Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
26
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2016
The Time Bandit and the Hillstrands are my favourite boat and crew on Deadliest Catch and I loved this book. The story of Andy and Jonathan's childhood in Homer and the route they travelled to get to be Captains of the Time Bandit is engaging and the book gives an insight into the character and personality of both men. Highly recommended if you are a Deadliest Catch fan, and if you have not seen the series this would be a good read anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
If you have watched the Discovery Channels 'Deadliest Catch' show you will be familiar with the authors already. This book is a hugely entertaining read about their lives growing up in Alaska, as well as life on board their crab boat. It is hilarious, informative, touching and superbly well laid out creating a real 'page turner' suspense story which runs through the whole book. It is rude/ crude in parts, the story is told in exactly the way you might imagine it would were you to sit in a bar and have them reminisce over several drinks. I cried tears of laughter at parts of this book, the tales of their japes in their adolescence - their poor mother, she really had her hands full! Buy this for anybody who enjoys the show, but also for anybody who enjoys a good laugh - the only useless thing is the title?!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
Two brothers battling wild seas and living wild lives on the last frontier. Aleutian waves heap up like monsters with awesome power and make a man feel small and vulnerable, knowing that his life can end at any moment. Facing death on a daily basis has affected the Hillstrand brothers' outlook on life. Living in extreme conditions as they have teaches valuable life lessons. If you crave adventure, you might also try The Golden Catch, a novel where the action unfolds in the stormy Aleutian Islands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Being an avid fan of "Deadliest Catch" I had no hesitation in buying this book. What a fabulous read! I continually found myself smiling at their antics, being moved by the sadnesses they encountered, and was utterly disappointed when I reached the last page. I would heartily recommend this book to anyone as it is a book for all seasons and for all people. I doubt very much that anyone would not enjoy it. Well done to the Hillstrand brothers, those fearless and brave fishermen of the High Seas!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
My husband only ever reads on holiday & is terribly fussy about the type of book chosen (yes, chosen!) for him. Being an avid fan of the show I was sure I was on to a winner with this purchase & was not disappointed. He thoroughly enjoyed the humour & storyline & I'll certainly be looking into other books within the series. Super value for money & delivered promptly - just the type of service you expect from Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this book and read it within 3 days. Great to hear about the show from a different angle and to hear about the things the brothers got up to, would definitely recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
As someone who had been involved in boats before had watched programme on tv. Reading the book made so much sense..They must have worked in really atrocious weather
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Showed a completely different side to the brothers and their lives away from the tv series, bring on volume two!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Their mom sure had her hands full with those boys!!! The fact that they are still alive with all their bodyparts still attached is a true miracle! Those Hillstrand boys are wild and funny! If you like them on TV, you will love this book! This book is well worth the money if you are a Deadliest Catch fan!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
Thoroughly good read. Tells a great story, with humour and poignancy. I'm amazed these brothers are still standing, with what they got up to. They really do live life in the fast lane! It tells you enough about their early days to help you understand why they are so close now and why family is so important to them. I really enjoyed it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)