Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Best Of Dr. John, The: The Night Tripper
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 July 2007
This is an excellent compilation of Dr John, that makes a perfect introduction to the mans many talents. As producer, guitarist, pianist, writer, voodoo rock star and Jazz and Blues musician you are bound to find something you like here.

You want to hear the Piano playing that inspired Jools Holland? Listen to the 'Honey Dripper' from the marvellous solo Piano album 'Dr John plays Mac Rebennack'. His early 70's material (mainly produced by Allen Toussaint) is well represented by 'Right Place Wrong Time', 'Such A Night', 'Iko Iko', 'Qualified', What Comes Around', 'Mos' Scocious' and of course a cover of Professor Longhair's 'Tipitina' (another chance to hear his Piano skills).

Some of the later material like 'Makin' Whoopee!' with Rickie Lee Jones, is a little too smooth for my taste. This track is a swinging big band affair, its still good don't get me wrong, but all the rough edges have gone. However, modern production techniques can't hide Dr Johns singing voice which will not be to everybodies taste - given time you will get used to it.

Theres a nice 4 page booklet with the CD which gives you a mini biography of the artist. In a way those 4 pages are like this CD. Its just an overview. There is or was a better compilation available (The Dr John Anthology) and in truth some of his albums (like ...plays Mac Rebennack) should be in your collection anyway. But this is a fine way to find out which Dr John you want buy into.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Excellent album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2002
authough this is a good album with some real classics on it, i can't help but feel that several tracks on here are just shoved on to fill up space, when there's plenty of other works by Dr. John that could be in there place which are arguably much better. but having said that the good tracks on here are really outstanding, and this CD is a great demonstration of Dr. John's own unique style.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2002
This album is a good introduction to the world of Dr John for anyone who is developing an interest, it'll draw you in and make you curious to hear more from this Blues master. Existing fans need not bother much however as they will probably have these tunes on other albums. If you are wondering if the music of Dr John is for you, drawn as I was by his gravelly tones and funky piano then I would recommend buying this album and using it as a tool to decide whether or not to take your interest further.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
In the early 70's I had a few of his LP's but I didn't really enjoy the music on this CD....my musical tastes must have changed,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
A good album with a selection from Dr John's earlier albums. A little bit deceptive calling the album The Best of the Night Tripper, as Dr John dropped the Night Tripper bit after the fourth album, and this collection has songs after that. I was only interested in the Night Tripper era and those are represented by the whole of the 1st album Gris Gris, four tracks from the Babylon, nothing from Remedies and the whole of Sun, Moon & Herbs. Plus tracks from Gumbo and other later albums. The track listing is shown wrong here CD finishes with Familiar Reality-Opening and the second CD starts with Pots on the Fiyo. That is a pain as half of Sun, Moon & Herbs is on the first CD and the other half on the second. Why didn't they put Gris Gris and Sun Moon & Herbs on the first CD and four tracks from Babylon of the second CD? Still worth buying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
This is a quite brilliant 2CD compilation at an astounding price. This compilation covers the Doctor's years on Atlantic records ATCO subsidary from the swampy voodoo of 'Gris Gris' to the second-line New Orleans funk of 'Desitively Bonaroo'. The sound is pin-sharp sounding remastered to me which is a boon since some of the original CD issues of the albums covered by this compilation date from the early '90s and as a result sound a bit 'thin' in comparison. Regarding the music the most significant observation is that the 1st CD contains the ENTIRETY (!) of Dr. John's '68 masterpiece, 'Gris Gris' which suffice to say is some of the eeriest yet accessible music ever made. In addition the 1st CD contains other choice tracks from the Doctor's late 60's / early 70's "voodoo" phase taking songs from 'Babylon' and 'Sun, Moon & Herbs' (in the latter instance the whole album split over CD1 & CD2) though curiously nothing from 'Remedies' (and therefore sadly does not include one of my favorites the joyous "Mardi Gras Day"). The selections are pretty solid though obviously you can nit-pick about the exact picks, for example I'd like to have seen space for "Glowin'" which is my favorite track from 'Babylon' but space limitations and the fact that all of 'Gris Gris' and 'Sun, Moon & Herbs' are here here makes omissions such as these forgiveable. The second CD is pure gold containing the balance of 'Sun, Moon & Herbs' and an intelligent selection of tracks from Dr. John's New Orleans roots excavation "Gumbo" (6 tracks) and the Doctor's two New Orleans funk classics; "In The Right Place" (6 tracks) and "Desitively Bonaroo" (6 tracks). No complaints about any of the selections here and the latter half of CD2 contains some of the funkiest music ever laid down in the 1970's (he was being produced by Allen Toussaint and backed up by the Meters at the time which should be recommendation enough!). Therefore in conclusion 2+ hours of some of the best (and original) music of the late '60s / early '70s for under a fiver you'd be a fool to pass on this one.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
Didn't like this. I got it because I thought (wrongly) that it had a song I liked on it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
A really rich and complete collection of Dr John first twenty years, before some fantastic stuff he did in the following twenty, like Going back to New Orleans and Locked Down, or the tribute to Satchmo. A very inspiring and various mix of the already various music from New Orleans, from ballads to voodoo, from folk to swing and jazz and honky tonk and rock plus some vaudeville and theatrical-like experiments, that cover a wide range of colors and moods, from ease to hard, from dreams to nightmares, from irony to drama.
A lot of stuff that will puts you right in the middle of a magical, funny, entertaining yet sometimes mysterious and dark musician.
My favourite are:
Mama Roux, Jump Sturdy, Babylon, Twilight Zone, Black John The Conquerer, Zuzu Mamou, Iko Iko (maybe the best version of the most representetive song from New Orleans), Somebody Changed The Lock (irresistible), Tipitina (a classic, so nice here), Huey Piano Smith Medley, Right Place Wrong Time, Such A Night (wish it was the live version from The Last Waltz, even better than this), Destively Bonaroo
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)