Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 8 October 2017
A very mixed bag of comedy. Most of it a little drab but some of it is superb. I just want to take all the real funny bits out and put them on one disc. I recommend buying it just for the girlfriend sketches and the songs lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2017
This is an absolute gem of a lost comedy. Utterly bonkers, but really laugh out loud funny. If you like Matt berry, then you'll like this. Just get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
Enjoyed Toast of London so much I had to get this. It really is brilliant. I'm quoting it constantly, though modify has any idea what I'm on about!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2017
Great service, delivery perfect. The product is awesome. One of the funniest TV series that I have seen; although was already a big fan of Mighty Boosh and Garth Marenghi's Dark Place when I first discovered it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2017
S'ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2014
This is what I imagine Monty Python would make, were they active today.
Biting, sarcastic, a heavy dose of madness.

Just love it :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2017
Just great comedy, if you like Matt Berry you will love this comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
not funny, shame as I love the cast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 January 2015
Question: What is "Snuff Box"? Is it a black comedy? A time-traveling sci-fi show? A string of bizarre sketches and musical numbers?

Answer: It's all of the above. This weird little British comedy pairs the wildly underrated Matt Berry with the somewhat less charismatic Rich Fulcher, and follows their wacky adventures involving sex, family, murder and time travel. At times it can be annoyingly juvenile (oh look, pee jokes), but the overall experience is a warped, almost hallucinatory comedy about a very unhealthy friendship. It's one of those glorious shows that simply glides by on the actors.

Matt Berry (yes, they use their real names) is High Executioner to the King of England, and Rich Fulcher is his faithful assistant. When they aren't casually knocking people off their mortal coil, they hang out at a gentlemen's club which caters exclusively to hangmen -- and Rich discovers that the men's room leads to a time portal into the past, where he regularly meets Matt's sorcerous ancestor (Berry again) and frolics with prostitutes.

They also have some personal issues with each other -- Matt becomes obsessed with the identity of Rich's famous mother, Rich reads Matt's diary to the club, their brothers visit, and Rich begins a bizarre romance that Matt is determined to sabotage.

And to keep us amused in the meantime, the series is scattered with little sketches and odd running gags -- Rich's dates going horribly awry (he starts blurting out weird things), music videos about babies, Matt's ongoing efforts to pick up stuff from a clothing boutique, guitar lessons, scatological fashion sense, a "Thriller" parody, visits by random rock stars (David Bowie and Jimi Hendrix among others), counseling, a man who compulsively blurts the F-word, office woes, and various other issues.

Fulcher and Berry apparently met while working on "The Mighty Boosh," and you can detect some echoes of that series' surreality and warped buddy mentality. "Snuff Box" presents the world in an almost dreamlike way, where oddities and illogical things go without question -- even the way it's filmed is surreal, with the fish-eyed close-ups and strange random musical numbers. The glowing white hall and time travel don't hurt.

In fact, it takes awhile to figure out who these characters concretely are and what they are doing. The side-skits don't help -- most of them see Berry and Fulcher playing a host of side characters, ranging from rapping daddies to abusive hot-dog venders, contradictory therapists to harried office workers. Its biggest problem? Some of the sketches get kind of juvenile, like a skit about urine stains being part of high fashion that went on approximately FOREVER.

But eventually the stories veer back to the main tale of the lazy hangmen, who joke around with the priest as they kill people (they even toss around a severed head in one episode) and slouch around in their club. And once you get into the rhythm of the series, it becomes easier to understand what is going on and who Berry and Fulcher are playing at any given time.

I confess to having a peculiar crush on Matt Berry, with his resonant voice and peculiar sense of humor ("Nearly at the station!"), and he's excellent as a genteel, grasping, intensely troubled man ("I killed my first dog today. Am I going to be a serial killer?") who is only nice to women he can have sex with. Fulcher is a bit harder to warm up to -- his acting style is a bit more affected with slower speech. But his naive-man-child-with-no-mouth-filter persona is pretty fun.

"Snuff Box" can't be in love if it's plastic, but the weird, surreal blend of skit comedy and surreal "Boosh" Britcom ends up being a pretty fascinating piece of work. If nothing else, watch it for Berry and Fulcher's antics.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2015
Absolutely superb - just discovered this series and as a fan of Matt Berry's work I thought I'd give it a go...glad I did as it's excellent. Probably as good as anything Matt has done and a great catchy theme song written and performed by Monsieur Beret himself...it's not like a sketch show - those reviews are misleading - although there are some sketches in it - sort of a sitcom plus - LMAO...I always thought Rich Fulcher was Matt Berry in drag....not so as it turns out...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)