Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Colossus - The Forbin Project [1970] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.69+ £2.80 shipping


on 1 June 2017
Classic science fiction tale about the United States attempting to end war by creating a super intelligent computer. The computer is put in charge of all the nation's nuclear weapons.

Love this film as its the old story of a monster becoming smarter than its master . Films like The Matrix and The Terminator have been inspired by this film. Science fiction does not have to be about special effects and CGI, it can just be about ideas and a great story.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Excellent picture quality (great to see it in the correct/original aspect ratio).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2006
I cannot recommend this film enough. It is a gripping, well crafted and intelligent tale that is as relevant today as it was almost forty years ago.

The supercomputer 'Colossus' is activated, bringing all of the United States' nuclear arsenal under its control. Shortly after coming on line, Colossus detects the Russian's very own supercomputer, named Guardian.

As the two computers begin to 'communicate' and learn at an alarming rate, the American and Russian governments attempt to sever contact. As a result Colossus launches a missile attack against Russia and demands that its creator, Dr. Charles Forbin be put under its surveillance.

As Forbin plots to destroy his creation, Colossus makes its plans for the future of the human race...

The conclusion of "Colossus" is as chilling as it is unfogettable. I wonder if James Cameron was influenced by this movie (along with "Westworld") when he came up with the concept for "The Terminator"?

My only gripe is not with the film itself but with the DVD. For some incomprehensible reason, the pan and scan format is still popular with the American market. Although it doesn't ruin the viewing experience too much, it would have been great to have seen this in its proper widescreen format.

In the age of widescreen televisions and anamorphic widescreen DVD transfers there really is no excuse!

Regardless, I urge you to buy this film, it is simply too good to slip under the radar and thus it gets full marks.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I had not seen this film for many years - possibly since a TV screening in the late 1970s. I wanted to see it again and I have to say that this blu ray did not disappoint.

The film is presented in 1080p and the print is pristine. Although not a blockbuster, Universal's print is free of dust and scratches and colours are represented very well with no bleed. The sound won't test your Dolby Atmos speakers but what is there is clear and the dialogue is crisp and nicely spaced. The original 21:9 ratio is preserved.

Nerds like me among you will recognise a whole raft of Six Million Dollar Man sound effects in the opening credits as we see the interior of the computer complex that becomes a character in it's own right during the story.

Colossus can be seen as a forebear of Skynet in that it is a super computer that gains self awareness, and the threat here is that man has created a system that cannot be penetrated or subverted once it begins to go wrong. Whilst there is a certain naivety in the plot it is presented interestingly and a genuine threat builds up through its 99 minutes. Although I wont give away the plot I was very happy to see that there is no "Hollywood" ending with superfluous scenes tagged on at the film's climax.

If you like a more cerebral "Andromeda Strain" type thriller then this is the film for you. If you like a Terminator or Independence Day style crash bang wallop film then save your money. I sit in the former of these two groups and I am glad I bought this film which was delivered in the Same Day service now offered to Prime members.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
This review is for the Special Edition Blu-Ray + DVD combo. Finally a pristine transfer in widescreen on Blu-Ray!
If you love this movie as much as I do, or you are simply curious to see it, buy this edition ONLY!!!
FYI this is a Region B German release in German or English language so proceed accordingly.
Extras included:
Photo gallery
"Trailers from Hell" Colossus segment hosted by John Landis, very cool.
2nd Photo gallery of the "original colossus" - the actual WWII computer which decoded a German cipher
"The Real Colossus" - actual footage of that WWII computer, but with no sound
A short 4 min pan&scan clip of the movie
2 screens of background info in German for the film, again silent.
That's about it. Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
I had this on DVD in widescreen and the transfer was a little disappointing. I had debated on upgrading to the Blu release by Mediumrare and decided to take the bite as the price was nice. This HD release is worth the upgrade, in my opinion. It has better color and detail while keeping the original ratio. The press materials is a nice extra and it keeps the commentary by Sargent. While not reference quality (a bit soft and out of focus at times but that may be the print), it's a good transfer of a 70s classic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2016
A brilliant film about the dangers of a.i. , so far ahead of its time , classic .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
I'd give the picture quality 3.5-4/5. Only a little bit of the dreaded 'white crayon' edge enhancement has crept in, but it's not distracting. Has a bit of a 'brown' look about it, especially in the skin tones, which a lot of these late sixties films tend to have, but it's a pretty pleasing picture overall. Great film, more grim than I remember. Should be better known. Sounds perfectly fine. Good upgrade over older versions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
Great science fiction movie which is uncut and widescreen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
For its time this film is excellent. Kept wondering though why they didn't just pull out the plug!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse