a cult status with viewers. Not to be confused with Fireball XL5 these are the adventures of Captain Larry Dart and his crew - a sausage loving Martian (Husky) and an elfin Venusian (Slim)
This is more realistic than Fireball because apart from a couple of episodes the Galasphere only patrols within our own solar system - the furthest it ventures is to a planet around the star Alpha Centauri. There is also interesting scientific talk relating to the solar system and about Haggerty's inventions.
Other main characters are Colonel Raeburn, his Venusian secretary Marla, Irish scientific genius Professor Haggerty and his daughter Cassie - not forgetting the rather strange gabblerdictum bird (a Martian parrot) named Gabbler because he's always talking! Also look out for a strange Jovian named Joe who when frightened can twirl his head!
Of course there are the usual bad guys - the advanced Neptunians for example who are afraid of work and are always demanding earth slaves to carry out their day to day duties.
Although the quality varies from episode to episode it's great to know that this now very rare series survives wholly intact. Included are a host of extras including interviews with Dick Vosburgh (Captain Dart), the creator Roberta Leigh, cameraman Arthur Provis and two huge fans of the show XTC's Andy Partridge and Babylon 5 creator Joe Michael Straczynski.
There's a wealth of rare/one off programmes too including Sara and Hoppity (1960), The Adventures Of Twizzle (1957), Mr. Hero (1966), Paul Starr (1964), Wonderboy and Tiger (1968), Send For Dithers (1969) and The Solarnauts (1967).
So if you are like me and never heard of the show until 2004 or someone who can remember watching this classic series in the 1960s this is worth getting - not surprisingly it has become one of the most sought after Network box sets.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
HAPPY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
I watched Space Patrol as a young lad in the early 60's and saw this box set in a Leeds, West Yorkshire media centre about four years ago for the, wait for it, price of £39.99. I bought it immediately and started to relive my childhood.
As we all know, life depicted in the series isn't possible - Venus is too hot and Mars too cold and the outer planets in the solar system even more so but bear in mind that space travel back then was in its infancy and unmanned missions and planet rovers were far off.
For children, Space Patrol was brilliant escapism and, I think, got a lot of children interested in space exploration.
£299.99 is very expensive and even I would have rejected purchasing at that price. I reckon £39.99 is about right.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)