Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
49
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2015
I had never heard of this film. I never saw any ads for it in the cinema. I see now, that is was a critical and commercial mega-flop. Which is pretty strange. The film is well written, directed, acted. It has a good plot and excellent characterization. It has a stellar cast of Sam Jackson (in my opinion one of Americas top 10 male actors of the modern age), Eve Mendez provides eye candy, Ed Harris is terrific as the lead's ex partner turned baddie. I have no idea why people hate this film as much as they do?

I saw it late at night on C5, a channel I barely flick to. I saw Sam Jackson and thought, I'll give this a go. I then enjoyed it very much. Brought it on DVD and watched it twice in as many weeks and still enjoyed it a lot. So I am puzzled as to why so many don't like it? But then I don't like Mr Browns Boys or Jim Davidson and they sell so many DVDs they live in mansions. It has a 6.1 on IMDB which I use as a fairly good indicator generally, usually IMDB is either a bit high or a big low for me but if you like Sam Jackson and you want a decent couple of hours get this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Excellent story, depicting the dilemma of a retired police officer now working as a forensics site of crime cleaner.
In this story a falsified order by his own friend to clean up a crime scene, a cover up, unwittingly involved, and his realisation.
The family and friendship loyalties compromisation, and upholding the law.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Riveting viewing featuring a fantastic cast and storyline, this is one film that's sure to entertain you to the hilt. It's brilliant, and easily well deserving of five stars. I recommend it very much to other viewers; especially if you are all fans of these high calibre, excellent actors and actresses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Interesting film, a bit of a slow burner, but not bad at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Excellent product & Service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
"Cleaner" is a polished little gem of a b-movie noir thriller and a surprise entry on the cv of director Renny Harlin who steps away from the slam bang action world to focus on a more character driven low key thriller.

Working with a small cast of characters (all played to the hilt by a top notch bunch of faces) and keeping the story tight as a drum (not one of the 86 minutes of the running time are wasted) Harlin shows that there is more to him than blowing stuff up... Ok so the ending is a little too Hollywood but that to me is just a minor quibble.

The bad news is that the dvd don't do the film justice on the presentation front, surely the commentry from the American disc could have been ported over and why is the film presented in 1.85:1 widescreen when it was shot in 2.40:1???

Ahh well at least the film makes up for these small glitches!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
The film itself is pretty entertaining, 3 stars seems about right.

This review is about the Blu-ray version which is cropped from the original 2.35:1 to fill the 16:9 screen.
I compared it to a (non-UK) dvd in the proper ratio and the BD image is not "open matte" either, just chopped off at the sides.

Hope this helps people who care about such things :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Excellent movie in my opinion any movie with Samuel l Jackson cannot fail with a great supporting cast and an even better storyline that had me intrigued good-cop bad-cop (Harris & Guzman) blue collar civilian (Jackson ) rich housewife (Mendes) embroiled in a web of deceit loyalty treachery playing each other off one another to the climatic twists and turns don't miss
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Considering the star power attached to this movie- Samuel L Jackson, Eve Mendes, Ed Harris, Luis Guzman and Reny Harlin, it's surprising it's not better known.

What you have here is a fairly simple police corruption (honest, that's not a spoiler) thriller, well played out by a good cast all doing everything asked of them. Despite being in junk as well as good movies, Jackson is a really good actor, Ed Harris is brilliant, Eva Mendes both good and lovely.

Reasonably tightly directed with few characters, it's pretty clear early on who's likely to be involved, though there are twists but it's nicely unwrapped, and leads up to a fairly predictable, well played out conclusion. Overall, it's a collection of sequences that can be found in many a movie, not terribly original, so that's why I'd struggle to offer five stars. However, it's well played out and a satisfying movie, not unlike, in many respects "16 Blocks", though IMNSHO not quite as good. With so few people in the show, the direction has to be good, and in that sense I think it's the best thing I've seen from Reny Harlin, for there's little distraction here from what's going on right in front of you.

A good, solid well deserved four stars from me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)