Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
480
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2015
Wicked movie of Will Smith, a must own for your collection,awesome soundtracks too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Fantastic! Great quality item and super fast shipping!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
EXCELLENT MOVIE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
great fast service ,great value, would recomend

not watched film yet but seen it at the cinema so will look amazing on Blu -Ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
After being subjected to some hype about this movie I thought that it wouldnt live up to the hype. I was so wrong.

This film is a masterpiece. Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
It beats me why people get their hopes up anymore when Hollywood gets its hands on a good book to turn into a movie. This movie was never going to be as good as the original story. I think thats why they gave it to Francis Lawrence to direct as a stronger, more established director would have had greater clout to maintain the most important elements from the book.
Whats good? Well, Will Smith cuts the wisecracking for once and actually ACTS a bit, (thats right you didn't misread that)!! Deserted New York looks amazing, the flashback story works well, the scenes with the dog are emotional and convincing and the tension of the dark scenes is white-knuckle indeed!
Whats bad? The CGI effects are SO bad! With several million to chuck at movies these days how come the CGI effects can be so bad?? The monsters look silly and cartoonish and real actors in make-up would have been better (zombie movies have been doing it for years!). The secondary characters that turn up are unconvincing and too convienient, (In the book, Neville comes across a young woman who earns his trust, only for her to turn on him in a major twist - no such ambiguity in THIS movie!). The ending is not rubbish by any stretch but just SO different from the book's which subtly draws us in to then reveal Neville for what he has truly become on the last page - sigh.
Well, in short, its okay saturday night fare but it could have been so much better, it could have been a classic...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
Love this film but sadly the UHD/4K disc is the theatrical version only. I.e. There is no alternate verrsion option.

NB: the star rating is not a critique of the film. Would have given 5 stars if the UHD disc has the alternate version
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Amazing DVD.
Good quality
Arrived earlier than I expected, especially as it was a bank holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like a good science fiction film and rented this out a few years back. Despite some reservations about the second half of the film, overall I think it works and represents one of the better examples of the genre in recent years. It's an adaptation of Richard Matheson's 1954 book of the same name (and it departs from the book a fair bit)

Will Smith plays Dr. Robert Neville a former US Military doctor, seemingly alone in New York bar his trusty dog companion "sam". We see a scene of devastation in the city and it's devoid of other humans, though at night there are "infected" people who roam the streets (they burn in daylight so hide during this time) We see a series of flashbacks showing events leading up to the outbreak, and learn a virus has infected most of the planets population, though Robert remains immune to it.

Robert has a routine in his day, despite being on his own bar his dog he makes trips to the video store, watches recorded TV footage and tries to maintain as much as possible an existence that is some way to being normal given the circumstances. But he has not given up hope and continues to work on a cure for the infection, and makes daily broadcasts via radio to try to find other "survivors". I won't spoil the rest of the plot for new viewers, just to say there are encounters with the infected and Robert eventually finds another survivor.

You'd be forgiven for thinking this is "just another tiresome zombie flick" but that's a little unfair. I'd call it a "thinking person's zombie film" Direction is good, and the scenes are convincing in portraying the devastation of the city and environment. I have no real complaints with the story either, it makes for solid viewing. Opinions are a bit divided on the second half of the film, some feel the intelligent aspect takes a back seat to the zombie action, and I'd agree with that to a point the film could have been a slower burn more analytical movie as it is in the first half.

Will Smith gets into the role well though, and you can certainly feel the isolation in the city. The ending doesn't come as a huge surprise, many will prefer the alternative ending which offers a slightly less obvious way to conclude the film. Well worth a watch though and despite some flaws (CGI SFX could be better in places) makes for fairly strong viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse