Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
35
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2017
My Blueberry Nights is not a bad watch. Some interesting performances, particularly from Natalie Portman playing a wildcard gambler. Norah Jones comes across well in her staring role but I guess she must have been a little intimidated going up against Natalie Portman and Rachel Weisz in some of the more demanding scenes. I'd most definitely will say shes a much better musician than actress but why not give it a go if you are multi talented. Jude Law plays the owner of a New York Cafe, he's a strange northerner of England who kisses women in his cafe once they fall asleep. One can only wonder what he's putting in those blueberry pies.

The plot is a bit disjointed. The scenes do not flow from one to another as well as they could have. Its 90 minutes of okayness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
This is a truly awful movie. It is a blot on the career of Norah Jones who is a singer I love. Having tried to watch this movie I consigned it to the rubbish bin where it belongs.
Gerry Mc Menemy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
this is a very poor film, not worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Would use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
Fans of Chunking Express, Fallen Angels and In The Mood for love perhaps won't be flushed by this mainstream headliner as the cult Hong Kong director and arthouse cinema darling Won Kai Wai makes his US debut. The style and narrative idiosyncrasies showing Won Kai Wai's autuerism is intact, but, as people and critics have found, the stars doing character performances and their tales are less endearing and original as his earlier films.

Visually, it's hypnotic like a southern comfort TV advert, strobe effects and neon lights, arthouse montage and extreme angles like French New wave cinema quintessential to Godard make it beautiful.

But the story is passe, too hip, the music and odd cameos by Cat Powers and Tom Waits standing lurking in the background just don't seem convincing. The look and sourthern roadmovie existentialism wasn't as good as Ridley Scott's Thelma and Louis or Wim Wenders Paris Texas.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2008
I seem to recall thet this didn't go down too well with the critics despite what it says on the box. Had this been set in China with Cinese dialogue like other Wong Kar-Wai films it would have been hailed as another masterpiece. Howver it is English language and set in America so the critics didn't like it. I don't know why because Wong Kar-Wai does the seemingly impossible by getting a good performance out of Jude Law, Norah Jones is stunning and the story line beautiful. The added advantage of the Blu-Ray is that it allows the viewer the opportunity to fully savour WKW's colourful technique. This really is a feast on the eyes, the colours are stunning and the camera angles are great. A great Blu-Ray.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
this film is about those detours we take in life to give meaning and personal context to our troubles, questions, goals and heartaches.

just so beautiful, quiet and colourful. still very much a kar wai film reguardless of what people may or may not expect from him. i love that he saw his character in norah jones' face and voice and asked her to do the role, and i also think that having rachel weisz play one of the characters meant to affect elizabeth (norah) was an inspired choice, she is just such an endless storm of emotion.

the two side stories we are shown are perfectly distant, only showing you a small piece, through elizabeth's eyes, of their lives and personalities. i desperately wanted to keep following both rachel and natalie portman's characters further but it was so right to move on when it did each time.

it is a well paced film, you just go on a journey with a young girl and feel all the hope and sadness you imagine to feel in this kinda of story. something i think you can keep in your collection and come back to, each time it meaning something new to you because of your own changing life and situation.

i cant fault it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2010
The critics may not have liked it but it takes a special talent to make a film about heartbreak, loneliness and dislocation feel so warm and nourishing.

Of course you know how it will end right from the off but that's not the point: the point is the journey, and a sumptuously painted trip it is too. Wong's visual palette suits its American setting and seems refreshed within it.

The acting is uniformly superb and affecting; yes, even Jude Law! Newcomer Norah Jones' inexperience makes her perfectly cast as a seemingly delicate woman who heads off into unknown territory, both geographical and emotional. Rachel Weisz and Natalie Portman are both stunning as hard-shelled, life-battered women who contrast the sweetness of Jones' character Elizabeth.

Overall, there's a wonderful modesty to this film and I think this may be why some see it as 'ordinary', but ordinary is surely the point: ordinary lives depicted extraordinarily. Yes, the veil of exotic mystery which his Chinese films wear has been removed but now it's Wong as the foreigner with an outsider's view; and the view from the exterior is, as they say, always clearer.

I'll give it Five for it's accessible, life-affirming beauty - and also for those poor, cold-hearted souls who only gave it Two!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2008
Let's start by saying I am somewhat biased - looking through the few reviews I've done will reveal that Wong Kai-Wai has both my no.1 (In The Mood For Love) and no.2 (2046) films - Whilst his first foray into the English Language is not terrible, it certainly is not groundbreaking stuff. Overall I can't help but think of what might of been.

Still, this is a good and pretty simple movie. Performance are great - Norah Jones on her acting debut. Rachel Weisz and most notably David Strathairn probably steal the show. Jude Law's Manchester accent, may not be the greatest, but his character is at least likeable.

The story follows a Broken-Hearted Norah Jones travelling across America after the breakdown of a relationship after her partner had an affair which she found out during a visit to Law's café, the people she meets, their stories and the relationship between Jones / Law.

As I've said this is not a classic, but worth a watch, especially for a Wong Kai-Wai fan who will enjoy the similarities between older works.
As always, great direction and stills are used throughout the movie - just shame the script wasn't somewhat better. Still give it a try - you may like it.

3.5 out of five
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
This film has a good script, great acting, clever direction and good photography. The plot was a bit predictable but this was made up for by the amazing choice of musical score - in itself I did not like the music but it matched the film perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)