Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
111
Paris, Texas [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 December 2017
Beautiful film. Slow paced. Sparse. Not for those who like a lot of action and clever plots/talk. The beauty is in the film. Superb acting from all, especially Harry Dean Stanton and the little boy. Heart wrenching ending yet totally unsentimental. Also, the music of Ry Cooder suits so well - almost a part of the scenery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2016
Beautifully photographed and composed film. No shaky camera of silly CGI. This is observation of the fall and attempted recovery of Travis, a man who - having lost is wife and son - wandered for 4 years in a state of amnesia. Rescued by his brother, who has been bringing up the boy, the film documents Travis's attempt to reunite with his son and find his wife. It transpires she is working in a seedy peep show. Great scenes here as he watches her through a one way glass and she finally realises who he is. I found the end disturbed by the fact that, after reintroducing his son to his mother, Travis leaves once again. I could not help wondering if the boy would have been better off left with Travis's brother who has given him a stable home and schooling. It's long, slow moving, but worth the effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2016
a truly outstanding visual treat, a moving story, referencing the failure of a relationship and the subsequent search for reconciliation and understanding; great performances and beautiful cinematography, the soundtrack by Ry Cooder enhances the visual and emotional experience. a must see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2013
I'd never seen this film before and bought it on impulse. Was very pleasantly surprised. It's a lovely, slow burning film. Strangely it clocks in at two hours and twenty minutes but seemed much shorter - I was so emotionally invested in what was going on throughout.

Loved the performances, loved the photography; It's a very human, gorgeous gorgeous film!

DVD is superb - great film-like appearance with grain, lovely reproduction of colour plus great sound and some worthwhile extras.

Anyone reading btw - are their any recommendations for other Wim Wenders films? I'm becoming a bit of a fan!x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
I already have the earlier DVD release of this film but ordered this one on the off chance that, being a later release, and although the Product Details make no mention of them, it would have English subtitles for the hard of hearing. I'm glad to say, it does.

I think everything has been said about the film. It is an absolute masterpiece and is one of my top five films of all time. Ry Cooder's music perfectly matches the atmosphere and slow pace of the film. This is a must see, must have film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2015
Very good .Last saw this on videodrome back in the 90's
Dvd has a good picture and very good sound.Don't watch just once;
may need more than one viewing to get this spectacular road movie.
Buy the blu ray if you can afford the extra few pounds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
This isn't the type of film you enjoy with immediate satisfaction. Whilst watching it, I didn't feel it was particularly entertaining - narratively it's a very simple streamlined film. The events progress in a linear fashion and unfold slowly. Despite this, it is filmed In a very economical style - simplistic but always in support of the characters and their motives. This is what gives Paris, Texas its power. Bear in mind the first 40 minutes is very sparse in terms of dialogue and character development, but don't be fooled into believing this doesn't lead anywhere. It does. It just takes its own time to get there. It begins with epic landscapes, but develops into a cross-country tale of loss, discovery and family. Watch it again and you'll see what I mean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2016
Classic film with great music from Ryan Cooder
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
A truly excellent film - a welcome change from much of the CGI dominated stuff that dominated the cinema at present
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2014
I first saw this decades ago, and recently bought this again. The soundtrack is justly famous, the film is the nearest the US comes to art house, and Harry Dean Stanton is perfect the role. What more to say? If you like cop soaps on day-time TV, don't buy this. Otherwise it is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)