Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 28 September 2015
In this visually stunning and emotionally engaging film Wim Wenders produced an absolute masterpiece.
Wenders's obsession with the American West is now well known through his photography. "Written in the West" is Wenders's photography book specifically devoted to this subject of which "Paris Texas" is a cinematic counterpart. And the cultural resonances of the American West explored in the film go back to Edward Hopper's paintings of vast spaces & alienation, perhaps also to Walker Evan's & Stephen Shore's photography (Shore's influential book "Uncommon Places" came out two years before the release of "Paris Texas" - Could Wim Wenders have known it then and drawn inspiration from its sublime images?)
The depiction of relationships - between father & son, between mother & son, between the two adults - is subtle and nuanced.
The long peep show / confessional / prison visiting booth scene is deeply moving, and adds layers of meaning to this great magisterial road movie.
Both acting and cinematography are superb throughout.
So is the pacing and the surprising momentum the film generates. There is no longeur throughout its 139-minute length. At the very start of the film we see Travis striding purposefully towards the cafe in the desert, and from then on he is always walking, driving, going places. This is a road movie above all and does not indulge in lingering static shots favoured by Tarkovsky, Tarr, Angelopoulos et al.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2002
I first saw this movie in 1985 at The Screen on Baker Street, and I still remember that the soundtrack was turned up painfully loud. Nevertheless, I loved the movie and I have watched it countless times since on VHS. Strange, then, to find that the long-awaited DVD issue also has major problems with the soundtrack. Nevertheless, whilst my first instinct was to send this the way of the broken R2 Blade Runner DVD (i.e. back to the shop), I persevered and decided to keep the disc after all.
Specifically, then. My ecstasy at finding a Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack on the DVD was short-lived because, despite Ry Cooder's beautiful stereo backing to the menus, the original soundtrack has NOT been remixed from the original recording. It looks like a quieter version of the existing soundtrack has merely been piped out of the rear speakers, drawing us a little bit further into the experience. HOWEVER, none of this even matters because the movie is unwatchable with the Dolby Digital soundtrack because the lipsync is completely broken.
Thankfully, there is a workaround: the Dolby Stereo soundtrack DOES lipsync correctly and hence redeems what would otherwise have been an outrageous, not to say extremely disappointing, fiasco. Luckily the only other significant flaw - a vertical yellow line at the left-hand side of the image during the opening desert scene - disappears after a few minutes. I assume this was a flaw in the print, although it seems odd that it couldn't have been corrected digitally. The strange green colour casts in several interior and night scenes looked odd at first, but the director's commentary explained that these were deliberate and I can only assume that the VHS release to which I'd gotten used had been colour-corrected to some degree.
I was disappointed to find no proper documentaries on the DVD, but the deleted scenes are interesting and the Wim Wenders commentary gives a great insight into the craft of 'proper' movie-making in a pre-digital world. It's also intriguing to discover that more than half of Paris, Texas, surely one of the greatest road movies, was actually written on the road during the shooting of the first half of the movie.
Disappointments aside, this is currently the best way to view this classic movie, in a 16:9 ratio and with passable (if resolutely monaural) sound. The extras add significant value to the package, in particular the director's commentary on both the movie itself and the deleted scenes. There aren't too many other extras, but for what is basically a low-budget independent movie we can count ourselves lucky that they found anything at all.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
I bought this Blu-ray to replace my DVD copy, the change to Blu-ray makes it look like your watching a new film because you notice details that you hadn't seen before, so I can recommend this Blu-ray. A very quirky film with great cinematic qualities, and the style of Lawrence of Arabia & David Lean, but more gentle in pace, All good acting performances.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2002
These words do not even begin to describe this film.
It it one that stays with you, one that you think about long after it has finished.
The photography from Robby Muller is beautiful.
The music from Ry Cooder is perfect, and has spawned countless imitations.
The performances of Harry Dean Stanton, Natassja Kinski, Dean Stockwell, Hunter Carson and Aurore Clement are faultless.
The script, from Sam Shephard and L M Kit Carson, is a meandering journey through cities and landscapes and lives.
But above all, it is the faultless direction from Wim Wenders that makes this film so special. We find here a director at the height of his powers, creating a film specific in its time and place, yet universal in its resonance.
This film was awarded the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival in 1984. Watch it, and see why.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2009
If you have arrived here, well you know who Wim Wendres is and what about his great film "Paris, Texas".
Some additional information: no subtitles available, except the HOH English ones and no more "gorgeous 24 booklet" ...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2010
When I first started to watch the film (it was on the telly)I was near to switching off. But luckily I had the tolerance to sit and wait. What a beautiful film! There are so many fine moments in the film but the one that is a particularly moving scene is the "meeting" through a wall between the ex-wife and her husband. I do not want to tell more for not to take the excitement from those who have not seen Paris, Texas yet. Now I am a happy owner of the film and have seen it again. The music in the film is beautiful too and I have even bought the CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2013
I already have the earlier DVD release of this film but ordered this one on the off chance that, being a later release, and although the Product Details make no mention of them, it would have English subtitles for the hard of hearing. I'm glad to say, it does.

I think everything has been said about the film. It is an absolute masterpiece and is one of my top five films of all time. Ry Cooder's music perfectly matches the atmosphere and slow pace of the film. This is a must see, must have film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2014
Lovely film from Wim Wenders who looks closely at human relationships, guilt and alienation. The photography by Robby Mueller is breathtaking. If it's not in your Top Twenty, it should be!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Wim Wenders’ cult movie sees a grizzled Harry Dean Stanton play Travis, a man who wanders out of the desert after being missing for four years, and who appears to have almost total amnesia. His well-meaning brother Walt (Dean Stockwell), and Walt’s French wife Anne, took Travis’ young son Hunter into their home after Travis abandoned him, and despite Walt’s unreserved support for his returning sibling, the couple fear that Travis will take Hunter away from them; something that Anne in particular struggles to accept. As Travis starts to bond with his son, his memory starts to return and he decides on an impromptu road-trip with Hunter to track down the wife who he feels abandoned her family – his only clue to her whereabouts being a bank account in Houston from which she has regularly sent Anne money to provide for her son.
Wender’s decision to film primarily in the Trans-Pecos region of West Texas results in rugged, isolated vistas and a real sense of the propensity for a person to become lost in different ways within the vastness of America, whilst Ry Cooder’s slide-guitar based soundtrack enhances the impressive cinematography with its melancholic and sometimes subtly menacing qualities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
I have often heard about how amazing this film is and while it was not exactly what I expected, I was glad to finally watch it.

The obvious place to start is the soundtrack by Ry Cooder, which is simply wonderful. It is perfectly suited to the film as it evokes a certain sense of wonder as well as loneliness; its reputation as a classic is definitely justified.
The film itself is a mesmerising, beautiful film that is both funny (especially the scene where Travis and Hunter walk on opposite sides of the road) and sad; it is indeed a perfect marriage of American road movie and European art house film. Its central themes of family and loneliness are apparent and the film sports a strong, intriguing script throughout. Though ever so slightly slow moving, the film reaches a satisfying conclusion that had my eyes and ears completely fixed on the screen.
The performances are great, the most prominent ones of course being Harry Dean Stanton and Nastassja Kinski. Needless to say, they are nothing short of iconic.

All in all, this is a gorgeous film with an amazing soundtrack; it is engaging, intelligent and overall, a very good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)