Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
117
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
Got this album as i recently heard afterglow on an internet radio show, loved the rest of the songs on this album too, classic Genesis!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Had Wind and Wuthering on vinal tape then cd, but this remastered version is great. Cant think why its taken me so long to find it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Of course hardcore Genesis fans must have it. It's the first album after Peter Gabriel, and Phil Collins is trying hard to sing like him. Also they are trying to restore the incomparable beautiful atmosphere of their first albums before the double Lamb Lies Down On Brodway. Unsuccessfully.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
just another brilliant cd, by a great rock band just sound better on cd than the old vinyl albums, just great music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
This remaster lacks the depth and warmth of my old vinyl copy.

It's only LOUDER and Steve Hacketts electric guitar work is still too buried in the mix.

If this is an example of the remastered series, then I will give them all a miss.

Hopefully the remastering of the live albums (especially Seconds Out, including restoring Steve Hackett to the mix) will be better.
55 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
The first memory I have of this album is when my older brother played me Unquiet Slumbers For The Sleepers..'. My reaction was 'this can't be Genesis, can it?!' I had up until then only heard Invisible Touch and We Can't Dance. This song was almost fully orchestral and so different in style from the poppier style of their later albums. But I totally fell in love with it.

Almost all the songs are Genesis at their maximum strength. Even the weaker songs like 'Your Own Special Way' are gems. My favorite, by a long way, is 'One For The Vine'; a ten-minute Tony Banks epic. I've listened to it more than a hundred times and it's still as fresh as ever. It encapsulates what is so good about Genesis; beauty, restraint, hints of great power, and strong compositions.

If you want to enter the world of Genesis you could do no better than to start here. Even if the style is not accessible in a traditional sense, the compositions are so strong that there is always something ear-catching at every stage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
This is the Genesis album that never gets played. No great singles and only Afterglow as a real concert track. This album was a bit of a transitional period for Genesis but you can see the greatness shining through.

Without a doubt, the weakest track is "All in a mouse's night" but most of the rest of the tracks still stand up well. Remember that this was released in 1976 - over 30 years ago. How many albums from then can you still play without being ashamed?

Well worth the time for a listen and great value as it's sometimes found in "remainder" boxes at the shops!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Great music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
I bought this cd Wind and Wuthering for my husband who is a great Genesis fan for Christmas and he loves it! its a great cd. reccomended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2005
Wind & Wuthering marked i think, a downturn in the distinctive sound and quality of the music of Genesis. It was Steve Hackett's last contribution and perhaps, with the exception of Duke, the group never regained the pinnacle of SEBTP, the Lamb and Trick.
This album's principal failing is a lack of consistency. I would agree with most reviwers that One for the Vine and Blood on the Rooftops are absolutely first rate. Moreover Afterglow compares with the very best that the band has produced. The rest i'm afraid is just ballast. 11th Earl lacks depth and Your Own Special Way is, i'm afraid a forerunner of Phil Collin's solo career. A Mouse's Night is faintly ridiculous and tries vainly to return the band to the bizarre but captivating lyrics of the Gabriel era. That said, as always the consumate skill of 4 outstanding musicians is hugely in evidence throughout the album and holds it all together.
If you own the vinyl, buy the CD, the reproduction is excellent. Sadly you will find the 'skip next track'function all too hard to resist. Good but not outstanding.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)