Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
101
3.8 out of 5 stars
The Accidental Husband [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 August 2017
Plays well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
Stopped working half way through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Nice fun light weight comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Good film!
I enjoyed very much !
Good turns and switches !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
I ordered this for a friend and we watched it together; a good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
as described many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 February 2009
I enjoyed this film. I quite liked the premise: a slightly self-involved radio 'love doctor' Emma (Uma Thurman) incurs the ire of a white bread fireman Patrick (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) when the advice she gives to his conflicted fiancee results in her calling off their wedding. Having heard the broadcast which leads to his fiancee dumping him, Patrick becomes obsessed with the doctor... and when a young friend offers him the opportunity to interfere in her life (by hacking in to her records with City Hall to make it appear that she is married to him) he seizes it. In the ensuing comedy of errors and deception, resulting from her attempts to resolve their non-marriage, Emma and Patrick find themselves spending time together... and increasingly attracted to a person neither of them would have expected to spark their interest.

Although the end product is enjoyable enough, the superb cast - including Colin Firth, Isabella Rossellini and Sam Shepard - is under-utilised. There are elements of sub-plot which could have been better developed, including Emma's clearly problematic relationship with her widowed father (Shepard)... and without making the film too lengthy for the genre. At only 82 mins when the end credits start rolling (86 mins total), this is quite a short film.

I do find it irksome that Amazon - most unkindly - use a 5 star scale for customer reviews... but then refer to 3 star reviews as 'critical'. I liked this film... but didn't find it particularly noteworthy i.e. AVERAGE. For most people on a 5 star scale, that's how a 3 star rating would be assessed.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
so um... the male romantic lead is kinda gross and lives in a dingy flat above an Indian restaurant. When his fiancee dumps him (sensible girl) he decides to wreck the life of the radio agony aunt he blames for the break-up. I won't give the plot away but, in an unexpected twist, the Indian restaurant owner's teenage son is a brilliant computer hacker (and the rest of the family are straight out of Bollywood)
Anyway man encourages agony aunt to get so drunk she falls over, and when she passes out he carries her back to his place. She wakes up alone in a stranger's bed with a bump on her head and no memory of what happened. Romantic lead has left a note saying thanks for last night to make her think wrongly that they had sex. To me the whole identity theft and taking a comatose woman back to your flat was super creepy and deeply unpleasant but lots of folk got past that and found the film sweet and charming. So maybe it's just me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 January 2012
The sheer charm and likeability of the three principal leads is what carries "The Accidental Husband".

Funny at times, insightful in places - and Uma - gorgeous as ever. Colin Firth is effortlessly charming too and even has a few moments where he genuinely shines. But its the burly Jeffrey Dean Morgan who steals the show with an everyman Fireman's charm that most women will find hard to resist. And a nice ending too.

An excellent rom-com and a half-decent pick-me-up. You could do a lot worse...you could marry your shrink...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)