Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
255
4.2 out of 5 stars
Event Horizon (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] [1997]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 145 reviews(5 star). See all 255 reviews
on 5 October 2017
The DVD worked perfectly. The film plot is somewhat confusing however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
great on blu ray classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
I enjoyed it at the cinema 20 years ago, looking a bit dated now but still a good scifi/horror film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
very fast delivery - and this is a fantastic film - if you love horror and sci-fi like i do - this is an absolute must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2017
Cult Classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
AUDIO: English Dolby TrueHD 5.1, French Dolby Digital 5.1, Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1
SUBTITLES: English, English HoH, French, Portuguese and Spanish
RUNTIME: 95:57 mins.
REGION: ALL
EXTRAS: Audio commentary, The Making of Event Horizon Featurettes, The Unseen Event Horizon Featurettes, The Point of No Return: The Filming of Event Horizon Featurettes, Secrets Deleted Scenes, Theatrical Trailer, Video Trailer

Video Quality: * * * * / * * * * *
Audio Quality: * * * * / * * * * *

I confess it took me a while to learn to appreciate EVENT HORIZON for what it is: a superb sci-fi horror film in the style of the original ALIEN mixed with some HELLRAISERish horror. I was a bit disappointed when I saw the movie the first time because I had seen pre-release pictures of scenes that were cut from the film and I heard of its controversy, and being very much into gore movies at the time I was expecting to see some HELLRAISER-like disembowelment.
Unfortunately approx. 30 mins. were cut from the movie, as demanded by the studio Paramount, drastically reducing the on-screen violence. Like with other Paramount movies (the FRIDAY THE 13TH 2-8) those scenes are lost forever, so the R rated version is the best available version.
Years later I have become an ALIEN fan and came to appreciate EVENT HORIZON better. The cut scenes really are not necessary for the film to work: it is a very suspenseful, shocking little gem, easily Anderson's best film, with a superb cast and great atmosphere. EVENT HORIZON is still fairly disturbing and bloody, and shows how great the combo space-sci-fi & horror can work. The acting is very good, including top actors Laurence Fishburne, Sam Neill, Joely Richardson, Sean Pertwee, Jason Isaacs and others. I don't really care for Anderson's films (his botched RESIDENT EVIL franchise) but this one is a really good movie for fans of the original ALIEN a must see. Fans of the HELLRAISER franchise will be slightly disappointed in the lack of gore, but will be able to enjoy several references. THIS is what (the space part) of HELLRAISER IV: BLOODLINE should have looked like! If Pinhead had had a cameo, this would be more of a Hellraiser film than the last few official sequels!
Visually EVENT HORIZON is a looker and the Blu-Ray captures this incredibly well. Sure, there is a fair amount of grain in the background, but it is not extensive and bothersome as in ALIENS. There is great detail in close-ups and facials, overall a great transfer far surpassing the DVD. The audio is good as well, I have no complaints, it might be a bit limited, but it works well. Everybody is clearly audible.
in regards to the Extras, taking into consideration this is a pre-DVD-era film where extra footage was not common yet, I was blown away, there's OVER 2 HOURS of bonus material! Most early movies on DVD only contained 1 or 2 alternative audio tracks and a trailer, EVENT HORIZON has far more to offer. Yes, the 30 mins. of cut footage is missing, and no I doubt it will ever surface, and if it does probably in very very bad quality (see FRIDAY series on youtube), Paramount Pictures is not known to be friendly towards their gore-friendly audience, but it would do this film great injustice to simply judge it by its gore contents, as EVENT HORIZON is so much more.
EVENT HORIZON is a superb sci-fi/horror film, not quite on par with ALIEN or ALIEN 3, but certainly better than most sci-fi/horror movies out there and fairly original. The upgrade from DVD is definitely worth it, as it can be found for under $10 nowadays.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2016
This 1997 SF horror B-movie is a cautionary tale about space exploration which definitely deserves its status as a cult movie of its genre, where Alien meets 2001: A Space Odyssey meets Solaris meets Robin Hobb's Liveship Traders....(!) Set in the not-too-distant future, we follow the mission of a rescue vessel dispatched from Earth to find out what happened to the Event Horizon spaceship when it suddenly reappears in orbit around Neptune seven years after disappearing from our solar system. During the journey to Neptune the film plays like a standard space movie but as soon as contact is made with the derelict spaceship the narrative ups a gear and the tension never relents as the crew uncover a reality which should remain undiscovered in the dark recesses of space. This is a film full of dread with an uneasy moody atmosphere permeating every inch of the spaceship. The special effects do not appear too dated while some truly disturbing images are undoubtedly unsettling. The actors all put in sound performances and the crew include Sam Neill, Laurence Fishburne, Jason Isaacs, Sean Pertwee and Joely Richardson. This is certainly a film once watched, very hard to forget.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
A unique film. The acting is pedestrian at times , but the photography and editing carry this film. Its a very very clever movie on many levels and truly horrific at times without the usual over-the-top gore. Superb science-fi concepts meets genuinely chilling plot twists. This is a very good film on so many levels.... It certainly is NOT your typical "B" movie... the production quality is superb.... enjoy....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
*Spoiler Alert* - Event Horizon is a sci-fi movie that stacks up with the best of them! What I found most fascinating about Event Horizon was how seamlessly it traversed the genres of science fiction and supernatural horror in a credible manner. For me, the transition was very much akin to the gravity drive, propelling the ship, Event Horizon from our space-time to an extra-dimensional realm where the laws of conventional science no longer apply. Humans exposed to the flip-side of this inter-dimensional gateway had no option but to interpret such an existence as 'hell'. The really creepy part was the implication (I got anyway) that such a realm also resided within us, known as 'the dark'. In short the film scared the .... out of me, and I don't usually scare easily! (But you can thank me later for that scientific analysis!)

That aside, the acting is superb with great performances all round. Sam Neill's awkward and dorky weirdness as the good Dr. Weir worked comedically well with the blue-collar crew of the rescue ship. Lawrence Fishburne's authoritativeness as the ship's Captain and Sean Pertwee's dark cynicism were great characters that complimented Sam Neil's quirkiness.

This movie is spooky, it's fascinating and I don't even think Lawrence Krauss or Neil DeGrasse Tyson would have a beef with it! If you're into good sci-fi, then check this movie out, if you haven't done so already and don't object to a little goriness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
Brilliant sci-fi cult classic horror, one of my favourites
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here