Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2016
So I was a Mission fan back in the day and recently re-bought their finest 1986 album 'God's own medicine' on CD and also decided i would buy this one as came highly recomended, I have to say in parts it is very good with songs similar to their earlier 80s releases, but one thing i have noticed is that that great 'Goth' sound i loved has changed on some of their ballads 'Butterfly on a wheel & 'Grapes of Wrath ' they sound more like 'Simple Minds' or '90s Marillion' don't get me wrong I do like the ballads but if i heard theses songs on the radio back in 1990 i would of hated them especially if i had known it was 'The Mission'

Other tracks like 'Deliverance', 'Belief' and 'Paradise' are your typical Mish songs which do sound great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Oldie but goodie, still sounds fresh even though this is also my third time of purchasing. After this arrived I decided to get their entire back catalogue, including their latest, which is also very good. Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2016
Epic Mission album. Still listening to it after 20+ years. Dark, thoughtful, manic, angst filled, intelligent goth rock at its best, great to see them back together to hear live treats from this album. 6/5 please Amazon :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This deluxe edition gives you all the missing pieces, check out Mr Husseys preferred running order of the album, and you will see, that he's right. It could have been a masterpiece!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
I lost the cassette so I decided to get the cd. Not only did I get the replacement, but I got bonus tracks that weren't on the cassette! I couldn't be happier!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
Don't assume that "remastered" always means "sounds better". This definitely sounds a lot worse than the original CD. They've messed around with the sound so much that details are harder to hear. It's a mess. The extra tracks are interesting though, which is why I'm giving it 3 stars, otherwise it'd be worth just 1.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Classic Mission, say no more
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
The song 'Butterfly on a wheel' is my top ten all times favourite. The album is well produced with many great tracks. However, i am a bit disappoint for this remaster that they don't include 'Butterfly on a wheel (Magnificent Mix)' with 10 minutes long.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Excellent 2cd set that includes lots of bonus tracks including several live cover versions. Sound quality is really good on both discs despite what some other reviewers have said. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
The band that gave me tinnitus after a live concert, still good after 30 years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.41

Need customer service? Click here