Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
What a laugh! Intelligent fun, entertaining as well as educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
great show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
Hurrah Series 2, us QI fans have been waiting a jolly long time for this to appear and finally it has arrived.

QI is the sort of show that makes you proud to be British, it is practically Victorian in its straddling of the line between the sublime and the ridiculous. If you have never seen this show before here is the basic premise. Steven Fry (bless his Gieves and Hawkes socks) asks questions about... well practically anything (each series is linked to a letter of the alphabet, series one unsurprisingly is the letter A) Alan Davies + 3 other panelists try to answer those questions not only correctly; but interestingly, avoiding the pitfalls of urban myth (for example: no centipede has ever been found to have 100 legs the closest is 96)

The great thing about Qi is that those taking part are of a higher calibre than the usual panel game, they never appear to be there just because they have a book to flog or have just left the Big Brother house and are tenuously clinging to the dying seconds of their fame.

Each episode brings some new delight to amuse and amaze your friends.

Buy this DVD if for no other reason than it will make you are more interesting person.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2008
How wonderful to see the BBC finally giving up complete season box sets. At least with QI. (Now just do the same, Auntie, with Mock The Week and I'll be your fan for life).

QI is one of my favourite comedy shows. It lacks the smugness and sometimes unpleasant undertang of meanness that comes with Paul Merton and Ian Hislop in Have I Got News For You (I enjoy HIGNFY but prefer the sight of panellists just having sheer fun with each other and obviously loving every minute that you get with QI and MTW). And watching Stephen Fry - the walking encyclopedia - expound on fascinating facts is a wonder. His sheer love of language and facts sweeps you up in his enthusiasm every time.

Alan Davies plays the patsy and foil to Fry very well and is often very amusing. He's never been my favourite comedian, but in this he shines. I love the way the panellists banter with Fry and each other, especially when they tease Fry about his upper crust manners and drive him to exasperation at times, like a frustrated schoolmaster.

I'm delighted to finally see season two arrive. Here's hoping the Beeb brings out the others, post haste!
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2012
Love QI but they are taking the p**s - some of these volumes are years old now - no DVD is worth nearly 20 quid You'd expect to pay 2 or 3 quid for this stuff from about five years ago. The guests carry it, (Alan sits there like a drunk cat) and quite well in fairness a lot of he time. ITS TOO BLOODY EXPENSIVE.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
... and worth more than every episode of Eastenders ever made, all combined.

Take in intelligent host, give him intelligent and knowlegable guests and this is what you get. Something worth watching. Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2009
The format of the panel quiz show is rather tired, but this is almost irrelevant to the success of this program (who the hell keeps count of the scores anyway?), it's the running jokes, the sparring, and the crossover or sometimes lack thereof, of the panelists, which keeps you watching.
So on that level this series is better than the first, and I hope it continues to grow on me, but for the whole 26 years?!
It will be fun finding out...
One note - the titles and credits are awful (both visually and musically! - very early 90's) - come on chaps, even the DVD menu was classier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
This show is just brilliant, it has the best comedians on it and as always Steven Fry shares his intelligence with no trace of being condescending. Alan is great in it too but for his boyishness.

As for the one bad review on here, I looked at that persons other reviews and it's clear that that person is a troll just looking for attention.
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2008
The DVD packaging has changed from series 'A' which had the letter on the spine. I was expecting the 'B' series to follow suit keeping a nice uniform row for the 26 DVD series........ or perhaps I have been watching too much QI !
Mr Fry, Mr Davies and crew are all on tip top form in the actual shows so worry not about the content, but the DVD menu is not as classy as series A.
Roll on C, D and E.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2008
I recently bought this to while away the time whilst I'm in France...and I haven't been able to stop watching it! The whole series is sheer brilliance, with the guests being better than ever (especially Bill Bailey) and Alan being just as stupid as ever (thinking Dara O'Briain's name was an anagram of diarrhoea). Add to that Stephen's put-downs (usually aimed at Alan), and you get one of the finest DVDs available on DVD...buy it now and you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)