Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
61
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2017
A superb film in my opinion with all the leading cast giving superb performances as the family torn apart by family pressures, failed business dealings, greed and corruption, all coming to a head in a robbery that looks like a push-over. Other reviewers have explained the plot better than I an manage so this is just me adding my little comment. The only criticism I have is that according to the IMDb message boards which have now disappeared, (thank you Amazon, what are you going to chop next?) when the film premiered at a film festival, Toronto I think or maybe Montreal, several minutes were included which were subsequently cut from the general release. Why do they do this? If this really is correct, then the general public is being cheated, in my view. Anyway, that is my rant over but it is still a good film so watch it if you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Before The Devil Knows You're Dead [DVD] Philip Seymour Hoffman I had the good fortune to see Before The Devil Knows You're Dead on Film4, and it made a massive impression upon me and blew me away. In particular the acting of Philip Seymour Hoffman was truly marvelous and highly engaging, and of course the very brilliant screen directing makes the film very breathtaking and stunning. If you’re like me and you love Art House Cinema films or films which aren’t popular, then Before The Devil Knows You're Dead with Philip Seymour Hoffman could be for you. Well recommended as superb Cinema at it very best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Both the main actors [Hoffman and Hawke] turn in good performances in a film that keeps you guessing. The basic story is about two, cash strapped brothers who decide to rob a jewellery store and it all goes very wrong. the story is told in flash backs, which I usually find annoying but it seems to work in this instance.
Albert Finney plays the boys father - and not too convincingly. I like Finney when he sticks to playing English parts [he was brilliant in 'A Rather English Marriage'] and then ridiculous in Miller's Crossing - his American accent is just not believable.
Overall - a good film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
In every department this remarkable film is first-class. The crime-theme is highly original and dramatically gripping. The acting from all participants is unusually convincing and it is extremely well-cast.

The film is superbly directed by Sidney Lumet at the top of his form, events are seen in partial flashback, but this enhances the way the tension unfolds. Every shot is beautifully composed and photographed, and the New York scenes and interiors have complete realism; for example some gruesome scenes in a sleekly expensive dope-den are shocking, but stunning.

The story itself is very dark indeed, but these events feel like a slice of something that might actually have happened: these feel like actual human beings with convincing dramatic reality, even though there is almost nothing here to admire, and there are no heroes to be seen (though Albert Finney's character could be one!)

The way this movie has been put together restores your faith in cinema, and puts to shame all those explosion-extravaganzas, which leave you drained and shredded. A film for grownups, "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead" leaves you intensely engaged, shocked, but provoked and stimulated. It is possibly Lumet's best film. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Good story line,with good actors playing convincing roles.

This film still has the ability to shock at the amorality of the characters. The respectable veneer used to present one of the brothers' character is familiar territory but putting this beside the other seemingly less respectable brother is a great way of accentuating the unfolding tragedy and breakdown of trust.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
First saw this on late night t.v. and it somehow stayed in my head for quite a while. It had passed under my radar so I knew nothing about it including the director but I was more than impressed at the end of the night. This is a superb transfer to bluray both audio and video, I can't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
It's a while since I watched this, and in fact I should get it out for another airing, because it is a great film. Low budget, believable story, which is a rare thing these days when special effects tend to run |(or rather ruin) everything. Some great characters in this, and if you're interested in psychology you'll have a field day. Phillip Seymour Hoffman is one of those less is more actors, which I love. Enjoyed this so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Seriously this film sizzles. It's just brilliant. I watched it in the cinema and just didn't want to blink, it's like watching a car crash, you are drip fed the story bit by bit just when you think you know what's going on something else happens. I love Albert Finney and you can't go wrong with Philip Seymour Hoffman can you? A powerhouse cast for a powerhouse film. Just brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2017
A very cynical story which cannot end happily, but also doesn't have much to tell. Well told and superbly acted, though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
could have been good film but falls flat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.03
£4.50
£2.21

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)