Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
12
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2014
This film which was made some years ago is somewhat prophetic of what we have had revealed in the past year.
It is a wonderful plot which is alarmingly too real for comfort.
Loved the scenery shots around Rome, the mountains and also the Island scenes.
Great climax if not a little sad and too factual for ones liking.
I fully recommend this movie for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
well its a thinker this one.I watched a program on tv which said over 280,000 people were listened in to every day in this country alone on thier mobile phones.That made me paranoid allright,and this story revolves around a young women who finds a stolen briefcase,speaking about it she accidently uses a password not knowing this word will trigger off an instant alarm bell, "what does she know".A secret American [under wraps} organisation set out at whatever the cost to recover thier lost property.Enter Michael parks giving a stirring performance ,to try and find the women at all costs but not harm,but save her from the agents.ITs a cat and mouse game trying to stay one step in front of the agency,its high=tech stuff and shows the danger involved which is total saterlight control over what we do on our phones --remember that famous one liner by pink floyd from the album " The wall " is there anybody out there" well "Yes there is"
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
I watched this purely from the perspective of being a Michael Parks fan. Parks has been in quite a few bad films (though he's never bad in them), but this certainly isn't one of them and it in fact stands out as one of the better films in his later career, both for his performance and its quality all round.

The terrifying nature of the government's eavesdropping ability is exercised to great use. Parks plays quaint and good intentioned - something I haven't really seen him do before - and does it well. It's well directed and very dramatically involving throughout. Five stars is a bit of a stretch I feel, but I can see where other reviewers are coming from.

Either to check out some decent Parks, or just a damn good government cover-up film, this one is certainly worth a look.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 April 2014
In the same way The Man From Earth engages you with its basic premise, The Listening draws you into a world which appears all too plausible. The difference being that The Listening appears to be based on fact rather than conjecture and speculation.

I have very little knowledge of clandestine technological surveillance but recent disclosures by Edward Snowden shows this film to be extremely prescient with its exploration of the illusion of privacy. Although the film presents as 'normal' the spying activities of the US government, what is more chilling is the incursion of a private sector corporation.

The film does have some 'rough edges' to it, but the issues examined are readily apparent. This is an important exploration of the dilemma between privacy and security, and the potentially pervasive influence of large corporations.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
Intriguing movie based on the realities of US spying technology and what it could mean for all of us.
A superb cast headed by Michael Parks (From Dusk to Dawn, Kill Bill, Vol I and Death Proof) who is 'frequently cited by longtime fan Quentin Tarantino as the world's greatest living actor' - he does the quote justice.
The story is about one man's struggle to protect an innocent woman from retributions, as she unknowingly becomes embroiled in the sinister world of international espionage, big business and the NSA. Overall very entertaining, a definate one to watch!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2008
This movie is fantastic, and more realistic than the average viewer would probably be able to fully appreciate. Don't hesitate to buy it, you will want to watch it at least 2 or 3 times, and share it with friends and family alike.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Great Film, it would have been nice to have English subtitles...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Sharp direction can't do anything to compensate for the woeful self-indulgence of this disjointed mess. The plot -- doubtless cobbled together from Wikipedia searches -- is ostensibly about global intelligence-gathering but gets no further than insulting the viewer's own intelligence with its vapid contention that oh gosh golly, defense contractors rule the roost and the world is in danger from them turning rogue. This kind of witlessness doesn't even look good on paper, let alone on screen, and is all the more irritating here because there are always going to be some gullible folks who actually believe what they see on screen -- a dangerous belief, in this case, seeing as how the movie sidetracks them from considering what real governments of every kind do in the people's name as distinct from what an entirely fictitious Joe Bloggs Inc does if it thinks it has lost a bit of junk technology. Saddled with a portentous pseudo-documentary voice-over that serves only to make the movie even more ludicrous than it already is, 'The Listening' remains deaf to reality throughout its running time and about as entertaining as watching paint dry. As to the actor Michael Parks: apparently Quentin Tarantino likes him. So that explains it then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2015
Very entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Had never heard of this film before so I was quite pleased when I viewed it. The technology does not surprise me it`s been available to certain governments for a very long time and in use for a very long time.............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here