Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 1 October 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
Firstly, this is called a 'semi-hard' case. This is seriously pushing it, as there is nothing hard about the case whatsoever. It is mainly nylon, and cheap feeling spongey nylon at that, with a leather-look front. I repeat, there is nothing even semi hard about this case at all. The Amazon price was the cheapest for this case, and to say I was disappointed when I removed the case from the box would be a serious understatement. To think this retails elsewhere for considerably more is beyond comical.

This case offers absolutely minimal protection, and that would only be against scuffs (ie if you popped it in your bag on its own) or dust settling on it if you left it on the side. You may as well just pop it in one of those free linen shopping bags you get from the recycle stand in the high street if you just want something for the camera to sit in.

This is only worth a fraction of what it actually retails at, as it is a very basic, cheaply made, soft case, with no strap, or anywhere to put anything like a memory card. As someone else commented, you really will not know what to do with this once you take it off the camera.

To conclude, this is an extremely cheaply produced case, which Canon has given no production/design time to, but they know that a certain number of people will buy it because it is the 'official' case - regardless of how overpriced it is. Ignore what some of the reviews say about not moaning about the price after you've bought it - this is one of those items which you won't know how bad it is until you have it in your hands. I am fully aware this isn't sold as leather, but I expected it to have some rigidity to it - and trust me it doesn't. The velcro fastener started to degrade within days of use as well.

I don't normally do reviews, but I had to with this. I didn't expect this to be leather, or to accomodate a 200mm lens, but I expected it to be 'semi-hard' and to be of good quality.

Buy this at your peril - or if you don't mind how much of a rip-off something is, as long as it has the camera make on the front of it?

**Update** Eventually bought the Lowepro Mini TLZ instead. Far, far better with more features (carrying handle, strap, front pocket (perfect for spare battery etc) and internal roof section (great for memory cards), and for less than half the money. A no-brainer if ever you saw one.
0Comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
The quality of the case is pretty good as its an OEM. But i felt it was not worth for the money. The major disadvantage is it wont come with the strap. So once you remove the camera from the case you dont know where to hold it. It was not water proof at all, as there is no zipper. Water goes in when it rains 100%. Consider Lowepro- very worthy and highly durable.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
A reasonable purchase, protects the camera up to a point but wouldn't like to drop the whole thing. Ok for local use but if travelling would certainly prefer a hard case. Not having its own strap is also a disadvantage as you keep losing the case. Previous hard case could be fixed to the base of the camera. I feel it is overpriced for a softcase but not sure of other options.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
I ordered this for my EOS 500D Canon digital camera as although only advertised for the Canon 450 the camera dimentions are the same for both, I found it to fit my camera perfectly, it is obviously not a waterproof case but a smart looking knocks and scuff/scratch prevention case, a clip holds it to the left camera strap so a quick flip release is there if needed, so there it is a smart looking knock and scratch prevention case, not cheap but much cheaper here than any camera shop I priced it at.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
The product is good if you are using it for Canon your EOS 450 with the lens which comes with the camera, as the case is a good fit. However, if you have other lenses or grips to attach to the camera, then you won't be able to use the case with those items attached.
22 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
Got this case made for my EOS and for the money a complete waste of time.
Dropped the camera in this case from knee height and smashed the uv filter. The case offered no protection!
Also difficult to put around the camera and too take off.
Very disappointed with Canon for designing a next to useless but expensive product.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
There have been some very negative reviews on this case, which made me think carefully about buying, but I am glad that I did. It fits the 600D perfectly. It is well made out of a type of woven plastic, looks good, isnt completely soft so can protect against rubbing, but not hard knocks. I am pleased with it, but think it is slightly too expensive. It fits very snugly, other cases out there wouldnt fit so well. A case is also needed for these digital cameras, for additional protection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
Bought this when I got my Canon Eos 1000D for Christmas. Fits the camera just fine. Has a handy small strap that allows the case to stay attached to the strap when the camera is in use. Everything I expected it to be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Quite disappointed in this purchase.... to say how much it costs it has never seen semi hard and would not recommend it at all.. Go for the Lowpro alternative for better padding or maybe a full leather next me thinks.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)