Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

  • Boy
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
All good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
always liked this album just a poor recording obviously nothing to do with the seller.sounds a lot better on viynl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Old school U2. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
it is good con
from tom Leighton.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
This is the debut album from U2 , an unknown band from Dublin whose music can probably be best described as new wave . It's not their first contribution to the world of music and had released several singles in their own country . As a massive U2 junkie / completist in the mid 1980s I hunted down their early singles exclusive to Ireland and was rather disappointed by their early stuff . By no means bad those early tracks lacked any sort of polish or sheen and don't hint at a band who had any pretence to longevity . Three of these early tracks namely Twilight , Out Of Control and Stories For Boys appear on this debut album and it's very obvious indeed that producer Steve Lillywhite takes a massive amount of credit for creating the early band's sonic soundscape . What were very basic demo tracks become very different songs indeed

Now I'm not going to come on here and say that's a bad thing because this is a very accomplished album and has a timeless quality . A combination of producer vision and streamlined passion from the band combine to make an unpretentious album that would have sounded great in 1977 , 1987 , 1997 or 2027 . In other words it's an album that has a timeless quality

The opening track I Will Follow is basically three chords but is a track that is genuinely life affirming . It's my favourite track from the band and is my all time favourite song . Enough said . Twilight is entirely different from the B side single release while the two other previously released tracks Out Of Control and Stories For Boys are again superior thanks to Lillywhite . . The album finishes with Shadows And Tall Trees and if you've heard the early demos on youtube you'll realise once again that the producer has turned it in to an entirely different moody track that brings a closure to album in much the same as a sunset brings closure to a day

There's a theme to this album , one of wild eyed innocence of childhood about to give way to the angst ridden universe of adolescence . This mirrors life when we often look back to our childhood days and wish we were back there and on a contextual level as a fan of U2 I often wish they'd kept this sound . One problem with hindsight hat seems shocking is that the band used iconography of a young boy in their early years . The American distributors were frightened by this and changed the cover art for the American release of Boy and with hindsight this iconography was rather dodgy and there's no way an up and coming band would get away with this now

But imagery aside it's the music that matters and this is a classic album and an accomplished debut . It opens with an intense mind blowing track and closes with a brooding and introspective one and the tracks in between are almost all equal in their intensity . While not being a commercial success it remains one of the band's best albums and is nothing less than a timeless classic
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2006
U2 would never allow the re-structuring of any album so the fact that Into the Heart has gone from the listing and I will Follow has moved to the bottom must be a mis-print or admin error as all other sellers I find online are showing the orginal listing.

This will always be my favorite album of all time. I was 21 when I bought This and October on the day that October came out. It was a time when New Wave was turning into New Romantics and new 'rock' needed rescuing. So along came U2. As is sometimes common with debut albums, this is a 'greatest hits' of early U2. Out of Control, Stories for boys, Twilight being the only songs from a catalogue of early singles that were re-recorded with Steve Lillywhite for this album. Other songs like my favorite 'Electric Co.' culled from live sets. It was a 5* album at the time making all of the music papers top listings for the year and although now I see Actung Baby as their pinnacle musically I will always go back to the days when this couldn't leave my turntable or car cassette. Its one of those classic can't take off albums where each track flows effortlessly into the next and every track gap seems perfectly timed.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
I've always had the feeling that many people have U2 all wrong (Mark Kermode, I'm looking at you). It's a joy to go back to the source, their only deceptively stripped down debut album (one reviewer at the time saying “the production is so ambitious its hard to know what to make of it”). One of the great debut albums for sure, and one of the great albums about adolescence – not the obvious sex and drugs kind, either. At once a headlong charge of optimism and yet tinged throughout with melancholy (that would become a occasionally little over-wrought in the follow-up, October) and even fear.

U2 had been playing for four years when their debut was released, and this 2 disc affair offers glimpses of the path that led them there, all manna from heaven for the true early-U2 devotee. All present and correct are their first 3 track ep on CBS and its follow up Another Day, and then the track that topped the Hot Press annual readers poll for years, 11 O Clock Tick Tock helmed by Joy Division producer Martin Hammet and its B side. All more angular, more self-consciously New Wave than the album which was to come, good in their own right but missing the unique essence that Lillywhite was able to coax out of the band, even when the songs were the same (Out Of Control / Stories For Boys).

But back even further it goes – Cartoon World was an early favourite but was never recorded and features here in a live version occasionally drowned in feedback – no electronic rose-tinted touching up here. And no Street Missions – their first awkward anthem - in this version sadly.

Then there's 2 tracks recorded for the Boy sessions but dropped – an early live instrumental, Speed of Life was a wise one to let go as it didn't reflect their new found confidence-amid-emotional-fragility, while Saturday Night which splintered off into October's Fire with a new melody and lyric from Bono on the one hand, while the solo'd guitar drowned in reverb ended up as an early easter egg at the end of Shadows and Tall Trees (and happily restored here, missing from the earlier CD version). Actually this version works perfectly well to me though – I might even prefer it to Fire for its typically Boy-ish fragility. Then there's an interesting if slightly less magical alternative mix of I Will Follow, with much less glock but with a frantic acoustic guitar and more ambient distorted guitar in its place. An early slightly fumbling recording of Twilight, and raw live versions of Boy / Girl and 11 O Clock Tick Tock recorded at one of their legendary early London gigs.

In some ways, this remains my favourite U2 album. The wide-eyed innocence of The Boy on the cover, reflected perfectly in the music itself, all possibilities lying before both.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2005
This album from start to finish flows with such great energy and joy that you feel that you are a 'boy' again. It is U2 at their most innocent and fragile time and there is just four young energetic guys giving it all they've got. U2 may have made some better stuff since but they will never be able to make something so original and beautiful as BOY. The two main songs I feel being 'I Will Follow' and 'Out of Control' which are U2 through and through. Edge's guitar is majestic and Bono's voice quite frankly the most pure voice I have ever heard in rock and roll. Larry and Adam are also superb and their massive talent is clearly evident from their first album. I don't feel there is any songs that really stand out, the album just flows from song to song in this fantastic up beat nature that brings out the BOY in you. Fantastic!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2007
It's 1980 and getting towards the start of a new era of music, it was Post Punk. U2 had been doing the scene for around 5 years before this album was ever released due to there inabilty to get it right live when it mattered most (when music execs came to watch). They got the album out thanks to Island records, and thank god they did, because without U2 my own mucisical journey wouldn't be where it is today, and i'm sure that can be mirrored by thousands of other music lovers. It was an album purley about childhood and growing up and realising what may lay ahead, the band were no where near the final product but you can see where they were heading with this, it was how Bono put it "three cords and the truth"

Get this album... even if it's your first U2 album, It'll suprise you.

stand out tracks are....

I will follow
Into the heart
Elecric co
Out of Control
A Day Without Me

Buy it and enjoy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)