Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
20
4.6 out of 5 stars
It'll All Work Out in Boomland
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 2 June 2008
This album is one of those long lost treasures that you come across now and then. The name T2 is only familiar to me as Swedish prog band Landberk covered their "No More White Horse" back in the 90's. That and "J.L.T." have also popped up in Mark Powell's recent box sets of early prog from the Decca label. But now I have the chance to actually hear the album, thanks to this recent re-issue by Acme, a label which I believe has connections with T2 drummer/singer Peter Dunton through his association with Sun Dial.

This album, the only fully fledged studio album by T2 is incredible. Though steeped in the early proto-prog/psychedelic sounds of the era, this was 1970 by the way and obviously influenced by other power trios of the times like Cream and The Jimi Hendrix Experience, this debut showed a band poised for greatness. Partly this was Peter Duntons deft drumming and beautiful songwriting, but its guitarist Keith Cross who is nothing short of staggering. I believe Cross was only a teenager when he recorded this which is unbelievable, as the complexity, intuition and technical virtuosity so belies his young years. Listen to the opening "In Circles", with incredible incendiary guitar running throughout this piece. This is so far way from what Clapton and Hendrix were doing. Not so much the blues, but there is jazz and off-centre time signatures, which would characterise so much of prog rock throughout the 70's. He was treading on new ground. The opening of this so reminds me of what bands like Landberk and Anekdoten would do twenty years later. To go from the intensity of this opening song to the elegiac "J.L.T." where Cross now plays thoughtful and restrained piano and mellotron shows the dexterity and ability of the man. "No More White Horses" is a classic rock song without a doubt. With Cross building up the piece on simply electrifying guitar runs, with the whole thing topped off with wonderfully arranged horns. The final piece "Morning" clocks in at over 21 minutes and may not reach the heights of the previous tracks, but still contains some fantastic playing by all concerned, not forgetting the solid bass work of Bernard Jinks.

The other tracks on the CD are from a BBC session and may not be as sonically impressive as the main album, but the performances more than make up for that. I am not sure if this re-issue has been remastered, as there are no details in the accompanying booklet, but the sound is first class throughout. The layout of this re-issue is pretty good and includes a 28 page booklet which reproduces composer Andrew Keelings remarkably detailed and insightful musical analysis of the album. This is a great re-issue of one of the truly remarkably ignored albums from the early 70's. The band seemed to have disintegrated before a second album could be completed. Though those sessions have also been re-released by Acme. That is such a shame as on the evidence of this debut, T2 should have become one of the major rock bands of the 70's. I am not sure what happened to Keith Cross, but he himself should have become one of the top rock guitarists alongside such names as Jimmy Page, Steve Howe, Robert Fripp etc. T2 seem to be a classic example of what might have been. But at least now we have the opportunity to hear this gem of an album.

.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2008
A boozy house party, Tull, Purple and co on the record player until Colour me pop I think it was, was due on telly, can't remember what else was on but a young trio (T2) were on playing 'no more white horses', absolutely awesome. I didn't collect that many records at the time but this I had to have. On my next visit to town, a good rummage through the record shops drew a blank, no record of the group in the catalogues either, giving the impression that maybe they hadn't got a recording contract.

30+ years on, finally starting a CD collection, and it was time to look again for this song that I had in reality become obsessed with, this time with better luck.

Now I was happy just to have white horses but what a bonus the whole album is dynamite, full of atmosphere, power and raw energy. For a band so young Keith Cross was only 16 or 17, and the others weren't much older, their work displayed a maturity normally associated with more seasoned veterans.

The bonus tracks are I believe BBC recordings, which have a more 'live' feel to them, 'questions and answers' and 'cd' only whet your appetite more for the follow up album that never was.

Incidently my copy is the 1991 release, but I have to review it here as it's the only edition on site with the same tracklist.

Ideal for buying now as an early xmas present.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
Having discovered them through one of the many compilations of 60s-70s rock currently available, I have been thoroughly charmed by this album. As is often the case with drummer led bands there is a real immediacy and enthusiasm about the playing which ranges from whistful psychedelic lyrisism to impressive hard rock guitar wig outs. Considering the guitarist was 17 when this was produced the quality and inventiveness of his runs are astonishing. If you like any of the late 60s guitar trios you will like this, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
Released in 1970 on Decca, "It'll all work out in Boomland" was the original T2's debut. The trio fronted by singer/drummer/composer Peter Dunton could play both extremely fast and energetic but also very mellow and atmospheric.
The talents of then 17 year old guitarist Keith Cross are displayed to the full here: fast plectre techniques, fast octaveplaying, hard power chords, some nice jazz chords, nice minor 7 chords, original bending techniques, long and complex riffs.
Peter Duntons drumming is fast and busy, but tasty. His vocals are very relaxed and contrasts the fast and energetic playing.
Tracks vary in length from 5.49 to 21.12, strong on melodies and riffs - with lots of things happening and many overdubs using guitars, brass, piano and mellotron.
If you are thinking of buying a cd version avoid the World Wide Records (Germany) from 1991 version as they have only managed to
put on one of the two original stereo channels(!)
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
As for the musical genre, T2 stands just in the middle of King Crimson, the Who and Led Zeppelin. As for the quality... what do you guess ? There's no need I tell you, you would never believe me until you check by yourself.
T2 is a kind of natural progressive rock, stripped out of heavy keyboards or sound effects, simply focussing on virtuosity, sophisticated rhythms, and effective melodies. At moment, it's so intense that it leans on the hard rock. It will definitely appeal to 70s hard rock fans, while straight prog rock aficionados might be surprised to push the volume higher than usual. There is absolutely no weak song at all, but if one had to be singled out, it could be "No More White Horses", an 8-minute piece that blends touches of horns and piano on heavy guitar and fast drums, gradually building up to a climax with no equivalent in rock music.
Price might look a bit on the high side to some, but hey, how much would you be willing to pay for a copy of Led Zep IV, King Crimson's Red or Who's Next if you did not own them already ?
(note that I do not know about this edition in particular, I refer to the music only).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2005
This album is, undoubtedly one of the top ten progressive albums of all time. Having reached the age of 50 I can look back and say with total conviction that, had this band stayed together they would have been absolutely enormous. the large number of T2 fans who are still around is a testimony to the power trio to end all power trios. It has, deservedly a massive cult status and should be bought unreservedly. Written descriptions could not pay sufficent tribute to the extremely well- played, clever compositions on offer here.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Only discovered this, browsing through amazon.
What an album.
So sad I missed this back in the 1970's.
Only four tracks, but everyone is a gem, especially the mellow J L T.
One of the best albums I've heard in my life and I've heard them all, been buying music since 1962, and I'm now and old, old rocker at 62!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
In my opinion this is one of a few neglected but important rock albums from the early 70's and as good as guitar driven progressive rock from this period gets. I bought the original LP at the time it was released, because the record shop allowed me to listen to new stuff in a booth or on headphones, (remember that), and I have now played it into a rather worn shadow of its former self so, as soon as this came out on CD in 92, I grabbed a copy of the SPM version that had 3 extra live tracks from the BBC. The music from this young band is unlike the other rock releases from that time, being almost all long tracks like No more White Horses and the stunning Morning at 21 minutes plus which build and build or switch from a more laid back feel into driving guitar, bass and drums. Apparently they played at the Marquee in London and were highly regarded.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2008
T2's It'll All Work out in Boomland was, and remains, one of the best kept secrets of the early 1970's. There are no mistakes, as a famous psychologist once said. When guitarist Keith Cross left the band on the eve of their first US tour he unwittingly (or maybe wittingly) gave both the band and himself cult status. Drummer/vocalist Peter Dunton continued and T2 performed regularly well into 1972. There have also been further releases of new material during the 1990's, but Boomland remains the marvel. That aside, the album includes such high-powered gems as the incredible opener In Circles; the Caravan-like charm of JLT; for some, the highlight of the album, No More White Horses; and the epic 20 minute song/piece Morning, originally the band's name. It has had numerous re-releases (this being one) which says a lot. Some music dates, but this hasn't: it remains as fresh and vibrant as the day it was released. There's even a new re-release (Lion/Acme) just round the corner (2008). Thoroughly recommended. Great and timeless music from one of the great bands of the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2011
This T2 album - their first, was completely unknown to me a few weeks ago but it was recommended to me by an acquaintance and I immediately bought it. Having listened to it a number of times I'd have to say that it is a fantastic album, very recommendable for fans of Zappa, Bowie, Beatles, King Crimson and early (Barrett era) Pink Floyd. It's early prog rock at its finest with very catchy songs and memorable hooks. Why this band didn't become bigger is beyond me but at least we still have this document of a very exciting time in our collective musical history. I haven't listened to the bonus tracks - I never really liked the idea of these on any re-release as they interrupt the aftermath of an album, those moments when the impressions that the album has created in your mind leave you in a slightly meditative state, this is spoiled by the presence of (usually inferior) "bonus" tracks. But all in all "It'll all work out in Boomland" is essential in any collection of 60s/70s rock music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)