Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ghosts I-IV
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 January 2016
Possibly Reznor's best album (the Downward Spiral and the 'concept' album Year Zero notwithstanding) - pure soundscapes, industrial/instrumentals, all with their own feel. A series of ambient experiments (36 in all), none more than a few minutes long. Has much in common with Eno's ambient albums and Aphex Twin. A soundtrack to 21st century life, but also a distillation of Nine Inch Nails' output. These are not songs but miniature gems in mood and texture, some relaxed, some disturbing. Enigmatic but rewarding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2008
After great anticipation of this supposedly "important" release from Trent Reznor I can honestly say that Ghosts 1-4 is far from the masterpiece many fans are hailing it as.

I've been a Nails fan since Pretty Hate Machine in the early nineties and have admired Reznors collaborations and musical experimentation, but this just seems like a rush job, even though he's known to be one of the most methodical perfectionists in the industry.
Far from this being a 'soundtrack for daydreams', if your daydreams are as erratic as this then i'd suggest swift medical help. It lurches from lazy mechanical durges to off key piano akin to a Les Dawson sketch.

With little of his trademark industrial power riffs and certainly nothing remotely close to the atmospheric instrumentals he's created for movies like Natural Born Killers and Lost Highway, this double disc seems as bland as water and it's hard to understand how any of this could've stirred him into believing in it.

If this is Nine Inch Nails all grown up then i'd certainly prefer a trip down memory lane rather than sit through this monotonous and disappointing effort.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
In my opinion one of the best works of Reznor, despite being so different than the usual, heavy NIN. A couple of tracks were later incorporated into the soundtrack for The Social Network. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2017
Strangely calming and hypnotic, another wonderful example of the complex musical landscape of this extraordinary talent. No vocals make you focus more on the process. I can never get enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
A 2cd set of untitled instrumentals...surely that's Selected Ambient Works Volume II by Aphex Twin. This just hits harder. And misses very occasionally, hence the 4 stars.
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I don't give a damn about NIN usually. Never got on with Reznor's voice, to be honest. But this collection of instrumentals is wonderful. Played it a lot over the last fortnight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2008
This was a unexpected release and like any surprises I am welcoming it with delight. Reznor is a genius and NIN brand new album only confirms his prodigy. Unlike many albums, Ghost is all instrumental, 36 songs that will transport you to worlds you did not know.
With Ghost, Trent also challenged himself by releasing the album for download nearly a month ago and guess what the first 9 tracks are absolutly FREE and in high quality.
For the rest I will let Trent reznor speak for himself
Trent Reznor explains, "I've been considering and wanting to make this kind of record for years, but by its very nature it wouldn't have made sense until this point. This collection of music is the result of working from a very visual perspective - dressing imagined locations and scenarios with sound and texture; a soundtrack for daydreams. I'm very pleased with the result and the ability to present it directly to you without interference. I hope you enjoy the first four volumes of Ghosts."
Believe me, not only you will enjoy it but it will soon become your perfect drug.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2008
I haven't heard Ghosts II, III or IV, having only downloaded Ghosts I so far. So, bearing in mind that I've not heard the complete album...

It is amazing. Each song brings something new to the sound, whilst still remaining in keeping with the feel of the album.

The only album that I would both download and buy. If only I had the money...

Best track: Don't make me choose, they're all good in thier own way
Worst track: the silence that comes in between the album finishing and starting again.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
The package was a little damaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2008
Not, by any means, music you can just sit down and focus on. The perfect soundtrack to read a book to, ponder life to, do anything to.
Unexpected, yet still true to himself. Trent Reznor is doing what he wants. A big middle finger to the record industry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Year Zero
£5.79
With Teeth
£5.99
The Slip + DVD
£26.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)