Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
In perfect conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
brilliantly entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
good copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Amazing thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2008
St Trinian's is, without a doubt, one of the best films I've seen in a very long time. As soon as I saw the trailers I knew I had to see it, not least because of the lovely Colin Firth. Also starring Rupert Everett and Russell Brand, this film really is a riot.

For those that haven't seen any of the other films, or read the books (I've done neither, but I will), St Trinian's is basically a school jam packed to the rafters with mad teachers and naughty girls. The pupils' biggest fear is being made to go to a normal school, where they will have to behave like young ladies, as opposed to the animals that they are. The humour in this film is how it's bang up to date with trends in today's teenagers. For example, groups of girls in the school include: Posh Totty, Emos, Chavs, Geeks and so on. And each group of girls has a character or two which play a main part of the action. It truly is hilarious.

The new education Minister (played by Firth) is determined to reform the school system in England, and he intends to start with the worst schools. St Trinian's is easily the first one that springs to mind. Despite being an old flame of the headmistress, the Minister sets about bringing the school, and everyone in it, down. Cue much hilarity as he tries to spy and find out what exactly is going on behind closed doors.

As if things weren't bad enough, the school is also in a financial crisis and the bank is threatening to close them down. The girls decide to take action themselves rather than relying on the grown ups. They plan to steal a famous painting from the National Gallery in London, and sell it to make enough money to save their school. So they draft a cunning plan using their feminine wiles and total lack of shame to get what they want.

I can't really say too much else without giving the game away, but this really is a hilarious film. It's rated a 12. There are some jokes in there that only older viewers will 'get' and it does make being criminal look 'cool' so I definitely wouldn't let anyone younger see it. This really is a gem of a film. The acting is absolutely top notch, even Russell Brand who I'm not a big fan of, was fantastic. If you have a sense of humour, you will find this a scream. I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
This film is ok well. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 December 2009
I loved this in the cinema and recently re-watched the DVD in preparation for the sequel: and it's just as funny the second time round.

Ok, it's never going to win an Oscar, but for a funny, eccentric, switch-your-brain-off giggle, this is hard to beat.

Rupert Everett is brilliant as both the headmistress of St Trinians as well as her brother, and Colin Firth is fabulous as her strait-laced, Ministry of Education love-interest.

The plot is just an excuse to string together each episode but it really doesn't matter. For a feel-good movie, this is hard to beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
Four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
I think st trinians is the perfect DVD for a girly night in and also a family movie night, it's funny, it's not rude, its suitable for everyone and it's a MUST BUY 5 stars!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2008
The 2007 version of St Trinians is a hilarious update on the original films featuring a wonderful cast who obviously had a great time making the film. The plot repeats many of the ideas from the originals. The worst school in the country is under threat from a conservative minister. The school is in financial jeopardy, not helped by its headmistress. It is up to the plucky girls to save the day by attempting to rob the National Gallery.
The film is bright, colourful and energetic. Contemporary girl bands have been recruited to perform to soundtrack whilst performer of the calibre of Stephen Fry, Colin Firth and Russell Brand make the film fun to watch. In particular, Firth delights in a series of cheeky references to some of his past performances. Rupert Everett steals the show with his dual role and captures the spirit of the originals perfectly.
It is a film which is consistently entertaining and energetic performed with verve and great humour.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)