Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2010
An incredibly pukka Floyd embarks on a culinary expedition around Italy. The scenery and locations are wonderful and the food is superb but the irritating thing about Our Keith is that he really doesn't interact with the Italians. His takes on Italian dishes are, well, interesting but all too English and sometimes too patronizing for my liking. This is a very interesting contrast to Jamie Oliver's Italian Adventure, which I think is the better of the two series. Both Jamie and Floyd visit Marittimo, a small island off the west coast of Sicily, the difference is gob-smacking: the contrast between the two generations of chefs could not be more painfully obvious. Despite all that, Floyd is always good fun and I enjoyed the way the series showcased some little-known but beautiful parts of Italy and I might even forgive him for ignoring Italy's best bit - my old stomping ground of Naples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Nostalgic series.Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
I LIKE THE ITEM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2010
This is my favourite Floyd series, he seems to be loving every minute. Visually it's a treat, Italy always looks good and the food looks scrumptious. But the down side is that the actual screen resolution is atrocious. I think they could have fitted the entire series onto a tenth of a disk with this kind of low standard. Honestly, YouTube has better quality! It looks like someone's transferred a fifth generation video copy onto a pc and hoped for the best. Why? There's an irritating ever present pixellation which takes the edge off the focus and makes the movement look very strange at times, especially if the camera is fairly close to a dish ("a loving close up" as Floyd would say) and moves along it. The Venice episode suffers for this especially, but they're all like it. Maybe this should be seen on a small screen, like a portable dvd player size? One day we'll have a decent release of Floyd from all of his many series and we won't have to choose from just the same old half a dozen, and they'll be treated properly. But until then, I'll settle for watching this by sitting a very long way back from the tv!
Five stars for Floyd, and absolutely no stars for the lazy transfer and shameful image quality.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
The quality isn't great but I still give this five stars because it brings back so many great memories. There will only be one Keith and to all you Gastronauts out there: buy it. There was only one Keith and only Floyd On Italy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
These dvd's are fun and enjoyable and it is tempting to give them 5 stars for being endearing. But the quality of the production is so bad it would be dishonest. The continuity is laughable, there are sometimes bits missing and as they only did everything once, if they goofed you see it. There are some funny bits when Floyd is supervised by (two different occasions) some old dragon of a cook/housewife who is chuntering away in the background in French "argh no, not like that" and basically saying that Floyd is doing it all wrong. Still he takes it on the chin and carries on. As he is clearly pissed a significant part of the time, his technique is visibly sloppy, but don't let that put you off. In fact the amateurishness is a major part of the charm, so buy and watch, but don't expect a quality BBC cooking series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Liked it alot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
I always liked Keith Floyd, and believe that he did much to involve otherwise uninvolved people in the business of cooking. His pace and slightly wacky and amusing presentation are not only about cooking, but having fun, too, and it is good to make his acquaintance again. A delight to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Have enjoyed Keith Floyd for years and now have bought this DVD will be buying more of this mans travels and cookery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Loved it, great fun and a perfect combination of Keith Floyd's cookery skills and stunning Italian countryside
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)