Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
109
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2017
I don't know how it took so long to discover Robert Johnson, but great that I did via Keith Richards/Vintage TV. A fantastic album made by an intriguing individual and is well worth the money for an insight into an exciting era. You must add this to your record/CD collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
The musician and sound that influenced many who followed not least the Stones and Clapton who followed. Lost count of how many covers of sweet home Chicago there have been, and it's still performed quite regularly today. Brilliant! Just a pity performers such as Mr Johnson and other black artists lived in a time where prejudice meant they would never receive the acclaim they deserved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
A guitar master at work. And no screwing with the sound to optimise it for iTunes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
This represents a piece of musical history. Johnson's influence persists today. Buy the Cd, listen in awe at a great musician who died far too young.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
A perfect transation. Thank yoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
This bargain CD contains the roots of most great guitar music. Almost everyone has heard one of his songs, covered by every band in the western world during the 1960s. Once one gets into the sound of the man alone with his primitive guitar then the sound just gets better and better.

Essential for any music fan, especially those into the psychedelic and blues rock of the 1960s
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
I got this a few months ago, and I really like it. As a few other reviewers have mentioned it is a bit of a pain in the way they bunch all the recordings of one song together, although, depending on my mood, i sometimes quite like this - it's a good point of comparison - but it's not ideal for just wanting to listen to RJ rather than study him!

Obviously, as many more in the know reviewers before have said - his guitar playing is amazing, I'm no way, musically talented myself, but even i can hear it's really kind of beyond, and in a way, if you ignore the recording quality, it actually sounds pretty contemporary - i.e, the 'art form' hasn't actually moved on that much since this I don't think. the quality of the instrument and all the rest of it makes it sound much better, but in terms of just playing, its amazing.

The other thing i never realised is what a great lyricist he is! I really like the lyrical structure of the songs. Because we hear the songs everywhere I never paid much attention to the lyrics, but when listening to this it's really brought it home.

Well worth the price, it's an all rounder - i can't imagine many people disliking this
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 2 July 2016
Robert Johnson(1911-38) was the most mysterious and influential of all the Delta bluesmen.
Bob Dylan once said that "it felt like a ghost had come into the room, a fearsome apparition" when he first heard the LP 'King of the Delta Blues Singers' in 1961.
Robert Johnson's intense guitar playing combined with his haunting voice and stark, elemental songs created something utterly compelling.
This excellent 2-CD set contains all 42 stunning
tracks(including some alternative versions) recorded by Don Law for VOCALION in a San Antonio hotel room in November, 1936 and Dallas in June 1937.
These momentous recordings should be a cornerstone of any blues collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2009
This is the best issue of Robert Johnson's recordings to get. The sleeve notes, the information and the mastering are amazing. Buy it and enjoy the best sounding better than ever.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
BLUES AT ITS BEST. UNFORTUNATLY I CAN,T SAY THE SAME FOR THE CASE. OPENED IT UP AND IT CAME APART IN MY HANDS---BROKEN!!! WHERE DO I FIND A DOUBLE C.D. DISC CASE?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)