Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 October 2017
One of the better Vietnam war movies... It tells
the story of the assault on Hill 937 at the A Shau
Valley in 1969.

It starts with the arrival of a bunch of FNGs, that
is F***ing New Guys, who are green to Nam... The
jargon is about right, and it does show some of the
darker side of the war, like the brothels and friendly
fire. The battle scene are quite good, but we hardly
see the POV of the NVA or VC, they seem to be an
invisible enemy. Maybe that was the point, but there
were two sides to this battle...

Overall, still a good film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
Very realistic, and obviously violent scenes but not gratuitous at all. All were entirely in context. Two scenes I found harrowing, specifically, when so many were shot by "friendly fire" & in the final push for the summit of the hill. Brave men indeed who shamed many protestors at the time back in the States, showing a courage beyond any call of duty. Thank you to such men and those who have followed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2018
One of the only independent Vietnam war movies, attempting to showcase the day-to-day lives of infantrymen in the 101st Airborne Division, their interactions with the Vietnamese they encounter, racial tensions within the US military during the sixties, and finally, the brutal attempt to take Hill 937, the aftermath of which caused what could be considered a turning point in American public opinion about military involvement in Vietnam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2014
Classic, sickening too, what with all the renewed publicity of WW1/2 We have at the moment, i don't think it will be too long before this war/conflict is brought to our attention once again? Many people think this was just a war with America and Vietnam, but a lot of French also lost their lives, it still amazes me that even from the days of the Somme that the top brass can still send their troops into the butchers shop and still have good quality steak on their plates while the troops are rationed on a life expectancy????
Bloody Good film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2017
One the greats showing the total incompetence of military leadership and treating the men as mere cannon fodder.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2018
An old favorite of mine bought as a present for my grandson, who loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
Brilliant movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
Everything was great
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2018
Cool old film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse