Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2008
I first saw Chris Botti on a DVD concert with Lee Ritenour and was impressed with his "chops", so when this CD arrived I was curious as to what I would hear. This is a remarkable piece of work!! It's apparent from his playing that he has been influenced by Miles, Chet Baker and Roy Hargrove. The tonal quality of his playing is absolutely beautiful sometimes and he sounds as if he is actually using a fluglehorn on some of these tracks. He seems to struggle a bit to "swing". Compare his version of "Look For the Silver Lining" with Chet Baker's on The Last Concert and you can see the difference. Then again if you listen to the track (obviously dedicated to Miles) "It never Entered My Mind" you can imagine Miles standing over his shoulder whispering "Go on Son"!!!!! This is how the instrument should be played--with a love of harmonics and melody that may be equalled but unsurpassed. By the way, from his photo and looks, he may be the next Chet Baker. Long may he continue!!!!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 December 2007
Sony Records presents "ITALIA" --- Prolific trumpeter Chris Botti has personified Italy through his latest release, "Italia" --- Employing outstanding singers Andrea Bocelli, Paula Cole and a posthumous duet with Dean Martin --- the result is truly extraordinary --- On September 25, 2007, Botti released his new album "Italia" --- The album places focus on Botti's Italian roots through such songs as "Ave Maria", "Venice", "Estatè", and the title track "Italia".

Special Footnote, Christopher Botti or Chris Botti (born October 12, 1962) is a trumpeter and composer; born in Portland, Oregon and raised in Corvallis, and spent two years of his childhood growing up in Italy --- His earliest musical influence was his mother, a classically trained pianist and part-time piano teacher --- He plays a Martin Committee Handcraft trumpet made in 1940, and uses a 3 silver plated mouthpiece from Bach made in 1926, having recently retired his 1920 3C Bach mouthpiece --- In college, Botti studied under David Baker and Bill Adam at Indiana University --- As of 2006, Botti has recorded eight solo albums --- His first few efforts could safely be classified as smooth jazz, though critic Alex Henderson argues that Botti's music was a cut above much of the genre; reviewing his 1999 effort, Slowing Down the World, Henderson writes "it would be a major mistake to lump it in with the outright elevator muzak that Kenny G, Dave Koz, Najee, and Richard Elliot were known for ... Botti is capable of a lot more." --- Though still featuring heavy contributions from pop music singers, Botti's more recent albums have found him exploring more traditional jazz territory, with lush orchestral arrangements even earning comparisons to Gil Evans. (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Italia - (Track Listings)

1 Once Upon a Time in America/Deborah's Theme [2:51]
2 Italia - featuring Andrea Bocelli [5:34]
3 Venice [4:31]
4 The Very Thought of You - featuring Paula Cole [4:53]
5 The Mission/Gabriel's Oboe [4:16]
6 I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face - featuring Dean Martin [3:10]
7 Caruso [3:59]
8 The Way You Look Tonight [4:16]
9 It Never Entered My Mind [4:53]
10 Ave Maria [5:46]
11 Estaté [4:06]
12 Turandot/Nessun Dorma [3:50]

Hats off to Sony Records --- strongly recommend this CD to all music lovers and others who need to hear some great classical, Jazz and American Standards --- Chris Botti, please stand up and take a bow for this well deserved rare gem you've given us --- this is a keeper!

Total Time: 73 mins on 16 Tracks ~ Sony Records ~ (9/25/2007)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
I'm quite sure that if you looked up the term "Smooth jazz" in Webster's Dictionary you would surely find a photograph of trumpeter Chris Botti firmly ensconsed. It Never Entered My Mind is only one of the many Botti tunes I have downloaded and I have enjoyed each and every one of them. His sound projects a quality of mellow sexiness and I particularly like those arrangements featured on his ITALIA and NIGHT SESSIONS albums. Their wonderfully romantic and soothing themes are the perfect background for everything from candlelit dinners to an evening alone in front of the fire with a good book.

Move over Miles Davis and Chet Baker.....and Kenny G.....you're not even in the same ball park.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
First heard Deborah's Theme when watching the movie "Once Upon a Time in America" and just loved it. So hearing Chris Botti & orchestra playing it on Classic FM, I sought the track out on Amazon and was delighted to find it on this album "ITALIA" along with other beautiful Italian tunes. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Italia
This is a great CD. Chris Botti is superb on the trumpet, and there are two tracks in particular which make this album outstanding. Firstly, his interpretation of "Deborah's Theme" from Once Upon a Time in the West by Morricone. It is haunting, yet warming, at the same time. Chris' range is phenominal as he hits a note which defies most trumpet players to attempt. His tone is perfect.
Secondly, there is an inspired "duet" with the late Dean Martin. Chris matches Dean's lazy singing with his laid back jazz style in "I've grown accustomed to her face."
This album is worth buying just for those two tracks, but the rest are equally wonderful. Some people might have it playing in the background, but there are numerous places which just make you stop and listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
I chose a 4 star because the trumpet works beautifully for 'Deborah's Theme' but not so well on 'Gabriel's Oboe' which sounds better played on the instrument of the title, so although most of the tracks are very good there are a couple which do not work so well transposed for a trumpet lead but that is only my opinion and everyone has different tastes and might find the whole album brilliant.
What you cannot take away from Mr. Botti is that he is a very talented trumpet player and plays excellent mood music.
I would recommend this to family and friends if they like this sort of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
As a brass player for 58 years, I am astounded by the style and sound of Chris Botti. In particular, impractical as it might sound, I would give my right arm to be able to play as well as he does on the 'Deborah's Theme' track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
If you need some classy smooth jazz search no more. This Italy inspired CD will blow your mind. I can listen to it time and time again...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2008
I remember seeing a bit of film on TV of Miles Davis playing So What from Kind of Blue. What I found amazing was his control over the trumpet. Chris demonstrates similar control on this album. The first few tracks are beautiful, especially Deborah's Theme from Once Upon a Time in America, which I've alwaysa found extremely evocative of a bitter-sweet film. The duel with Paula Cole on The Very Thought of you is good, but I could have done without the duet with Dean Martin Why 4 stars rather than 5? Well, This is not Kind of Blue, so does not reach that level of pefection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
Just been introduced to this marvellous artist. Check him out on Barbara Streisand's new album also. Magnificent performance. Well worth an investment for an all round collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)