Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
St Jude
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 July 2017
Had a copy of this back when it came out think i sold it on thinking they were second raters but theres been alot of talk about The Courteeners lately so time to check this out again their first and best album i believe ,defo worth having in your collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2017
Why have I only just got into the Courteeners, this album is brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2017
Great album from a great band from here onwards and up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2013
Now I know why The Courteeners' 2008 debut album 'St. Jude' was indeed 'long awaited' (as many have said), I didn't actually realise that they had formed back in 2006. They have of course released two more since then, and Liam Fray's band's music just keeps getting better.

I regard The Courteeners as one of the best modern bands to come from Manchester, with a clear influence from Oasis and The Stones Roses, you can certainly hear it on this album. I think that the singles 'What Took You So Long?' and 'Not Nineteen Forever', as well as 'Please Don't' are the highlights on this very strong, polished debut.

It was those hit singles that first introduced to the band, and the whole album didn't disappoint. Most of the songs are worth playing on repeat as they are just so catchy, and the lyrics are smart, as well as sometimes funny and aggressive.

If you enjoy British indie rock, you've probably already got this by now. If you're a late starter - buy it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2008
I first heard of The Courteeners at this year's "V" Festeval; I hadn't heard of them and wasn't going to bother - until I heard them. They were brilliant!!! I bought the album, St Jude, as soon as I could afterwards. There is a definite "Libertine" style to their music, but I have got to disagree with any similarity to The Smiths or Morrissey. No, lyrically, I would say there is a suggestion of The Wedding Present, but the most important thing is that The Courteeners have a very unique sound - they are not a product of other styles nor are they Top Ten Pop Fodder; they are a band that should be watched for the future. The bonus disc gives an even better insight into the band's abilities, with acustic versions of album tracks and additional tracks to delight, amaze and leave you wanting more. A truly brilliant album and, even if you have to sell an elderly relative to do so, I recomend you see The Courteeners live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2008
A lot of hype surrounded the courteeners debut album and it doesnt dissapoint.
Lazy journalists have been calling them the new oasis which is unfair, although they hail from Manchester and the lead singers names are the same, these are the only similarites between the two.
I think this album should be reviewed on its own merits and not compared to the likes of oasis or smiths etc, because you will always have people who are still living in the 80s and 90s saying they are not as good as these bands.
But let us remember it is 2008 and these bands have been and gone and it is now time for people and music to move on, dont get me wrong im a big fan (and always will be) of the roses,oasis and the smiths and must now say that the courteeners now fall into this category.

now for the album, unlike a lot of indie albums nowadays which contain about 12 songs which sound the same, this is different, a mix of raw energy, catchy foottappers which will stick in you head for weeks and well written ballads, this album offers everything.

I could go on and on about how good this album is but all i can say is give it a try yourself you wont be dissapointed.

oh one final thing if you can catch them live go and see them they are excellent.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2014
Very poor first effort from them! I now own all four of their albums and I find Falcon the best by far. They've mellowed a lot from this pile of punk crap! Avoid it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Anna
£5.32
Blossoms
£5.32
Concrete Love
£4.99
Falcon
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)