Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 10 November 2013
Amidst the serious drug use, the casual drinking, the casual violence, the casual sex, the casual theft, the non-stop expletives, indescribable squalor, wrecked lives & no-hope bleakness - and not least the unintelligible accents - there were genuinely hilarious moments, sharp observations & straight talking among 5 'friends' (I use the word loosely) whose lives revolve around the regular intake of narcotics. Moral: Abandon hope all ye who enter this drug-addled world.

Verdict: Grim subject, but excellently depicted & holds your attention despite being stomach churning. Therefore 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
Years after release I finally get around to this movie because of tracing Jonny Lee Miller's roots. I was so surprised that not only is it a great and entertaining film, but it is not depressing or downbeat despite the lifestyle depicted. Yes it's about addiction and selfishness but mainly about taking control and what happens when you don't. It's no wonder that the lead actors and Danny Boyle went on to such outstanding careers. This is a masterpiece of acting and film making which stands the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
Having bought T2 I thought I really should go to the trouble of watching the original movie. Fantastically fully in places, such dark humour with great characterisations, I could scarcely believe that such a hard subject could contain so many laughs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
This steelbook contains the Blu-Ray and DVD of the film, there is no booklet or anything else inside. The film does judder a bit in a few scenes as mentioned by other customers and in my case (having played both the Blu-Ray and DVD on a Playstation 3 to compare) they are both the same and judder slightly in the same places eg. when Renton leans back while stood up and when Tommy moves back from the pool table after trying to miss the ball. Its Trainspotting as it was before and not cleaned up that well for digital, which is a shame. Other than that its ok.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2015
A cracking wee film that I would show EVERY Year 10 and 11 Pupil in their PSHE lessons. It reveals real misery caused by the use of hard drugs, pulling no punches. (I taught for over 30 years). It certainly made a big impression on me, though, Edinburgh and Leith don't come out of it so well (I come from Glasgow!)

I just wish some of the Pupils I taught had seen this, many of them no longer with us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2017
Watched this film when it first came out but found it just as interesting after all these years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2017
I was slightly disconcerted when the DVD box was all in Italian (always read the description!!) but the DVD played in English as expected, so luckily no problems there! Fantastic picture and sound quality, brilliant classic film, great value for money. Would definitely recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2017
It's a classic movie and one you should see but it's set in its day. Filmed for 2017 there would be less fun in their lives..less imagination.
The actors mostly went on to great things.
Watch this and TS2 back to back with a glass or 2 of scotch and some 80% plain choc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
Watched it many years ago and enjoyed it even more second time round.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2017
The subject manner in this dvd is edgy, gritty and shocking, surely making it into cult movie status now. It pulls no punches, especially in the scenes with the dead baby in its dirty clothes, cot and surroundings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)