Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2010
I went to Amazon.com to find out the titles but thought it might be helpful to list them for other prospective buyers. The titles are: Last Stand at Saber River, Louis L'Amour's Crossfire Trail and Monte Walsh. Just over 5 hours of westerns with Tom Selleck. Last Stand at Saber Trail is set just as the Civil War is ending whilst at the other end, Monte Walsh is set in the 1890's as cowboys become a dying breed. Well worth the money if you are a western or Selleck fan.
11 comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
For anyone who is a western fan, this is a must. Three of the best westerns I have seen in a long time all in one DVD case, nearly six hours of excellent entertainment, all for just over £10 and it arrived from the US in a week.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
All three movies in this boxed set are worth watching. They have a good pace and Tom Selleck is very good at doing a good old fashioned Western. They really are worth watching. The set was imported and arrived very quickly, which was very impressive.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This is a must for lovers of westerns. Tom Selleck forms an iconic figure as a cowboy of the old west. What stands out for me is the variety of stories in this three movie set. Each is quite different in story and feel ranging from traditional gunslinging to a somewhat more sombre tale of Monte Walsh and the demise of the cowboy culture at the turn of the 20th century. This is not a rootin' tootin' shoot 'em up but a collection of tales that you can really sink your teeth into.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
As a great fan of Tom Selleck I really wanted the Monte Walsh DVD. Unfortunately I could only get it as a set of 3 DVD's from the USA which is region 1. I also bought an additional multiregion DVD player to watch them with. The DVD's took a little time to arrive from the States but I had been notified of this so was expecting it. It was worth the wait.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The dawn of the twentieth century brings with it the prospect of great change. This exciting time was seen as a frightening infringement upon the range life of many cowboys. Monte Walsh (Tom Selleck) is one such ranch hand, a Wyoming rambler whose way of life is becoming obsolete. The industrialization and widening economic gap is leaving behind the likes of Monte and his companions, many of whom are "ridin' fence," erecting physical boundaries to separate land owned by the rich and thereby eliminating the freedom of the vast wilderness.

Based on Jack Schaefer's (SHANE) novel, this western (made for cable network TNT) is a languid, picturesque slice of life that mourns the existence of people on the fringe, an issue just as relevant today in this age of globalization. This version directed by Simon Wincer (LONESOME DOVE) follows a 1970 theatrical release based on the same novel which starred Lee Marvin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
for me as a German western fan it`s difficult to understand why these Tom Selleck western are not available in Germany.
Tom was already great in "The Sacketts"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Great movies. Must have been written just to feature Tom's fantastic moustache! Not prime time but great for a rainy afternoon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
sent to me in the wrong format dvd would play on uk dvd looking for same dvd but the correct format
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2008
I can't see what movies are in this collection anywhere on this page! I Gave the movies (what ever they are) 5 stars, because Tom Rocks and they will be good but sometimes collections and the lack of info on Amazon can be frustrating.
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)