Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2010
Having previously used ropes to secure my 82 year old motorcycle in the back of a van I was frustrated by the need to check and adjust them frequently. These tie down straps solved the problem completely. They were easy to fix, easy to adjust, and provided you made sure you read and understood the instructions, they were easy to release.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Some inferior straps are so elastic your load sways all over the place. Not the case with these draper straps because they are excellent. The rest of the ratchet is more than up to the job to.
If you are not sure how to use these or any tie down straps, have a look on you tube for a demo. I would NOT recommend cutting down these or any tie down straps, because they can't be too long, but they could end up being too short. The excess won't stop you winding on if you do the following. You will be folding your strap then feeding it into the ratchet still folded. Thread through the ratchet and leave some poking out the other side (this helps keep the trap in place as you wind on top of it). As long as you achieve at least a couple of winds before things get tight you will be fine. Remember to fold closed to lock you ratchet system for extra security. Now it is Usual to have some/lots of excess strap left over not wound on to ratchet. Just tie this to one side you may need it on another type of job at a later date. To release, put two fingers on the release (one each side of the spring) then straighten out the ratchet arm fully. This will remove the ratchet part of the mechanism, allowing your strap to unwind freely. (If you can remove some of the load tension on the strap before the release, it will release a bit smoother). It is possible safely remove tension one click at a time by using the release to open the arm half way then lever a little (without the release pressed) a little to remove tension on the ratchet then use your thumb to pull down the lock part of the mechanism (also has a spring) then you can back it off one tooth at time and repeat if necessary. It sounds long winded but with a little practice it just takes seconds. It's wise to Practice with these before you really need them for the first time.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
Bought this set with a little trepidation as I was under the impression I would be better off with wider strapping for strength and security when strapping my bike into a van. Turns out these worked fine, tightened up and released easily, didn't slacken or stretch at any point, and just plain worked. Can't argue at the price either, when wider ones are twice the price or thereabouts. We had three motorbikes strapped in the back of a van and no incidents to speak off over 2000 miles of travelling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2012
We bought a soft roof rack[[ASIN:B000WPN6KO X Rack Universal Soft Roof Rack 650 Series] and needed a rope or such to attach our suitcase to it. On brousing we found these tie down straps. They did not become loose despite the terrible weather, this was one of our worries, and performed really well. The only downside was the length but at this price we will buy another set and cut one set smaller.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
I've used these for a few different tasks now and they've proved to be excellent. The straps aren't very wide so some extra padding may be required if you don't want it to cut into whatever you're strapping (motorbike seats, for example, need some extra padding to prevent cutting into the seat material). Used properly there's no need to cut to length and they should loosen off easily.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I bought these to (separately) transport three motorbikes in the back of a van, and they were absolutely fine. There aren't any instructions, in particular releasing them can be a bit tricky, but there are plenty of videos on YouTube that explain how these things work.

I don't have anything else to compare them with, but I didn't have any concerns about the quality of these straps, and after using them on three bikes they still look like new.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 June 2014
For those contemplating buying these, but not familiar with them, watch at least three videos on youtube. The first two should be by DJRockinRob (Ratchet Straps - The Begining), followed by (Ratchet Strap Rigging - The Basics (Safety)) and finally, the video by dablingtime (Ratchet strap use tips and pit falls). Type in "using ratchet straps" to find the videos. From reading reviews, many people are not familiar at all with these very simple but effective devices.

If you will never need the full 4.5m, just cut to a size you are happy with, saves wasting time with the unnecessary excess or worrying about it coming loose. No need either to double the strap before insertion. It's fiddly and pointless.

On first use I found these straps rather disappointing. They tightened up and secured the load beautifully . It was the releasing of the load that was the problem. The straps were murder to pull out even though the ratchet mechanism was in the fully released position. It happened to me at the local skips when it was exceptionally busy! This is simply because of friction in the mechanism.

The answer is to simply oil these ratchets BEFORE use. Fold the mechanism out totally flat and try to turn the barrel with your thumb and forefinger. If it does not turn relatively freely, you will have a problem when it comes to undoing your straps. Liberally oiling the mechanism will solve this problem and save you mega embarrassment and grief (not to mention possible injury) when you get to your destination with your load.

I prefer the heavier duty 2 inch ones which are much more solidly built and less fiddly to operate due to everything being a decent size and thickness to work with. These 25mm versions are a much more economical option as well as being much lighter and easier stored than the 2 inch version. Unless you are securing extreme loads, these will more than suffice.

Compared to rope, the ratchet strap is by far easier to use, safer, less time consuming and more secure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
These straps have now been used on a daily basis on a pick up truck for several months and are still going strong. They are opened and closed several times every day and all the buckles are still working fine and there is not much sign of wear on the straps. I am going to order some more because they are a godsend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
1st time having to buy and use ratchet straps and great and simple to use and did the job of stopping my 'Billy Art' stand blowing away at the quite windy Brands Hatch for the final round of the 2011 British Superbike Championship.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
Made to a high standard very easy to use does what I bought for well.Would say well worth the money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here