Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
108
Paris, Texas [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 December 2017
A truly excellent film - a welcome change from much of the CGI dominated stuff that dominated the cinema at present
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2017
My favourite film of all time. A tragic and beautiful story, brilliantly acted and directed, full of superb performances, with the haunting and gorgeous Ry Cooder soundtrack as an added bonus. Truly amazing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2008
Possibly the best dvd release so far of the gorgeous Paris, Texas. The 16:9 anamorphic picture looks great on a widescreen TV. Theres a directors commentary, deleted scenes also with a commentary, home movies and Cannes film festival footage. So a sizeable and strong extras package. There's also a gorgeous 24 booklet include printed on heaystock paper throughout - it's really well designed with good photos and (previously printed) articles. There's even a Sam Shepherd short story! It does say the booklet is limited edition and is well worth having so do make note! An excellant releae from Axiom Films who'll I'll be keeping an eye out for!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2016
Classic film with great music from Ryan Cooder
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
Had Dutch subtitles embedded which would not turn off :-(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 June 2013
This film totally blew me away when first I saw it. It's so beautiful, melancholy, and intense.

The acting is uniformly brilliant, by all concerned: Harry Dean Stanton is fantastic as the taciturn and troubled Travis, whilst Dean Stockwell and Aurore Clément are great as the more normal, decent and caring couple, Walt and Anne Henderson, with Hunter Carson as the adorable little Hunter Henderson. Nastassja Kinski is suitably mesmerising as the elusive and errant Jane.

Wenders' cinematographer Robby Müller is a genius with a camera, and would later help Jim Jarmusch create cinematic magic on films such as Down By Law and Mystery Train. This film is starkly beautiful. The slow moving moodiness, enhanced by a superbly bleak bottleneck slide guitar soundtrack by Ry Cooder, gives the movie a unique and very powerful feel.

Personally I can't praise this film highly enough, it's right up there for me, amongst my all time favourites. It's not every day watching by any means. But if you like your films to have the intensity and power of great art, then this might well be for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 July 2008
I saw a Sam Shepherd play recently, so I was quite surprised to see that Sam Shepherd wrote this screenplay. But having seen two pieces of his work, you can detect a style. Shepherd examines the dark side of families, the frustrations, the pain, the fights and their consequences. He likes long monologues uncovering a web of events and feelings. I think the dialogue in this film is superb.

The landscape and the music is also rich in metaphor. Kinski is a wisperish, idealised beauty. The other adult characters are weatherbeaten by life's demands. This is a long, slow and often banal film, but it says something about real lives. I first saw this film over twenty years ago. It lingers and haunts, and that thematic strum of the guitar stays with you always as a symbol of loneliness and struggle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2003
What an impressive film! Every frame is a carefully positioned artwork! The colours are unearthly and fantastic! Ry Cooders haunting score rolls around in your head, like a tumbleweed, for days after you see this movie... At over 2 hours though, one needs to be in the right frame of mind to approach this film. The plot is slow, and simple, but the beauty is in the way it depicts our painful human existence and the mistakes we make along the way.
Now when are we going to get other Wim Wenders classics like 'Faraway, So Close' on region 2 dvd?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
This is specifically a review of the blu ray release from Axiom Films. The transfer presented here is the one of the best I have seen of a 1980's film released in the UK as yet. The colour saturation throughout is terrific while the 5.1 master soundtrack featuring Ry Cooder's magnificent score has never sounded better or clearer. On top of that, there are plenty of extras, and a very nice booklet. Axiom also deserve credit for a beautifully designed sleeve that fans of the film will be thrilled with - and all this in a slimline case as well, which I personally prefer. Altogether a very classy release - more please Axiom! Region B-locked.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2013
The picture and sound (via a home theatre surround system, which is a must to appreciate the sublime Ry Cooder soundtrack) presented here for this almost 30 year old film blew me away. Simply superb.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)