Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars

on 2 June 2008
Emily Smith is a singer~songwriter who works in the folk idiom, and is fairly traditional in her approach. My first reaction to her, some years ago, was that she has the voice of an angel. My opinion has not changed.

"too long away", her third and newest album, picks up where "A Different Life" left off. A mix of traditional songs and her own make up the album. As usual, Emily surrounds herself with some of the finest folk musicians, and careful listening will reveal subtleties in the music that reward multiple listens. Emily's voice, as always, is pure joy to listen to; she has a clarity that is mind-blowing, a scary ability to convey emotion and feeling, and vocal nuances that most professional singers would kill for. There is also a spiritual quality that flows through all of her work that is a reward unto itself. Put on the headphones, push 'start', and kick back in a comfy chair, and Emily will take you to some amazing places.

This is grand stuff, and recommended without any qualification.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
This was sought by me was thought to be out of stock, but no along came this seller. The CD was sold as "not as new" but it is excellent and is even signed by Emily. This is now added to rest of my collection and this and they are all brilliant. This is a must and if it comes your way, then snap it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
I love Emily Smith and I love this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
first heard her music on the mike harding show on bbc radio 2 programme she has a voice that sends goose bumps up your spine in particular the song called "winters song" this track is awesome as it covers every step in the winter season really haunting listen and enjoy
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Having come across Emily Smith on the latest Transatlantic Sessions I wanted to hear more, and certainly was not disappointed. This is a CD delightful to the ear and strongly recommended to anyone who likes traditional music played and sung in a modern performance: excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
May I start with a confession? Until eight days ago, I hadn't heard of let alone heard Emily Smith. Were it not for my stumbling upon her spell-binding performance of "Sweet Lover of Mine", a shining jewel in an otherwise execrable programme of highlights from the Cambridge Folk festival on Sky Arts, I would still be walking in ignorance now. It took The Unthanks - another chance discovery - to persuade this committed rock fan that folk music was an interesting genre, worthy of further exploration; it took Emily Smith but a few minutes to open up a world of exquisite beauty.

As other reviewers have noted, Emily's voice has a startling, pure, crystalline quality that truly shines on the quieter, reflective songs. If you're not affected by her performance on "Audience of Souls", "The Mermaid of Galloway", "Old Mortality" or "Winter Song", book a check-up with your doctor as there is clear evidence that your heart has stopped beating. Nevertheless, for me, the highlight of an outstanding album is the driving, up-tempo folk-rocker, "May Colven", which marries her outstanding vocals to some terrific playing from her first-rate band.

I've been collecting albums for nearly 40 years. This magnificent offering is up there with the best of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Having looked around I found this album on Amazon. It is a wonderful collection of folk music and songs by this Scottish folk artist Emily Smith. Haunting traditional sounds, lively reels and a beautiful voice. Everything promised is here on this album. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I love the song Caledonia and there are a few more that I really like. Not her best CD in my opinion, but certainly worth a place on my MP3 player and it is never far from the CD player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Yet another excellent CD by the lovely & talented Emily Smith. It's worth mentioning that her husband, Jamie McClennan is also hugely talented and his CD " In Transit" is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
Emily Smith voice is just stunning. This album is equally as good as her latest release. A must buy for you female folk lovers. She is up there with Cara Dillon, if not better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Echoes
£12.51
Ten Years
£14.02

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)