Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 December 2008
An enjoyable PPV which terminated 2007 in style.
First on the bill was MVP vs Rey Mysterio. Two excellent wrestlers who did not disappoint.
The Glamazon, Beth Phoenix vs Mickie James was better than some of the Diva matches which totally lack substance.
Finlay & Hornswoggle vs the Great Khali was surprisingly watchable.
HBK vs Mr Kennedy was well up to par.
Rising star, C.M. Punk and Kane vs Big Daddy V and Mark Henry. There was a lot of weight pounding the canvas, but it was a decent effort. Kane never disappoints and C.M. Punk is talented, but they were up against half a ton of brutality. Nevertheless it was thoroughly entertaining.
Triple H vs Jeff Hardy. Jeff was not keen on fighting his friend and Hunter had to egg him on. These guys never let us down and it was a terrific match.
Randy Orton vs Y2J. Two talented wrestlers who performed superbly.
Topping the bill was a triple threat match - Edge vs Batista vs The Undertaker. There were no surprises here but Edge stole it for me.
All in all, it was well worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 February 2013
My recent dive into WWE pay-per-views from yesteryear has now lead me to the 2007 edition of Armageddon. Certainly, 2007 will be remembered as a very hard year for WWE (what with various scandals, superstar injuries and the god-awful Benoit Tragedy) but also a year where there were many feuds (Taker vs. Batista vs. Edge) and stars (Orton, Triple H, MVP) really shining, and several key players about to breakthrough to the next level (Jeff Hardy).

This particular Armageddon show isn't of great historical significance, despite things like Chris Jericho's long-awaited return, the seeds being sewn for Jeff Hardy's main-event ascension and the beautiful ongoing build-up for the inevitable Undertaker/Edge showdown at WrestleMania 28. Nevertheless, this is still a very good showing, with several strong matches throughout.

WWE United States Championship Match
MVP (Champion) vs. Rey Mysterio
Ah, the glory days of MVP's US title run. Such a great reign from a terrific star. Both he and Rey put on an excellent opener complete with crisp moves and fluid chemistry. Fast-paced offering with some great action all-round. Just a shame about the cheap ending. (8/10)

CM Punk & Kane vs. Big Daddy V & Mark Henry (w/Matt Striker)
Groan...so many times I've despaired over CM Punk and Kane being subjected to treatment like this. Made to work matches with terrible wrestlers like Big Daddy V and (at the time) Mark Henry. The outcome - the match itself - was nonsensical and despite Kane and Punk's hard work, this is one tag team affair you can easily skip. And what was the point of Matt Striker being at ringside? (4/10)

Shawn Michaels vs. Mr. Kennedy
It's funny looking back at old times. Especially when current TNA star Mr. Anderson was once a prominent member of WWE and seemed bound for greatness in said-organization. Here, Mr. Kennedy handles himself admirably against the Showstopper. Of course, Shawn never knew how to have a bad match, so it's only natural that this forgotten encounter be a physical, aggressive treat for fans. Unusual to see Shawn working on his opponent's arm throughout, but it makes for a nice change of story. (8/10)

Winner gets a WWE Championship Match at Royal Rumble
Triple H vs. Jeff Hardy
This is where the wheels were set in motion for the Charismatic Enigma's entry into the main-event scene. The (then) Intercontinental Champion locked horns with the Game in what initially looks set to be a trademark Triple H burial, but halfway-through things change into a fairly-even encounter. Helmsley and Hardy would have more exciting collisions later on, but this is still a solid-affair, with a really surprising clean finish. (8/10)

Finlay (w/Hornswoggle) vs. The Great Khali (w/Ranjin Singh)
I hate Khali, I hated the whole stupid `Hornswoggle-is-Vince's-son' storyline and I knew beforehand this bout was just gonna be rubbish. The only good thing about this filler is Finlay, whose great technical skills compensate for Khali's dire efforts. Oh well, at least the finish is entertaining. (3/10)

WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton (Champion) vs. Chris Jericho
Y2J was back, and like everyone else, I couldn't be happier! Excited to see him challenge Orton for the WWE Title, I sat back and enjoyed a tussle that could've benefitted from a faster pace. Still, there is some great wrestling on display from two elite athletes and the result is very satisfying. Could've done without the JBL ending, though. (8/10)

WWE Women's Championship Match
Beth Phoenix (Champion) vs. Mickie James
Quality women's match from two of the best Divas to ever set foot in a WWE ring. They barely have five minutes, yet still manage to put on a solid title match with the right lady going over. Great moves from both, but not as memorable as their match from London in April 2008. (6/10)

Triple Threat World Heavyweight Championship Match
Batista (Champion) vs. Edge vs. The Undertaker
SmackDown main-events in what is the best built-up match on the card. Edge's shocking return from Survivor Series and his beef with Batista and Taker - now inserted into THEIR legendary rivalry - made for a very compelling triple threat. SmackDown's cream of the crop collided in a strong, story-filled encounter that develops the three-way feud in great style. The intriguing final moments and heelish ending make this worthy watching. Like the show itself, this may not be essential, but it's certainly worth checking out.

Only one special-feature on the disc, but it's definitely a nice little gem. A highlight segment from Raw's 15th Anniversary Special, with Vince McMahon announcing the `greatest superstar in Raw History'...with Mankind, the Undertaker and Stone Cold Steve Austin saying otherwise! Splendid entertainment!

Armageddon 2007 isn't anything truly special, but there's a lot of great wrestling action to check out. Worth a watch. More so now that it can be picked up for a bargain!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2011
WWE Armageddon 2007 Match Ratings:

1. MVP vs Rey Mysterio (WWE United States Championship) 4/5

What a great opening match this was with Rey Mysterio being very impressive on wanting to show the WWE fans on why he wanted to become the WWE United States Champion. Mysterio was that close of living the dream until MVP decided to get himself counted out of the match, though he did receive the 619 after the match was over.

2. CM Punk & Kane vs Mark Henry & Big Daddy V w Matt Striker 3/5

Not a bad tag team match and it was more of Big Daddy V and Mark Henry dominating the whole match and they were the true deserved winners of the match. The match did have a good ending of CM Punk doing some good kicks and moves but fell to the wrath of Big Daddy V's huge Samoan drop.

3. Shawn Michaels vs Mr Kennedy 4/5

This was a great match and was good to see the cocky Mr Kennedy going up against the legend known as Shawn Michaels. Was quite surprised to see Michaels dominating most of the match as Kennedy's hand was playing up and he did manage to dominate some of the match and I did love the finish of a fantastic Sweet Chin Music.

4. Jeff Hardy vs Triple H (Winner gets WWE Championship opportunity) 3/5

This was a good match and got to say that it was pleasing to see Jeff Hardy to pick up the victory and to go onto the Royal Rumble to face the WWE Champion. It was pretty much back and forth action match and was just shocked on the outcome of the match, but both men respected each other and Triple H was glad to see Hardy putting up a fight.

5. Finlay vs Great Khali 2/5

Ok match and to be honest not the best match of the night as I have never been a huge fan of the Khali. It was a watchable match but nothing to special.

6. Chris Jericho vs Randy Orton (WWE Championship) 4/5

A great one on one match for the WWE Championship and the best match of the night for me. I loved how the fans were getting into this match and it was great to see Chris Jericho back on pay-per-view. Just a shame that a pissed off JBL came into the ring to ruin on where we could have seen a new WWE Champion by the name of Chris Jericho, but it didn't as Randy Orton retained his WWE Championship, though overall it was a great match.

7. Mickie James vs Beth Phoenix (WWE Women's Championship) 3/5

Not a bad divas match for the WWE Women's Championship and this match really showed how good a divas match can be. The ending of this match involved Beth Phoenix performing her finisher on Mickie James to retain her WWE Women's Championship.

8. Batista vs Edge vs Undertaker (Triple Threat for World Heavyweight Championship) 4/5

A very great triple threat main event for the World Heavyweight Championship. I thought that all three superstars performed very well in the match, though Batista and Undertaker were doing all the work and the Rated R Superstar Edge picked up the pieces by pinning the Animal Batista to become the new World Heavyweight Champion.

Overall WWE Armageddon 2007 is a wonderful finale of a pay-per-view to end the year of 2007. I would say that it is a must for all you collectors of WWE DVDs and it a pay-per-view i'd watch again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
HERE WE GO

United States Championship Match
MVP vs. Rey Mysterio 3.5/5

CM Punk & Kane vs. Big Daddy V & Mark Henry 3.5/5

Shawn Michaels vs. Mr. Kennedy 3.5/5

Triple H vs. Jeff Hardy 3/5

Finlay vs. The Great Khali 2.5/5

WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton vs. Chris Jericho 3.5/5

Women's Championship
Mickie James vs. Beth Phoenix 3/5

Triple Threat Match for the World Heavyweight Championship
Edge vs. The Undertaker vs. Batista 3/5
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
After a very successful and entertaining WWE Survivor Series, we now come to a fantastic WWE pay-per-view that just had amazing quality of matches.

Shawn Michaels and Mr Kennedy stole the show in my opinion with their amazing one on one match up that was in the mid card of the show.

Jeff Hardy took on Triple H in a battle to determine the number one contender for the WWE Championship.

Randy Orton and Chris Jericho had a good battle over the WWE Championship, whilst the World Heavyweight Championship was contested in a triple threat involving Edge, Batista and The Undertaker which finished off the show with a shocker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2008
It appears that i am the first to review this so i hope i can set a trend here and help others buy this event or avoid,you aint read my review yet,hold your horses,the final event of 2007 is armaggedon and all three brands took part to create what was essentially a good event,scratch that it was a very good event.
The event opened with the united states title going up for grabs,the champ MVP going up against the more than capable rey mysterio.This match was very good,lots of ability,pretty technical and on the money precision,granted there was a cowards ending but this was a fine opener.
Next up was a tag team match between cm punk and kane versus mark henry and big daddy v,this match was actually good,many would look at it and see 3 big bruisers and one lightweight contestant and think this would be an awkward,trying to move mountains kinda match but this was good and the match worked so there you go,i guess we cant always predict a match and how it goes then.
Shawn michaels was pitted against mr kennedy next,this was a good match,i think we all knew it would be,kennedy played his injured hand part to perfection and adapted his style well and hbk gave an almost flawless performance as usual,these two share in ring chemistry and this led to a good match yet again.
Next up was a match where the winner got title shot at the royal rumble,this match doesnt sit comfortably with me,in a way triple h was a bit of a rollover,almost passing the torch to jeff hardy,willing him on to beat him,to get meaner and forget their friendship,i didnt like that element,as far as the match goes,it was ok but not a classic by any means.
Finlay and the great khali were up next in a match that was ok but didnt blow my eyes out of the sockets,this feud didnt last long and it is clear why and hornswoggle was getting too much exposure at this juncture and was unsettling the apple cart in my opinion.
The WWE championship was contested next,randy orton as champ went up against chris jericho,jericho was spoon fed this opportunity,rarely before has a man come back to the WWE,four weeks prior to this in fact and been given so much so soon,a title shot in this case,this match was ok but was much ado about nothing in the end,jbl got involved which was the best thing mainly,not a mind keeper in truth but plenty of stuff happened.
The WWE womans title was up next,the champ beth phoenix vs mickie james,this was ok,beth is some force and she is nice the eye as well and she did her best to beat the highlights out of mickie james hair,ok.
The main event was up next for the world heavyweight title and was a triple threat match,the champ batista defended it against the undertaker and edge,this was always gonna be a good match,we all knew it and it was,plenty of differing techniques were brought to the fore,and lots of aggression and activity meant that this was a great main event,the major brothers got involved which confused the issue and meant that there was shocks in store,a good main event and a great way to close 2007.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
This looks very good!Can't wait to watch the entire event!Keep WWE dvds at low prices Amazon.co.uk!Many Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2009
Very nice PPV. Big names, big matches, big returnn and even a big surprise. One of the attractions of the year, undoubtedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
I hear a lot of noise of wrestling "fans" today constantly complaining about how rubbish the product is nowadays. I say to those people to look no further than this event as the 2007 edition of Armageddon shows that the WWE still puts on 1st class shows.

UNITED STATES CHAMPIONSHIP
MVP vs Rey Mysterio - 8/10. Very entertaining opener.

CM Punk and Kane vs Big Daddy V and MArk Henry - 6/10. Not a classic by any means but enjoyable nevertheless.

Shawn Michaels vs Mr Kennedy - 8/10. These 2 work very well together.

HHH vs Jeff Hardy - 8/10. Another great match with a great finish

The Great Khali vs Finlay - 6/10. Better than you would think.

WWE CHAMPIONSHIP
Randy Orton vs Chris Jericho - 8/10. A great title defense. I'm a big fan of Orton and it was great to see Jericho back in the ring.

WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP
Edge vs Undertaker vs Batista - 9/10. My favourite of the night. A really exciting triple threat. All three athletes performed well and their were some very creative moments.

So overall I would recommend Armageddon 2007 to any wrestling fan. Not a bad match on the enitre card and some great ones on top of that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
this was a present and was thoroughly enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)