Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
103
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.74+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2017
I had this on DVD in widescreen and the transfer was a little disappointing. I had debated on upgrading to the Blu release by Mediumrare and decided to take the bite as the price was nice. This HD release is worth the upgrade, in my opinion. It has better color and detail while keeping the original ratio. The press materials is a nice extra and it keeps the commentary by Sargent. While not reference quality (a bit soft and out of focus at times but that may be the print), it's a good transfer of a 70s classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Classic science fiction tale about the United States attempting to end war by creating a super intelligent computer. The computer is put in charge of all the nation's nuclear weapons.

Love this film as its the old story of a monster becoming smarter than its master . Films like The Matrix and The Terminator have been inspired by this film. Science fiction does not have to be about special effects and CGI, it can just be about ideas and a great story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
I'd give the picture quality 3.5-4/5. Only a little bit of the dreaded 'white crayon' edge enhancement has crept in, but it's not distracting. Has a bit of a 'brown' look about it, especially in the skin tones, which a lot of these late sixties films tend to have, but it's a pretty pleasing picture overall. Great film, more grim than I remember. Should be better known. Sounds perfectly fine. Good upgrade over older versions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
A very overlooked sci-fi classic.
Nice HD transfer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Excellent picture quality (great to see it in the correct/original aspect ratio).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
Sometime in the early 80s (possibly 1983) BBC2 ran a season of sci-fi films, which were shown on Tuesdays (or possibly Wednesdays) around tea time. I remember watching "War Of The Worlds" (starring Gene Barry & Ann Robinson) and "The Day The Earth Stood Still" (Michael Rennie and Patricia Neal, who has sadly just passed away) among many others, including "Colossus: The Forbin Project". To my knowledge it was never shown on television again after BBC2's season of sci-fi films. Maybe Alex Cox presented it on Moviedrome one year but if he did then I must have been on holiday! Nevertheless this obscure film made a strong impression on me. I wasn't even 10 years old and yet this very talky, cerebral and slow paced drama remained in my thoughts for years after. But no one else seemed to know anything about it. After a while I even began to consider that I had dreamed it up until John Brosnan mentioned it in his fantastic book "The Primal Screen" (1991). I was relieved to discover that the film wasn't a figment of my imagination. Once I started reading the synopsis the film came flooding back to me. A few years ago I purchased it on DVD in the only version that was then available - a dreadful pan and scan edition. At least it was cheap!

I quickly overlooked the terrible picture and thoroughly enjoyed watching the film again after such a long time. Eric Braeden is superb as the genius inventor/father of Colossus. He is charming, witty, cool and handsome - not your typical movie scientist. (Braeden would go on to play another scientist in "Escape From The Planet Of The Apes" but using the intelligence, charm, logic and good looks of Forbin to create a far more chilling and cold-blooded character. Such a shame that this versatile actor has been so woefully under used. He made 2 excellent appearances in "Mission: Impossible" in the 1960s, both of which showcase his ability to be charming and a total bastard). The supporting cast in "Colossus" fared a little better and will be familiar to most viewers. Susan Clark is excellent as Forbin's assistant, Dr Cleo Malcolm, before plot developments transform her into Forbin's lover. This could have been crude but her sudden change from scientist to love interest is handled with wit and humour. Look carefully and you'll also spot among the supporting cast Marion Ross, who went on to play Mrs Cunningham in "Happy Days", Georg Stanford Brown (veteran of many films and television shows, including "Roots", formerly married to Tyne Daly) and Martin Brooks, who will be familiar to fans of "The Six Million Dollar Man" and "Bionic Woman" as the third actor to play Dr Rudy Wells). Best of all is Gordon Pinsent as the American President. Pinsent is best known outside Canada for his recurring role as Benton Fraser's father in "Due South". His President is intelligent and shrewd as well as decisive.

I re-purchased "Colossus" on DVD when the picture was finally upgraded to 16:9 so it was a pleasure to finally see the whole film. This new edition is well priced and also includes a commentary by veteran director Joseph Sargent, who recalls the making of the film with a great deal of affection. Some of his revelations beggar belief - was Susan Clark really wearing a body suit during the nude scenes? Maybe that explains why BBC2 didn't cut these scenes when the film was broadcast because I definitely remember being a little shocked by the nudity the first time I saw the film, especially as it was being shown at tea time.

The film is not without flaws. It is slow, the dialogue banal and much of the science is laughable in light of today's technology. Dated as it is, the film remains a charming time capsule of the Cold War era and the beginning of the computer age. The film's excitement and suspense is largely down to how the super computer achieves its dominance over mankind. For me the film retains its power by focusing on how Forbin the inventor/father is meticulously imprisoned by his creation - physically and mentally. Colossus is a terrifying villain and its takeover of the world is believable and complete. The film makers bravely stay faithful to the source novel by DF Jones so there is no pat happy ending, despite Colossus' promise of a new era of peace. A gem of a movie.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2006
I cannot recommend this film enough. It is a gripping, well crafted and intelligent tale that is as relevant today as it was almost forty years ago.

The supercomputer 'Colossus' is activated, bringing all of the United States' nuclear arsenal under its control. Shortly after coming on line, Colossus detects the Russian's very own supercomputer, named Guardian.

As the two computers begin to 'communicate' and learn at an alarming rate, the American and Russian governments attempt to sever contact. As a result Colossus launches a missile attack against Russia and demands that its creator, Dr. Charles Forbin be put under its surveillance.

As Forbin plots to destroy his creation, Colossus makes its plans for the future of the human race...

The conclusion of "Colossus" is as chilling as it is unfogettable. I wonder if James Cameron was influenced by this movie (along with "Westworld") when he came up with the concept for "The Terminator"?

My only gripe is not with the film itself but with the DVD. For some incomprehensible reason, the pan and scan format is still popular with the American market. Although it doesn't ruin the viewing experience too much, it would have been great to have seen this in its proper widescreen format.

In the age of widescreen televisions and anamorphic widescreen DVD transfers there really is no excuse!

Regardless, I urge you to buy this film, it is simply too good to slip under the radar and thus it gets full marks.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I had not seen this film for many years - possibly since a TV screening in the late 1970s. I wanted to see it again and I have to say that this blu ray did not disappoint.

The film is presented in 1080p and the print is pristine. Although not a blockbuster, Universal's print is free of dust and scratches and colours are represented very well with no bleed. The sound won't test your Dolby Atmos speakers but what is there is clear and the dialogue is crisp and nicely spaced. The original 21:9 ratio is preserved.

Nerds like me among you will recognise a whole raft of Six Million Dollar Man sound effects in the opening credits as we see the interior of the computer complex that becomes a character in it's own right during the story.

Colossus can be seen as a forebear of Skynet in that it is a super computer that gains self awareness, and the threat here is that man has created a system that cannot be penetrated or subverted once it begins to go wrong. Whilst there is a certain naivety in the plot it is presented interestingly and a genuine threat builds up through its 99 minutes. Although I wont give away the plot I was very happy to see that there is no "Hollywood" ending with superfluous scenes tagged on at the film's climax.

If you like a more cerebral "Andromeda Strain" type thriller then this is the film for you. If you like a Terminator or Independence Day style crash bang wallop film then save your money. I sit in the former of these two groups and I am glad I bought this film which was delivered in the Same Day service now offered to Prime members.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse