Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
259
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
Great film and great action that touched on the dark tone of the original. Graham Mactavish was bloody annoying as a mouthy Brit Mercenary that I wish Sly had pushed in the river at the beginning but other than that top entertainment. The violence was very satisfying and not that dainty, fey, politically correct, PG13 CGI family friendly rubbish we have to put up with today so I recommend it if you're also in a bad mood or had a bad day/week! :) DVD arrived on time so great service as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2008
Rambo literately explodes onto your screen, with body parts flying in all directions and leaving bloody smears all over your TV screen.

Oh, be certain of one thing... Rambo is NOT for the faint hearted.

Unflinchingly violent, and boasting one of the biggest body counts in cinematic history (aparently beating Arnold Schwarzenegger's Commando) this is an extremely violent film from the outset.

The story - if anyone is interested - runs thus. John Rambo is living out a nice, peaceful existence in Thailand, when he is approached by aid workers, who want to get upriver into Burma to offer support an aid to a region ravaged by war and genocide.

Rambo is unhelpful at first, believing that whatever these people do, they can't make a difference, but eventually (and predictably) he changes his mind, dropping off the aid workers.

Weeks later, he is alerted to the fact that the aid workers have failed to return. Rambo joins forces with a group of mercenaries to rescue the aid workers, and perhaps along the way, rid Burma of an unwanted genocidal tyrant.

As mentioned, this film really is violent, more so than any film before it. There are some incredibly brutal scenes here, so those with weak stomachs, or easily upset might not enjoy this film, as it really hammers its message home in a way that is, quite frankly - disturbing. One scene in particular, showing the awful way a whole village - including babies is massacred is probably the most upsetting. This isn't a gung ho, Commando style action film, but feels bone shudderingly realistic, and when Rambo finally does meet out some much needed retribution, it really is thoroughly warranted.

Yep, Stallone's aged - but still - somehow - manages to pull it off. Apparently, another one is on the cards - but somehow, I think it has to stop here.

In summary, a very violent film, worth watching if you're a Rambo fan - but certainly not for the faint hearted.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
It is on another level to the other films. Very gory and bloody. I felt quite queasy at times. But if you can stomach it this is a good film. Stallone is on point as always. All the bad guys get their comeuppance. Great ending too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Wow I had dvd first steelbook Rambo which was 1 hour 27 minutes so I told let's try Rambo Extended Cut on blu ray was longer than dvd version which is 1 hour 39 minutes. When I watched first time on dvd the movie was short and finish quick I think the Extended Cut is much better to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Stallone doing what he does best good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
A Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Quick delivery of first rate item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 June 2016
This is the 4th film in the Rambo series. It concerns John Rambo, an ex-special forces Vietnam War veteran living in rural Thailand, being drawn into a conflict in military-occupied Burma. Somewhat reluctantly, Rambo agrees to transport a group of Christian missionaries into Burma. Although he warns them that it's a war-torn region, and that they'll be at risk, they are determined to go ... Some time later Rambo is approached by another missionary, who tells him that the group was attacked - and are now being held captive by the ruthless and sadistic Burmese authorities. And so Rambo agrees to transport a small band of ex-military men - so that they can rescue the captive missionaries. Only Rambo isn't just someone who transports people on his boat ... once in the war zone, Rambo takes charge of the ex-soldiers and seeks to free the captives. Only things don't go too well. Now a large company of the Burmese army are after them. And so Rambo decides to educate these vicious murderers - teaching them the real meaning of war: unleashing his rage, carnage follows ... as a one-man army, Rambo systematically destroys the enemy.

This is a very violent film. Perhaps the most violent movie ever. While the plot is rather simple, and the storyline somewhat obvious, it's well acted - and directed in a way that treats the subject matter in a serious manner. As a fan of action films, and as someone who enjoys watching Stallone do what he does best, I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was great to see Rambo back in action. And he's simply a brutal force of nature. But he's also a tortured soul, longing to find a way to go back home ... poignantly, he succeeds.

This Blu-ray is the theatrical edition. There's a 'Director's Cut' which includes 7 minutes of additional footage, as well as incorporating alternative material. Personally, I prefer the longer version ... but both a good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
This item came in a regular DVD case and not the bamboo style as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
I've never been a huge fan of the Rambo franchise, although I am a big admirer of the first film. I didn't rush out to watch this installment either. I should have though because it's a great film. Stallone really knows how to make the viewers root for a character, and he has a great gift for timing the arrival of his hero. Whenever the good guys are in the mire, Rambo pops up out of nowhere to pop off the bad guys in weird and wonderful ways (and very violent and bloodthirsty ways they are too). The film doesn't outstay its welcome either, running in at about 90 minutes.
One of the best action films I've seen in recent times.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)