Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2014
Well - for whatever it's worth ... here is my two pence worth. For 17 years I had a "cheap" B&Q strimmer ... it was light and did everything perfectly before the motor failed. 17 years, now that's what I call value for money (it was about 12 pounds). Now, I had to buy another - looked at this Flymo strimmer and read all the reviews.... most seemed pretty good - apart from quite a few people complaining about the "line-feed". Anyway, I took the plunge and bought one .... and wish I hadn't. Everything those folks say about the problematic "line-feed" is true ... it's a nightmare. It is forever spooling out line which them gets wound around the spool spindle and everything them comes to a halt...... you spend twenty minutes sorting it out ... then it happens again (and again and ......). If it was a "manual line-feed" (like cheaper models always are) - there wouldn't be a problem ... if you want more line - you hit the button and pull a bit more out. This damned thing has "automatic" line feed - every time you stop it - and then start it again - it feeds out more line - stop and start again - you get still more line. This nightmare is all taking place around the spool - where you can't see what's happening.

Remember those old WW II stories - about the magnificent German Panzer - Tiger Tank. This was a miracle of precise and advanced German engineering. Problem was - on the battlefield - if ever they went wrong - there was nothing the crew could do to repair them ... they were "over-engineered" and far too complicated - and just had to be abandoned. The only guy who could fix them was a specialist engineer - and he was back at the factory. Not a lot of good - when you are in the middle of Russia.

So it is - with the "automatic line-feed" on this (Panzer Tiger) strimmer. I'm sure the guy who designed it got a pat on the head - but in the garden 'battlefield' - he's not with you to keep putting it right - and you are on your own pal.

Buy one of these if you want to - and let me be the very first to wish you a lot of luck ( and a few sedatives for your blood pressure).
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2010
Strimmers are not great, but as a cheap strimmer this works well. The auto feed works prety well (better than bump feed on some other strimmers).
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Having problems with it the locking position come loose when it's switch on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Very good easy to use best one i have ever had
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Flimsy with poor cutting power.The reel head keeps flipping when you try to edge the lawn. The older, original, model was much better. Wouldn't recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
Unlike all the much heavier models by flymo and others like Bosch which are so heavy they are thoroughly unpleasant to use, this is lightweight and very easy to get a precise neat edge. I've had no problem with line breakage but I've not tried to use it for heavier jobs that its not designed for.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Goes together well and does what it is supposed to. It cope's well aslong as the weeds or glass aren't to long + overgrown
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
Bought this Flymo trimmer as a replacement for my old Flymo,this one does as it says, motor has been upgraded so works more efficiently. Amazon as always best price. I highly recommend this product.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2010
A definite value-for-money product,& ideal for the smaller garden.Easy to assemble from new,light & easy to use.
It converts Quickly from strimmer mode to a very efficient lawn edger.Top marks from one very satisfied owner!!
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
I used my trimmer for first time yesterday and was really pleased with it. Had read other reviews before buying and some were very derogatory, but I found it easy to follow instructions and very quickly got the hang of it. It was really light, which was a real bonus as my arms were aching after using it for a while any way! Easy to switch to edge trimmer mode, which also did a really good job. There is a generous length of cable, although I still needed to use an extension lead. My last experience of Strimmers, many years ago, had put me off buying another one, but glad I took the plunge again. Will have to wait and see how long the spool lasts and how easy, or not, it is to change spools, but looks like it should be easy enough. Would highly recommend this trimmer
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)