Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2008
As always Floyd is at his best talking about and drinking wine. It's funny to see him tasting Chablis at the river bank there knowing that we ourselves held a picknick there. Hopefully 'Floyd On France' will be released soon too!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
I'll make no secret of the fact I was a fan of Keith Floyd!
I know all about the alcohol, women, moods, etc etc…..

But…... he was a charismatic, genuine person, who enjoyed his booze and food and knew just how to create the sense of anticipation of a great meal or a bottle of good wine.

I think the world is a lesser place without him.

PS The DVD is informative, fun and a really good tour of France - Try it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Perfect addition to the DVD library of Floyd afficionados. The contents were not explained on Amazon, but I had seen a couple of TV programmes, so knew more or less what it was about. I would have liked to have had the titles of each of the episodes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Great fun, and informative. Grand to see Floyd as he memorably was. The basic questions about wine are answered well by Floyd and his wine expert friend Jonathan Pedley, the conversations are enjoyable, and the French scenery lovely. It was good to see Floyd dealing with French food again, albeit in short bursts, and one longs for a release of the "Floyd on France" series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
An oldie but a goodie! Having recently relocated to France, thought this might be a lighthearted way to upskill the local wine knowledge. Informative, interesting, easy viewing and a bit of fun! Perfect!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Saw the programmes by chance on a cookery chanel and had to have it.
Again classic Floyd slurping his way around the wine regions of France accompanied by a wine expert who brought alive the mystique of the wine world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2008
The series is informative and very entertaining. Great fun to watch with friends while drinking the episode wines.

Minus 2 stars to emphasize the bad video quality. It looks like a novice video editor has spent a few minutes converting it into a format for distribution. Low resolution and the first episode had some footage cut out, seemingly by accident since it is in the middle of Floyd preparing a dish.

Well done Floyd but get a new video editor for future projects.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2011
I bought this as a Christmas present, as I have bought other Keith Floyd DVD's as Christmas pressies because in general you just can't go wrong with ol' Floydy; he was always entertaining and had something interesting to say about whatever he was interested in. This series is no different. It gives a nice, but brief, overview of the different wine-producing regions in France, whilst at the same time encouraging you to drink some of the very wines presented each week.

As well as Keith Floyd, there is an expert on French wine in the show, called Jonathan Pedley, who is always called 'JP' by Keith Floyd. This guy makes an interesting counterpoint to Floyd's presentation, as Jonathan knows what he's talking about, whereas I suspect that if something had alcohol in it of one form or another, Floydy would probably give it a try! Not only for lovers of wine, this program is also a wonderful snapshot album of the absolutely beautiful country of France; there are so many good things about this series, its hard to really say what. And, I might add, that if you are a fan of Keith Floyd, then I think that you will certainly enjoy this series a whole lot, as I have.

One small criticism, which can't be helped at all really; each show, and there are eight of them on the DVD, lasts sometimes only 25 minutes each, and occasionally a little less. It would have been much nicer if when they were making the series to realise that we would have all liked to see a lot more Floydy, and a lot more France too! Nevermind, can't be helped.

To sum up, if you like Floyd, France and French wine, I think you will love this series as I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
Keith Floyd was the father of modern TV chefs, probably the first one to do the alfresco cooking shows; and he was at his best when he was improvising, all the dialogue and one suspects quite a lot of the recipes. So this series, which clearly sets out to instruct and educate does not show him at his best. At the beginning he is an interesting foil to the resident wine expert, but his banter is pretty much the same in each program and quickly becomes predictable and a little tiresome. The programs also contains cooking demonstrations of classic French regional dishes, Floyd is much more at home here, but his interpretation of some of the dishes would be rather surprising to the locals and the DVD seems to have been very badly edited for some of the cooking scenes. On several occasions we jump from the presentation of the ingredients to the finished dish with almost no cooking in-between. To my mind his best series was his first, Floyd on fish, but that does not seem to be available on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Even a teetotal Franco-file would love this. Purchased for a friends 50th birthday we are confident that it will keep him amused until his retirement..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)