Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
135
4.4 out of 5 stars
Wind and Wuthering
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 March 2017
Forgot how fabulous this whole album is - for some reason the only Genesis CD missing from my collection - had it on vinyl and have been loving it in the car the last couple of weeks all over again - can't wait to hear Steve Hackett performing all the good stuff from it on his forthcoming Genesis Revisited with Classic Hackett tour which starts on 26th April.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
Bought it on vinyl when I was 16 in the last century and still love it - just bought the CD. Quieter and more moody than some of the other earlier Genesis albums but I like that. Phill Collins is great on vocals (I'm not going to get into the pre/post Gabriel era arguments - I love both). If you got into Genesis during/after 'Duke', you might find this one harder work - the music is influenced more by Rutherford, Banks and Hackett than by Collins, so you might want to search for some of the tracks on line first or try one of the live/compilation albums that give you a cross section of the music. Classics include One for the Vine and Afterglow...mmm...in fact I think I'll just go and ...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Along with Trick of the Tail, this is Genesis at the peak of their powers. With retrospect, we can see that Steve Hackett was the critical influence, whose creativity with the guitar was second to none. He also provided the "quality control" element which ensured that Genesis kept at the leading edge of progressive rock. Without him, there was nobody to prevent them slipping into the insipid pop songs made commercially successful by Phil Collins, and most notable in Phil's solo work, focussed as it was on sad love songs influenced by his various dvorces. With Hackett, Banks and Rutherford were encouraged to focus on stunning instrumental compositions, which followed on from the phenomenal work found in Lamb Lies Down and Selling England (with Peter Gabriel on vocals). One cannot imagine songs like Misunderstanding or Please Dont Ask making it onto an Album with Hackett. Genesis were to become more commercially successful after Wind and Wuthering, but they would never again achieve its perfect creative balance, whilst staying quintessentially "English" throughout.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
‘Eleventh Earl of Mar’ (possibly not the catchiest song title in the band’s history) gets off to a flying start with an instantly gripping musical theme from Tony. This is a great track that builds across its different sections. Phil’s vocals are slightly recessed but he has fun belting out ‘Daddy, you promised’, with again a sense of the past and possibly Victorian children stamping their feet. The keyboard section that follows ‘features are burning’ is just stunning. ‘One For The Vine’ follows, a brilliant Tony composition which he worked on for about six months before offering to the band. It opens with another of those haunting themes a la ‘Mad Man Moon’, and is very, very strong musically and lyrically all the way through. Two tracks in and we’ve already had our money’s worth, and now it’s onto Mike’s ‘Your Own Special Way’. Phil’s singing is just beautiful on this song, and he gets right inside it: ‘What mean the dreams, night after night?’ However, there is a problem with the words in this song, and the chorus does not fit with the verses at all, so you have a very effective love song going on in the chorus, and something about something or somebody following you in the verses. Anyway, it’s still lovely, with another childlike section before the final verse/chorus. At this point there should have been a Steve Hackett composition such as ‘Inside and Out’, but instead the band opted for a rather slight instrumental called ‘Wot Gorilla’…Steve starts feeling unhappy…Onto side two and ‘All In A Mouse’s Night’, another attempt at a whimsical story which has some great music on but is a bit hard to take and this song is another slight misstep for the band with punk rock waiting in the wings…but greatness is back on the table with the quite wonderful ‘Blood on the Rooftops’ which starts off with a superb piece of Spanish guitar playing from Steve, and then the song which just pulls you in to the sadness of everyday life and getting old, this is one of the band’s most well-loved compositions and rightly so. Okay, we have a couple of strong instrumentals with some heavy rock going on in the second one, and then ‘Afterglow’, aptly titled, again brings the album to a satisfying conclusion, possibly even more so than ‘Los Endos’ because the song really communicates and has a simple, clear structure and message and some fabulous words: ‘But now, now I’ve lost everything, I give to you my soul’. Incidentally, the live version on ‘Second’s Out’ is even more powerful than the studio version. ‘Wind’ is wonderful: it’s timeless, emotional, diverse, and very moving. What more could you ask for?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Quite simply, this is the last truly great Genesis album the guys released and a fitting way for their sublime guitar genius Steve Hackett to depart. The opening salvo of the luscious, swirling 'Eleventh Earl Of Mar' is followed by the majestic 'One For The Vine' and we're only 15 minutes in. For me, 'Your Own Special Way' is the album's weak spot and should have made way for a Genesis classic in the shape of 'Inside And Out' which was shamefully hidden away on the 'Spot The Pigeon' EP. 'Wot Gorilla' is OK but the quality really kicks in again on the second half of proceedings as 'All In A Mouse's Night' weaves a curious lyric with lovely keyboards. Hackett and Collins shine brightly on 'Blood On The Rooftops' before the final salvo of 'Unquiet Slumbers For The Sleepers...', '...In That Quiet Earth' and the glorious 'Afterglow' carry us through to the end. Simply Magnificent!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This has always been my favourite Genesis album/CD, so this review will have a slight rose coloured tint to it, but I make no apology for that. It's even got one of my favourite covers of all time.
Of all the post Gabriel recordings this is the one (for me) that could have been recorded with Peter still in the band. It has a more murky, darker side to it than it's predecessor, & a weird whimsical feel that reminds me of Nursery Cryme & Foxtrot.
From the grey, cold looking cover through the lyrical content & moody key changes this album sounds like a band who might have been searching for closure to an era of progressive output.
There is little in the way of light hearted 'pop' on here. Mike Rutherford's 'single' Your Own Special Way, while quaint, even has a touch of the somber about it. Collin's psuedo jazz fusion workout Wot Gorilla! is about as close as it gets to carefree song craft.
The mood of the record could be put down to the fact that it was recorded almost straight after the band came off the ATOTT world tour. Only Tony Banks had much in the way of songs available by the time the band assembled in the studio & with time pressing it was very much his material that formed the basis of the sessions.
Considering this the final product was a mesmerising listen. The beauty & subtlety of the music interwoven with some poetic (if at times contradictory) lyrics made for a compelling experience.
I can only find fault with 1 track (All in a Mouses Night) for the simple reason that I just don't think the music & lyrics match up. It is like putting chips with your trifle! As individual components they are fine but together...no.
This album marked the last time (Spot the Pigeon EP excepted) that we would hear that wonderful Steve Hackett guitar sound in the band, which is a great shame. Steve could conjour musical textures like no other & he perfectly complimented Bank's exceptional keyboard playing. I also think this represented one of Phil's finest vocal performances with the band.
It is unfortunate that in retrospect both Collins & Rutherford feel this is one of the 'weaker' albums in the groups cannon. In part I imagine down to the fact that neither contributed very much in the way of writing to the project.
This hybrid version brings out the great musicality of this album, listen to Blood on the Rooftops & fail to be moved. It is like eating your favourite meal. There are many moments like that on here, but imo none so pronounced as on this track.

So kick back & enjoy what is the last time Genesis sounded like a prog band, change (not all for the best) was just around the corner.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
good record by a great band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
I listened to this album as a teenager and I am very pleased to be listening to it again decades later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Probably the last great Genesis album. It was no coincidence that the departure of Steve Hackett led to a gradual deterioration in the songs and quality of the band. Wind and Wuthering has some sumptuous songs with One for the Vine, Blood on the Rooftops and Afterglow real Genesis classics. This is a highly accomplished album with a great set of songs with perhaps only one weak point the successful single Your Own Special Way. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)